Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens

    Average Rating:

    369 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 369

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2010

      I too was set to try a different recipe when I came across this one. This dough is fabulous to work with. The flavor is buttery without being too rich or sweet - the perfect foil for the icing. Mine actually baked up perfectly with a little crunch on the outside while the inside was softer. I subbed all vanilla as I am not a fan of almond flavoring. The cookies did not spread much at all. I did chill my dough well in addition to cooling my cookie sheet down between batches. The icing was just what I needed as I didn't really want to make a batch of royal icing. Instead of spreading it on with a spatula or putting it in a piping bag, I placed it in bowls with wide rims and held my cookies upside down and dipped them in. I was even able to dip some of the cookies so they had multiple colors on them by dipping one color, allowing it to dry and dipping the next color. My cookies were iced very quickly this way. It dried firm and glossy and did not smear or smoosh when I layered my cookies on a serving platter and covered them with plastic wrap for transport. An awesome recipe that has become my standard for sugar cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      My newest favorite Christmas cookie. And..the frosting works wonderfully.

      p.s..don't refrigerate for more than two hours. The dough will be virtually impossible to work with. I had to microwave mine to soften it a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      deeelicious...but i'm lazy.after an hour of refridgeration I got a ziploc bag, put the dough in and got all the air out. then i rolled it into an log (inside the bag, rolling the dough on the counter) and cut circle cookies with floss. And I used margarine....(oops) Best cookie ever. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      Not so sure about the, "...not find a better sugar cookie anywhere you search" part. Yes, the recipe was super easy and the dough was very good to work with for cut-out cookies. However, these are very BLAND. I made these for my daughter's teachers, but they were so tasteless, I opted to not gift them. Per my oldest daughter's suggestion, we're saving the cookies for Santa, hoping he'll eat them. ;) A cookie recipe shouldn't focus mainly on making the dough easy to work with; you also have to pay attention to the TASTE of the cookie. What's the point in having a pretty cookie if no one wants to eat it? Also, when the instructions to use 1-2 tablespoons of milk when starting to make the icing, is ridiculous. Yes, we'll "likely" need more, meaning it's impossible to mix it without a lot more milk. I was happy with how the icing hardened, but even that didn't taste very good. My normally icing-loving kids wouldn't go near this icing. Overall, not very pleased with this recipe and I would not go so far as to say it's the best recipe ever, taste-wise. Needs some tweaking for taste, and not just extra sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Kittencal's stuff is normally awesome, but this one did not make the grade. Added 1/2 cup more sugar and the cookies came out like butter cookies and not sugar cookies. Revise the title and they are much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      I don't know, but I put all the right ingredients and it didn't turn out. The batter was so dry couldn't even blend it together. :( Added a little water just to say the kids made cookies but they didn't taste like cookies, they tasted like bicuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      "You will not find a better sugar cookie anywhere you search, this will most likely be the only sugar cookie you will use ... "

      And I was about to pass this one off as another of those recipes claiming to be 'the best' or the 'ultimate' ... but I'm SO GLAD I gave it a go, and the only reason I've created an account here is to give this recipe my thumbs-up and say, yes, you will not find a better sugar cookie anywhere you search, and it will definitely be the only sugar cookie I will ever use.

