Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens

    Average Rating:

    369 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 369

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2008

      I used the frosting on another sugar cookie recipe and it ran off the sides following the recipe. I had to keep wiping it off so it didn't look awful. I finally added more powdered sugar to make it doable, then the flavor was off somewhat. I don't think I will use this recipe again, sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      These worked very well on my schnauzer cookies. The dough didn't spread out after baking which has happened with other cut out cookie dough. The taste is good. Here are some tips: freeze dough for 45 minutes Roll dough out onto lightly floured parchment paper using a rolling pin rubbed with flour use 2 1/4 inch dowels with dough in between before rolling dough (this will give you an even 1/4 inch thick dough for the perfect cookie) cut out the shapes on the dough that is still on the parchment paper and tear away the unused dough slide a cookie sheet under the parchment paper so that you can put them in the oven. You can always make up more batches on more parchment paper to have them ready. I will be using this recipe for all cut out cookies from now on

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      Rating for Icing only: this just didn't work for me flavor wise. Way too sweet. Normally I'm a huge fan of Kitt's recipes but not this one. I will not use this again, sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      *THE* best sugar cookie recipe. You won't need to look for another. I followed it exactly and turned out perfectly. Thank you Kittencal! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      Best sugar cookies ever!! I've tried dozens of recipes, all either too soft or too tough, wouldn't hold their shape or ware so sweet it made your face hurt. But this dough held it's shape perfectly, fluffed up wonderfully and the icing was amazing! I might upload my photos of the ones I did for Halloween, if there are any left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      I wanted to have a little fun today and make some decorated Halloween cookies. I remembered seeing your recipe for these cookies a while back and couldn't wait to have an occasion to try them. The dough was so easy to make and baked up just perfect. I had to bake mine about 7 minutes. I used large cookie cutters so it was easiest to paint the icing on. I loved that the cookies weren't horribly sweet. Thanks so much for shraring another fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      I couldn't agree more that these r absolutely delicious, looked fab, even my no-butter eating kids devoured them! Yes, kittencsl is absolutely selfless when sharing all her recipes, :-))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      I was in desperate need of a good sugar cookie recipe that wouldn't fall apart and could hold any shape or cut out you wanted to use and THIS IS IT!!! I only have tried the cookie recipe so far but really hope the icing will work as these cookies will be put in treat bags and given as thank you gifts so it's important that whatever icing I use (which I will use the one included in this recipe), that it won't smear when placed into these bags. I will post an update and even a picture when I'm done.

      This recipe is definitely a keeper women!!!

      ~QueenB

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      I have been using this sugar cookie recipe now for a few months, and just remembered that I haven't reviewed it yet! This is the ONLY sugar cookie recipe I will ever use now. Everyone goes bananas over them, they are sooo wonderful. The only thing I do different is add a little bit of butter extract along with the vanilla and almond. Perfect cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I'm not a fan of sugar cookies, but these are the best I've ever had. I like the fact that the dough is not sickening sweet. Very nice flavor and texture. Frosting worked out great. I've deleted my other sugar cookie recipes since this will be my "go-to" recipe. Cookies were enjoyed by all. Thanks Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      Thanks Kittencal for yet another fabulous recipe! These cookies were so easy to make. The dough was perfect even after refrigerating overnight. The frosting was totally awesome. I actually made Christmas cookies that looked professional! I made them exactly as written and I got oodles of raves from all who ate them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      My daughter and I made these for her to pass out to friends for holiday gifts. They were such a hit! We followed every step exactly as it said. We even had a cookie decorating contest with my DH! The cookies were perfect....soft but had a nice golden brown bottom to them. I baked them for just over 5 minutes which seemed perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Having baked sugar cookies forever as a Christmas tradition, I decided to try these this year because of all the rave reviews. No WONDER...they are awesome...they make a beautiful cookie that is soft, not too sweet and the dough is incredibly easy to work with. Doubled the recipe to make a TON of cookies for my kids' annual cookie decorating party and cannot thank you enough for this amazing recipe. Throw out the other sugar cookies, folks -- this is THE ONE! Kittencal rocks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      This is a very basic cut-out sugar cookie recipe, and it did keep it's shape when baked, but the taste was so 'basic' I would call is blah. We were not impressed at all. They aren't horrible. Still edible, but I doubt I'll make this recipe again. I want something with more flavor when I make cut-out cookies and this just doesn't cut it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      We made these for Christmas this year. Although they were okay, the icing just wasn't what we were looking for and the cookie was a bit bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Great cookie. It's not too sweet by itself (which is fine) but either sprinkle some sugar on before baking or use the icing and they're perfect! I made an extra recipe at Christmas, put the dough in the freezer, took it out and let it thaw in the 'fridge ... still very, very good! This is definitely my only sugar cookie recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      All in all, we found these rather uninspiring. My sister and I baked them for cut-out cookies on christmas eve, and wern't too thrilled about the results. The dough tasted good, and the icing dried to a nice shiny finnish, but the end result was a dry cookie caked in sugary gloop...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      awful. no taste. threw out. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Kittencal, these are GREAT!!!! The dough is easy to work with, and the icing miraculously smooths itself out after sitting a minute. It holds sprinkles and red-hot cinnamon candies perfectly. Then the finished cookie is soft and buttery instead of being hard and dry. I would give these more stars, but five seems to be the maximum. That's a pity, because they deserve about a dozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Absolutely loved this recipe! I recommend dumping the mixed dough onto a surface dusted with flour and shape into a flat disk then wrapping it in plastic before chilling to ensure easy roll-out after it's removed from the refigerator for how ever long you decided to chill it. (I left mine in overnight and it worked out perfectly!)

      - Sheri
      bloodandvogue.blogspot.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 35

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.1
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    35%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 24.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 107.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes