373 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This will be my go to cut-out cookie recipe from this point forward!! I made them just as called for by the recipe and they turned out beautifully. They were easy to make, the dough was very easy to work with, they held their shape when baked and were tender and delicious to eat. The icing was wonderful to work with and resulted in the most beautiful cookies we've ever made! Bravo Kittencal and thanks for a great recipe that made our Christmas even more wonderful.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ae4713 January 01, 2011

Loved these. They were just like my Mom made when we were kids. Food.com listed a different sugar cookie under their "featured recipes" which I tried. Let me tell you, it's no where near as good as kittencal's. The best part of making these was letting my two year old put the icing on them afterwards. Thanks for the recipe kittencal!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bx3_27 December 15, 2010

Hand down the "BEST" sugar cookie recipe! Not overly sweet and the icing hardens enough to make stacking or wrapping the cookies possible. Putting the dough in the fridge for a few hours or overnight is an important step to make rolling and cutting the dough easier. I kept the dough in the fridge and only removed enough to roll and cut and then repeated until all was used. I kept the icing thick, applied it using a brush, and had no problem with it running. My husband has never been a fan of sugar cookies and loves these as once again, they are not too sweet. I made these for a Christmas cookie exchange and received rave reviews. Now I'm getting ready to double the recipe. use a heart cookie cutter, and give them to neighbors/freinds for Valentine's day. Thanks, Kittencal...I've never had one of your recipes be a disappointment!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IslandDucks February 11, 2011

This was definitely the easiest sugar cookie dough I have ever worked with. My daughter was home sick from school one day last week so we made cookies all day. We made this dough ahead of time and popped it in the fridge to chill while we made some other cookies. I divided the dough into fourths and only worked with one section at a time, leaving the other sections in the refrigerator to keep them chilled. I baked them for 5 minutes and they turned out perfectly and held their shape, which I loved. I will agree with some other posters that they are not very sweet, but paired with icing, they are wonderful and not heavy. I am going to make some to send to my daughter's class for halloween. I'm thinking of adding a little bit of lemon extract just because I like lemon. I found the icing easy to make. I just added milk a little at a time until it was the consistency I needed it to be, and then I divided it into different containers and added different food colorings. We used paintbrushes to paint the icing on, but I think next time I will outline my cookies first and then flood them with the icing. Thanks Kittencal, for a great, easy recipe! :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lydia's Mama October 28, 2009

Well Kittencal as usual your recipes are top notch. I made a double batch for my daughter's halloween party for Kindergarten. I mixed the dough last night and rolled them out this morning. My oven is funky so I had to lower then temp and the cooking time but they rose up and are so moist and yummy. I love anything with almond extract in them ( reminds me of my grandma), these have the most wonderful smell to them when you break them apart. I didnt use the icing recipe, I used a butter cream to pipe each kid's name onto a cookie (no fighting that way!!) Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe that will be used for every class party from now on. UPDATE: I got a note sent home yesterday from my daughters school asking for me to make Halloween cookies again this year, the Kindergarten teacher told the Grade 1 teacher that Kenn's mom makes the best cookies. How can I refuse? What would I do without Kitten's recipes? They save me over and over.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn October 30, 2008

We have experimented with several sugar cookie recipes, (3 different batches today alone)...looking for just the right one. When we made these it was hands down the best flavor and texture we were looking for. Actually a real special cookie to call our "family" recipe. We have saved it everywhere so it doesn't get lost. One note don't leave in fridge overnight..it comes out a brick!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJHawkins December 03, 2012

I prefer harder sugar cookies. Mine came out so soft that I don't see how I will be able to frost them without them falling apart. :( Sorry. I think I'll stick to my old recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trush March 11, 2012

These were easy and really tastey! I made mine all the same shape (a rectangle for a flag) so I simply molded the dough into a large rectangular block, wrapped it with saran wrap, and put in the fridge. Then after a couple of hours I took it out and sliced them with a knife. It worked awesome! I did use her icing, I actually simply dipped them (dipped the tops), then added the flag decor later. Everyone thought they tasted as good as our local bakery cookies did.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MinnMomof2 April 06, 2011

These are the best sugar cookies I've ever had. These are better than most bakeries.I've been searching for years for a good sugar cookie recipe to make with my kids.This is definately it.I rolled the dough out between 2 pieces of parchment paper.This made the dough easy to work with and the cookies came out perfect, not hard.For the frosting I used the vanilla for flavoring and had added milk until the frosting reached the consistancy I wanted. We added food coloring for decorating.Santa will be proud.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3withmax December 23, 2010

Excellent cookie! But if you are doing larger shaped cut-outs (i made moose cookies) then you will REALLYY have to thin the icing! With both milk & corn strarch

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissBritt September 22, 2010
Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens