45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used this on my Christmas turkey and the taste was incredible....the cumin is a definate must!!! We had a 16 lb fresh turkey and the bag was to small to brine in, so I used a cooking bag. I got my turkey 4 days ahead of time and stored it outside on our deck patio (the salt prevents it from freezing). Come Xmas day, this turkey was moist, tender and I had to slap my hand for not eating up the skin....soooo good!!! Another winner, Kitten!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl January 27, 2009

I've never before brined my turkey... now I'm hooked. Worked wonderfully and the turkey turned out very moist & tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 December 16, 2008

Very tender, moist chicken. I only marinated for 6 hours and it was still wonderful. I can't wait to try marinating for 24 hours next time! Thanks again Kitt!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobeana October 15, 2008

Thought this would be different from the usual salt brine. The chicken still was moist & juicy which wasn't disappointing. I still feel that the salt brine gives you the same results & is a less expensive way to go. Thanks for posting Kittencal, I still love experimenting with your recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat August 07, 2008

This produced some awesome chicken. I left out the cumin. I would absolutely use this again for any poultry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee July 26, 2008

Kit this made the juiciest tender chicken for the grill, I will use this all the time I can't wait to try this for fryed chicken, another winner Kit thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kusinera July 17, 2008

Our grilled chicken leg & thighs were very moist and tender. We followed the recipe (marinating for 24 hours) but I was expecting more flavour from the cumin. Next time I would substitute the cumin with a garam masala to give our chicken more complexity. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sous Chef Bentley July 14, 2008

Iloved this recipe! I omitted the cumin and added a bit of fresh thyme and sage. I used this brine and a traditional brine for my two Christmas turkey breasts. My family couldn't tell the difference but I could. The meat had a mildly tangy flavor that went well with the spicy rice stuffing. I couldn't get all of the buttermilk off of the turkey but that just added more flavor to the juices. When I make this recipe again with poultry I'm going to stuff, I will use just a bit less salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riverchick January 03, 2008

We didn't like this as much as the regular salt water brine with peppercorns, bay leaf, garlic, salt and sugar. This was OK.. but I wouldn't make it again. I brined boneless breasts for 24 hours. I breaded them and baked them in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge December 06, 2007

This was excellent. The chicken was very moist and tender. Also, like other reviewers noted the chicken breasts (bone in with skin) really grew in size. I used 1 tsp. of cumin, but would probably not add that next time as I did not care for the taste. I think I would replace it with Old Bay seasoning. I did not rinse them off like another reviewer but just pulled them out of the brine and rolling them in plain bread crumbs and baking at 350 for 1 hour. I would like to try this on a turkey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 December 02, 2007
Kittencal's Buttermilk Poultry Brine (For Chicken or Turkey)