      The search is over. Thank you, Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Didn't make the cookies, but the icing was terrific for piping with a fine writing tip and spreading inside outlines. I used water instead of milk and added extra vanilla plus lemon extract to give it a nicer flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      I loved this recipe. It was easy to make & the dough is easy to work with - and DELICIOUS. I doubled it because I needed 60 cookies. I've never painted with icing so I wasn't sure about it, but it works just like the recipe says. Get a nylon (or something besides real hair) paintbrush and paint the thinned icing on the cooled cookies. It was very easy & didn't run down the sides like I thought it might. I will make this recipe again & again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      Really a great recipe. I loved how these cookies have good body and are not too sweet. So good with a cup of coffee -- seriously. They're firm but give nicely when you bite them. I added fresh lemon juice (strained) instead of milk in the icing mixture to give it a little zing. It still set up beautifully. I'm attaching a picture so you can see how well they turned out. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This will be my go to cut-out cookie recipe from this point forward!! I made them just as called for by the recipe and they turned out beautifully. They were easy to make, the dough was very easy to work with, they held their shape when baked and were tender and delicious to eat. The icing was wonderful to work with and resulted in the most beautiful cookies we've ever made! Bravo Kittencal and thanks for a great recipe that made our Christmas even more wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Loved these. They were just like my Mom made when we were kids. Food.com listed a different sugar cookie under their "featured recipes" which I tried. Let me tell you, it's no where near as good as kittencal's. The best part of making these was letting my two year old put the icing on them afterwards. Thanks for the recipe kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      Hand down the "BEST" sugar cookie recipe! Not overly sweet and the icing hardens enough to make stacking or wrapping the cookies possible. Putting the dough in the fridge for a few hours or overnight is an important step to make rolling and cutting the dough easier. I kept the dough in the fridge and only removed enough to roll and cut and then repeated until all was used. I kept the icing thick, applied it using a brush, and had no problem with it running. My husband has never been a fan of sugar cookies and loves these as once again, they are not too sweet. I made these for a Christmas cookie exchange and received rave reviews. Now I'm getting ready to double the recipe. use a heart cookie cutter, and give them to neighbors/freinds for Valentine's day. Thanks, Kittencal...I've never had one of your recipes be a disappointment!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Well Kittencal as usual your recipes are top notch. I made a double batch for my daughter's halloween party for Kindergarten. I mixed the dough last night and rolled them out this morning. My oven is funky so I had to lower then temp and the cooking time but they rose up and are so moist and yummy. I love anything with almond extract in them ( reminds me of my grandma), these have the most wonderful smell to them when you break them apart. I didnt use the icing recipe, I used a butter cream to pipe each kid's name onto a cookie (no fighting that way!!) Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe that will be used for every class party from now on. UPDATE: I got a note sent home yesterday from my daughters school asking for me to make Halloween cookies again this year, the Kindergarten teacher told the Grade 1 teacher that Kenn's mom makes the best cookies. How can I refuse? What would I do without Kitten's recipes? They save me over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      We have experimented with several sugar cookie recipes, (3 different batches today alone)...looking for just the right one. When we made these it was hands down the best flavor and texture we were looking for. Actually a real special cookie to call our "family" recipe. We have saved it everywhere so it doesn't get lost. One note don't leave in fridge overnight..it comes out a brick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      I prefer harder sugar cookies. Mine came out so soft that I don't see how I will be able to frost them without them falling apart. :( Sorry. I think I'll stick to my old recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      These were easy and really tastey! I made mine all the same shape (a rectangle for a flag) so I simply molded the dough into a large rectangular block, wrapped it with saran wrap, and put in the fridge. Then after a couple of hours I took it out and sliced them with a knife. It worked awesome! I did use her icing, I actually simply dipped them (dipped the tops), then added the flag decor later. Everyone thought they tasted as good as our local bakery cookies did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      These are the best sugar cookies I've ever had. These are better than most bakeries.I've been searching for years for a good sugar cookie recipe to make with my kids.This is definately it.I rolled the dough out between 2 pieces of parchment paper.This made the dough easy to work with and the cookies came out perfect, not hard.For the frosting I used the vanilla for flavoring and had added milk until the frosting reached the consistancy I wanted. We added food coloring for decorating.Santa will be proud.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Excellent cookie! But if you are doing larger shaped cut-outs (i made moose cookies) then you will REALLYY have to thin the icing! With both milk & corn strarch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      This was definitely the easiest sugar cookie dough I have ever worked with. My daughter was home sick from school one day last week so we made cookies all day. We made this dough ahead of time and popped it in the fridge to chill while we made some other cookies. I divided the dough into fourths and only worked with one section at a time, leaving the other sections in the refrigerator to keep them chilled. I baked them for 5 minutes and they turned out perfectly and held their shape, which I loved. I will agree with some other posters that they are not very sweet, but paired with icing, they are wonderful and not heavy. I am going to make some to send to my daughter's class for halloween. I'm thinking of adding a little bit of lemon extract just because I like lemon. I found the icing easy to make. I just added milk a little at a time until it was the consistency I needed it to be, and then I divided it into different containers and added different food colorings. We used paintbrushes to paint the icing on, but I think next time I will outline my cookies first and then flood them with the icing. Thanks Kittencal, for a great, easy recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 19

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 35

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.1
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    35%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 24.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 107.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes