Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens

    Average Rating:

    358 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 358

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2012

      A great sugar cookie recipe. The icing really makes this cookie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      Super good. The dough was really stiff and came out of the cutters like a breeze! Rave reviews from family and friends. Thanks much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      Excellent cookie! After years of not rolling dough I ran across this recipe and decided to give this recipe a try. I followed the recipe exactly and cookies have a wonderful flavor and were actually easy to roll out. Icing is perfect too. Thanks Kittencalkitchen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      Kittencal, you've done it again! I saw other sugar cookie recipes out there, but when I saw your name I knew this was the one I had to try. Delicious and the least amount of swearing I've ever done when it comes to rolling out the dough and cutting the cookies! LOL! I love almond flavoring, so I doubled the almond and didn't put in any vanilla. Delicious and easy! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      Amazing!!!! I would have pictures but we ate them before i had the chance! they tasted SO good, the best cookies ever, and i make REALLY good cookies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      ABSOLUTLY LOVE IT! this is a great recipe, the buttery rich flavor and ease of the preperation of this cookie has by far became my favorite christmas cookie, i did sub vanilla for the almond as i dont care for that flavoring, the icing was also perfect and set up well and I was able to stack them after drying....thanks so much for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      Dough was very easy to prepare... except I learned the hard way NOT to refrigerate longer than 2 hours: I left mine in the fridge for about 5 hours and had a hard lump of dough even after leaving it out for a while. After almost trashing the dough, my husband grabbed the rolling pin and got it to 1/4" (probably had warmed up a bit more). Floured the counter before rolling, but still stuck a little bit. Baked them for 6 minutes... couldn't believe how good they looked after all the little issues! And they taste great, too! Icing was a breeze, and hardened up nicely... tasted great, as well! Overall, very forgiving recipe and will definitely make these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      I followed the recipe exactly as it said, but after I rolled the dough, it started becoming too soft that was impossible to cut it with the cookie cutter. I added more flour to it, but it still didn't work. Had to throw out everything, such a waste!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      I had such high hopes for this recipe. I just threw out the dough. I followed the recipe exactly, but each cookie I cut out morphed into a blob as I picked it up. I can't imagine why I couldn't get it to work, but I never even got to taste it to see if it was the perfect flavor as many reviews said, because it was simply too soft to work with once I got it out of the bowl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      good! perfectly done!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      Nice enough texture, but could use more flavor. Half tsp. of vanilla and almond is just not enough for this amount of flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      So easy to work with! So much fun to decorate :) Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      This was a fantastic recipe! I was a little nervous when the dough was looking crumbly, but it worked together fine. They look beautiful! Can't wait to decorate them with the kids.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      oooops I forgot to add the stars in above review... 5 stars wish I could give it more stars Thank you kittencalskitchen I had to try these I knew if u made them they would be delicious and they are thank you for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      Awesome recipe. Easy to roll out and bake nicely. Will be my go-to from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      These were good.. I liked the texture and they baked up nicely, but they kind of lacked in flavor.. I will try again but I think I may add more extract or use almond or vanilla, not both. I loved the texture of the frosting and the fact that it hardened, but also felt it lacked flavor. Will try again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      Great dough! I was loyal to my old recipe until today! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      I made these cookies for a graduation for a friend a few weeks ago. The dough was very easy to make and work with. I made star cutouts and decorated them with icing using school colors. They came out great and tasted really good. I am making them again this weekend for my sons graduation party I will use this recipe and icing for all of my cutout cookies

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      Awesome, awesome cookie. Made these several times with my kids. For Christmas and for Valentine's day. They held up well. For Christmas, i didn't have the time to do all the refrigeration that the recipe asked for so I just cut the cookies out right away with a little bit of extra flour to keep things together on the board. Came out well. The second time, i had more than enough time to put in the fridge and it also came out well. Overall a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      This is the only sugar cookie recipe I use. Everyone I have made them for loves them. It is perfect to work with and the cookies hold their shape beautifully. I have subed different extracts in both the dough and the frosting-lemon, orange, cherry-and they are all delicious. While I am working with a piece of dough, I keep the rest in the fridge to keep it chilled. Also, I use the rolling pin guides so the dough is a consistant 1/4 in thick and they cook up beautifully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 35

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.1
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    35%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 24.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 107.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites