371 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks Kittencal for yet another fabulous recipe! These cookies were so easy to make. The dough was perfect even after refrigerating overnight. The frosting was totally awesome. I actually made Christmas cookies that looked professional! I made them exactly as written and I got oodles of raves from all who ate them.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY December 23, 2010

My daughter and I made these for her to pass out to friends for holiday gifts. They were such a hit! We followed every step exactly as it said. We even had a cookie decorating contest with my DH! The cookies were perfect....soft but had a nice golden brown bottom to them. I baked them for just over 5 minutes which seemed perfect.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YummyNina December 21, 2010

Having baked sugar cookies forever as a Christmas tradition, I decided to try these this year because of all the rave reviews. No WONDER...they are awesome...they make a beautiful cookie that is soft, not too sweet and the dough is incredibly easy to work with. Doubled the recipe to make a TON of cookies for my kids' annual cookie decorating party and cannot thank you enough for this amazing recipe. Throw out the other sugar cookies, folks -- this is THE ONE! Kittencal rocks!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious December 14, 2010

This is a very basic cut-out sugar cookie recipe, and it did keep it's shape when baked, but the taste was so 'basic' I would call is blah. We were not impressed at all. They aren't horrible. Still edible, but I doubt I'll make this recipe again. I want something with more flavor when I make cut-out cookies and this just doesn't cut it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
griffiths_melissa May 05, 2010

We made these for Christmas this year. Although they were okay, the icing just wasn't what we were looking for and the cookie was a bit bland.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfreeze February 15, 2010

Great cookie. It's not too sweet by itself (which is fine) but either sprinkle some sugar on before baking or use the icing and they're perfect! I made an extra recipe at Christmas, put the dough in the freezer, took it out and let it thaw in the 'fridge ... still very, very good! This is definitely my only sugar cookie recipe from now on!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GramCracker February 08, 2010

All in all, we found these rather uninspiring. My sister and I baked them for cut-out cookies on christmas eve, and wern't too thrilled about the results. The dough tasted good, and the icing dried to a nice shiny finnish, but the end result was a dry cookie caked in sugary gloop...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel... December 24, 2009

awful. no taste. threw out. :(

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gooshbaby December 27, 2012

Kittencal, these are GREAT!!!! The dough is easy to work with, and the icing miraculously smooths itself out after sitting a minute. It holds sprinkles and red-hot cinnamon candies perfectly. Then the finished cookie is soft and buttery instead of being hard and dry. I would give these more stars, but five seems to be the maximum. That's a pity, because they deserve about a dozen.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetamelia December 26, 2012

Absolutely loved this recipe! I recommend dumping the mixed dough onto a surface dusted with flour and shape into a flat disk then wrapping it in plastic before chilling to ensure easy roll-out after it's removed from the refigerator for how ever long you decided to chill it. (I left mine in overnight and it worked out perfectly!)

- Sheri
bloodandvogue.blogspot.com

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
locuher December 26, 2012
Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens