Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens

    Average Rating:

    362 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 362

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2012

      Great dough! I was loyal to my old recipe until today! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      I made these cookies for a graduation for a friend a few weeks ago. The dough was very easy to make and work with. I made star cutouts and decorated them with icing using school colors. They came out great and tasted really good. I am making them again this weekend for my sons graduation party I will use this recipe and icing for all of my cutout cookies

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      Awesome, awesome cookie. Made these several times with my kids. For Christmas and for Valentine's day. They held up well. For Christmas, i didn't have the time to do all the refrigeration that the recipe asked for so I just cut the cookies out right away with a little bit of extra flour to keep things together on the board. Came out well. The second time, i had more than enough time to put in the fridge and it also came out well. Overall a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      This is the only sugar cookie recipe I use. Everyone I have made them for loves them. It is perfect to work with and the cookies hold their shape beautifully. I have subed different extracts in both the dough and the frosting-lemon, orange, cherry-and they are all delicious. While I am working with a piece of dough, I keep the rest in the fridge to keep it chilled. Also, I use the rolling pin guides so the dough is a consistant 1/4 in thick and they cook up beautifully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      I haven't tried the actual sugar cookie recipe, but I have been searching for a really good frosting recipe that will harden enough to stack or wrap the cookies individually for parties.This is by far the best recipe I have found. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      These cookies are really good. I took Sarah*Belle's advice and rolled the dough in a ziploc baggie, it worked like a charm! This recipe makes a lot of cookies and since there are only 2 of us in our house hold I divided the dough in to 1/3's and froze 2 of the loaves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      Easy to make and tastes great. I didn't have parchment paper as recommend so I just put them on a lightly greased cookie sheet and they came out perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      I am not a big fan of sugar cookies but these cookies are amazing, even without the icing. I can't wait to make them again. Thanks for another great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      Absolutely the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Excellent recipe. I'd resorted to using Betty Crocker mix after years of fighting with my homemade sugar cookie dough. No more! These cookies are wonderfully easy to make and work with and they baked up beautifully, And more raves for the frosting. It looks good and tastes great--my husband and my kids said they're better than the ones they buy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      Amazing!! This produced the most wonderful, tender, perfectly sweet cookies I've ever had. Made these for DH as part of Christmas dinner as his Grammy always makes sugar cookies for family dinners and we are 5000 miles away this year. He absolutely loved them! And he says the frosting is perfect :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      My boyfriend doesn't even LIKE sugar cookies, and he LOVED these and requested I make more immediately. We made a batch of Christmas cookies as a Christmas Eve activity and they were gone by midnight. Most everyone liked them because the flavor was more buttery than sweet, so the icing wasn't overkill. (I can't comment on your icing - I used my own!) The recipe was SO easy, and I put it in the fridge overnight. The next morning it WAS really hard, but 30 seconds in the microwave softened it enough to be pliable, and we didn't have any problems rolling it out or baking it. I highly, highly recommend this recipe for anyone looking for something a little less sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      Great cookie recipe. The almond extract really added flavor to the cookies and icing. Hubby isn't much for sugar cookies but he loves these. The icing was easy to make and apply. Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      The frosting is great and does what it's supposed to do...the cookies, on the otherhand, are why I gave it 4 stars. They look fabulous, but are lacking something in flavor that I can't put my finger on. Maybe they just have too much flour in them. They taste great with buttercream frosting (my frosting of choice), but I wouldn't really eat these alone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2014

      Made this a few times just like its written. Always comes out delicious. Thanks so much for sharing!! ?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2014

      Fabulous! As an Australian I was worried that these iced biscuits might be too sweet for my tastebuds but this recipe is a keeper, all the reviews are spot on. Great texture, perfect level of sweetness with icing and they keep their shape perfectly. I cooked these with the kids and we did a few variations to keep everyone happy, as per recipe with colourful icing, cocoa added for choc cookies and also some with lemon icing (lemon juice + icing sugar) - yum!!! I can't wait to make again to try out some other ideas. Perfect cookie cutter recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2014

      This was the worst recipe I've ever had the displeasure to work with. If I could give it ZERO stars, I would! I followed the directions to the tee and could not roll it out without turning it into a buttery mess. I tried refrigerating the batter overnight and I still got a mess after 5 minutes of working with it. I tried rolling in in-between wax paper, then with the wax paper floured. I have a silpat rolling pin and it even stuck to that with it floured. This was the WORST!! Never again food network!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2014

      I didn't think this was special. The taste was ordinary and the cookies puffed enough that I had to outline them with icing so you could see the original topping. Note: The cookies in the photo show green frosting with swirls made by a knife or spatula. The frosting with the recipe is brushed on and it's smooth and shiny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2014

      Good cookies & awesome icing to work with. A great pair! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      My husband said these were hands-down the best sugar cookies he's ever tasted! I especially love how the icing had a nice gloss to it but hardened completely so I could package them into plastic bags for gifts! Perfect cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 35

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.1
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    35%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 24.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 107.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites