45 Reviews

What a fantastic recipe! I brined my fresh turkey in this for Thanksgiving and it came out superb! The meat was so moist and flavorful. Plus, it gave the turkey a deep mahogany hue which was very attractive, and the gravy had a rich, wonderful flavor. In future, I'll ALWAYS use this on any turkey I cook, and I will use it on chicken also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinkhighway November 28, 2011

I used this brine for my Thanksgiving turkey this year. Without a doubt, this was my best turkey ever!! I will definitely use this again. It beats the traditional water-based brine, hands-down!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DKS.esq November 26, 2011

Excellent brine, making the grilled chicken breasts flavorful and moist. I added paprika to the mix also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup July 19, 2011

The Absolute BEST turkey I have ever tasted!!! I wish I could give this recipe 10 Stars! I completely agree with Beautiful Disgrace's review! I was a little dubious about the cumin but, as usual, Kitten knows best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmay311 July 11, 2011

Yep. Never, ever making chicken/poultry without this brine again. I marinated a couple of pounds of chicken tenderloins in this deliciousness for 24 hours, then tossed them on the charcoal grill along with a couple of other recipes of marinated/brined chicken and this was the clear winner! Even the macho men who normally want nothing but burgers and steak chose this chicken over all the red meat we grilled. Thanks, Kitten, for yet another stunner of a recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs May 30, 2011

Thanks for all your help Kittencal... This went over fantastic at my BBQ... it amazed me how it made the chicken so moist and tender. I'm looking forward to trying this out on the Thanksgiving turkey this year

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee August 19, 2010

Lots of compliments on the turkey. I used this on a 22-pound bird, believe it or not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buckeye Karen March 04, 2010

This was so fabulous last year that I had to look it up again for this year. I outdid myself and now am committed to doing thanksgiving every year, because of this recipe. Thanks kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jberk1975 November 19, 2009

Simply stated, this recipe is awesome. My boyfriend has been experimenting with attempting to make the perfect hot wing (he even has a blog of his journey, aptly named theperfectwing.com). We had just been deep frying the wings plain. This time we tried deep frying them after using this brine recipe (we did substitute cream for the buttermilk, we couldn't find any), they were amazing. I didn't even want the sauce on them. I'm going to try it with a whole chicken sometime this week. Thanks for this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkinqueen September 13, 2009

Thanks so much for a simple brine. It worked perfectly -- very, very moist. Going in the keeper file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty May 22, 2009
Kittencal's Buttermilk Poultry Brine (For Chicken or Turkey)