381 Reviews

These are the best sugar cookies I've ever had. These are better than most bakeries.I've been searching for years for a good sugar cookie recipe to make with my kids.This is definately it.I rolled the dough out between 2 pieces of parchment paper.This made the dough easy to work with and the cookies came out perfect, not hard.For the frosting I used the vanilla for flavoring and had added milk until the frosting reached the consistancy I wanted. We added food coloring for decorating.Santa will be proud.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3withmax December 23, 2010

Excellent cookie! But if you are doing larger shaped cut-outs (i made moose cookies) then you will REALLYY have to thin the icing! With both milk & corn strarch

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissBritt September 22, 2010

I used the frosting on another sugar cookie recipe and it ran off the sides following the recipe. I had to keep wiping it off so it didn't look awful. I finally added more powdered sugar to make it doable, then the flavor was off somewhat. I don't think I will use this recipe again, sorry!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChewieJacuBeau December 31, 2008

Rating for Icing only: this just didn't work for me flavor wise. Way too sweet. Normally I'm a huge fan of Kitt's recipes but not this one. I will not use this again, sorry.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMH November 30, 2012

*THE* best sugar cookie recipe. You won't need to look for another. I followed it exactly and turned out perfectly. Thank you Kittencal! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marialicious December 02, 2011

Best sugar cookies ever!! I've tried dozens of recipes, all either too soft or too tough, wouldn't hold their shape or ware so sweet it made your face hurt. But this dough held it's shape perfectly, fluffed up wonderfully and the icing was amazing! I might upload my photos of the ones I did for Halloween, if there are any left!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SithNichole October 28, 2011

I wanted to have a little fun today and make some decorated Halloween cookies. I remembered seeing your recipe for these cookies a while back and couldn't wait to have an occasion to try them. The dough was so easy to make and baked up just perfect. I had to bake mine about 7 minutes. I used large cookie cutters so it was easiest to paint the icing on. I loved that the cookies weren't horribly sweet. Thanks so much for shraring another fantastic recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 21, 2011

I couldn't agree more that these r absolutely delicious, looked fab, even my no-butter eating kids devoured them! Yes, kittencsl is absolutely selfless when sharing all her recipes, :-))

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ricreg August 29, 2011

I was in desperate need of a good sugar cookie recipe that wouldn't fall apart and could hold any shape or cut out you wanted to use and THIS IS IT!!! I only have tried the cookie recipe so far but really hope the icing will work as these cookies will be put in treat bags and given as thank you gifts so it's important that whatever icing I use (which I will use the one included in this recipe), that it won't smear when placed into these bags. I will post an update and even a picture when I'm done.

This recipe is definitely a keeper women!!!

~QueenB

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madcooker32 July 31, 2011

I'm not a fan of sugar cookies, but these are the best I've ever had. I like the fact that the dough is not sickening sweet. Very nice flavor and texture. Frosting worked out great. I've deleted my other sugar cookie recipes since this will be my "go-to" recipe. Cookies were enjoyed by all. Thanks Kittencal.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly Morton January 03, 2011
Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens