Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Buttermilk Poultry Brine (For Chicken or Turkey) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Buttermilk Poultry Brine (For Chicken or Turkey)

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2008

      I've never before brined my turkey... now I'm hooked. Worked wonderfully and the turkey turned out very moist & tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      Very tender, moist chicken. I only marinated for 6 hours and it was still wonderful. I can't wait to try marinating for 24 hours next time! Thanks again Kitt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Thought this would be different from the usual salt brine. The chicken still was moist & juicy which wasn't disappointing. I still feel that the salt brine gives you the same results & is a less expensive way to go. Thanks for posting Kittencal, I still love experimenting with your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      This produced some awesome chicken. I left out the cumin. I would absolutely use this again for any poultry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Kit this made the juiciest tender chicken for the grill, I will use this all the time I can't wait to try this for fryed chicken, another winner Kit thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Our grilled chicken leg & thighs were very moist and tender. We followed the recipe (marinating for 24 hours) but I was expecting more flavour from the cumin. Next time I would substitute the cumin with a garam masala to give our chicken more complexity. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Iloved this recipe! I omitted the cumin and added a bit of fresh thyme and sage. I used this brine and a traditional brine for my two Christmas turkey breasts. My family couldn't tell the difference but I could. The meat had a mildly tangy flavor that went well with the spicy rice stuffing. I couldn't get all of the buttermilk off of the turkey but that just added more flavor to the juices. When I make this recipe again with poultry I'm going to stuff, I will use just a bit less salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      We didn't like this as much as the regular salt water brine with peppercorns, bay leaf, garlic, salt and sugar. This was OK.. but I wouldn't make it again. I brined boneless breasts for 24 hours. I breaded them and baked them in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This was excellent. The chicken was very moist and tender. Also, like other reviewers noted the chicken breasts (bone in with skin) really grew in size. I used 1 tsp. of cumin, but would probably not add that next time as I did not care for the taste. I think I would replace it with Old Bay seasoning. I did not rinse them off like another reviewer but just pulled them out of the brine and rolling them in plain bread crumbs and baking at 350 for 1 hour. I would like to try this on a turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This is the best brine I have ever used. I used this to make roasted chicken and I brined it for about 20 hours. My chicken was so tender and juicy. I will definitely use this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      I have now made this recipe 3X's using both chicken thighs(bone in) & pork loin. With the chicken thighs I have been grilling 12 at a time to leave in the frig for family members meals. The marinade adds a very nice mild taste plus the chicken is firmer when eaten(a plus). The pork loin which is very lean (tough) I baked. Both of these meats have been very successful after 2 days of marinating. I will continue to use this recipe for the marinating of these meats. I now keep a 1qt. container of buttermilk in the frig at all times. Thank you Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      This produced a very moist and tender chicken breast, that my whole family enjoyed! I ended up marinating for three days (from frozen) and it was wonderful as are your other recipes I have tried! Thanks for posting as I have already passed this recipe to several others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      We liked this alot. It does make a very tender piece of meat. We could really taste the cumin, so I think I will reduce that next time. I always use buttermilk before making my chicken fried chicken. However, I had never added other spices to it before. Thank you very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      I used this for boneless/skinless breasts and it was great. I did not have any fresh onions so I used some minced onions and onion powder so I had the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      I have to agree that this is the best chicken I have ever made on the grill. I marinated 24 hours. My DH is not a big fan of chicken on the bone...until now. This is definetly a keeper. I really cannot wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      Another 5 star for this one. I've never used buttermilk before, but I will definitely use it again. Thanks Kittencal! I used boneless skinless chicken breast, and coated them with seasoned flour and fried them in a skillet. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      Did a whole chicken. The meat was tender & juicy even the second night when we had the leftovers!Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      Delicious! Makes for tasty, juicy chicken breasts which is what we used. Also, this grilled easily without burning or sticking, which is a plus in my DH's opinion (he's the griller in our house). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Great brine. I spooned some Cloned KFC Honey BBQ Sauce over the top after we grilled it (didn't rinse the chicken beforehand) and it was great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      Once again, Kitt~you've done it! Easy to put together, worked well with substitution on hand, and delivered an exceptional bird! Didn't have buttermilk (I used skim milk, vinegar, and cornstarch mixed together)but all the rest stayed exact. Normally, I brine with just kosher salt, water, (which produces a fine bird) but took it a step further. Even the left over wings, drums were still juicy after 2 days, and had those for a late night snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Buttermilk Poultry Brine (For Chicken or Turkey)

    Serving Size: 1 (1134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 553.0
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    14%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 39.2 mg
    13%
    Sodium 14988.6 mg
    624%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.8 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 75.2 g
    301%
    Protein 34.7 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites