Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Buttermilk Poultry Brine (For Chicken or Turkey) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Buttermilk Poultry Brine (For Chicken or Turkey)

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2009

      Darling! 5 stars is not enough for this gem of a recipe. I was leary of the Cumin at first. I love cumin but on my Thanksgiving turkey?? I was roasting on a whole turkey breast so I doubled the recipe and prepared exactly as written. This was so easy to prepare and it produced the moistest, tenderest, juiciest most flavorful bird I have ever eaten. Please, USE THE CUMIN!!! It does not come out tasting like tacos, I swear! It gives the meat a subtle hint of something that is totally and completely mouth~friggin~watering. You cant go wrong with one of Kit's recipes. They have never left me disappointed. P.S. I am eating leftover turkey right now and its just as delicious as yesterday! WINNER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      I had a "Famiy Pack" of chicken breasts - bone-in, skin on. 6 breats at 7 lbs. The brine recipe only covered 3 breasts! But that was OK. I had never even 'HEARD' of brine before - nobody in my extensive family did it! The funny part - when I pulled them out of the brine after about 18 hrs - they were HUGE! LOL! (I wondered if that would work on MY breasts! haha....) I was concerned about the garlic and such flavors being too overwhelming from the brine. I did basic oven fried chicken without adding much more flavorings. NO garlic/onion/cumin taste to overpower the taste of chicken! (I think I DID cut the cumin down a bit - due to other reviews). THIS CHICKEN WAS SO TENDER AND JUICY!...(and huge! lol!) Will definately brine again. Thx for terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      ooooooo! boyfriend and i had THE best homemade oven baked chicken in BOTH of our families combined! :) THANKS Kittencal first and foremost! kept pretty much the same but used 2 qts buttermilk (from powdered), 1/2c fried shallots, 1/4c minced garlic, 1/4c salt, 1/4c sugar, and same amounts of pepper and cumin as the recipe suggested. soaked bird for about 2 days! ohhhh sooo yummy! on the chicken he used a conglomoration of emerils Southwest essence, minced garlic, celery flakes, smoked paprika, himalaya pink salt, ground thyme, and cracked black pepper. roasted on rack in medium roaster above halved onions, taters, and water. my tastebuds say thanks and my full belly curses it all! lol. will always brine chicken from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      I tried this brine on some chicken breasts a few months ago and, wow, they were so flavorful and moist! I decided to try it with a whole chicken and it worked perfectly! I always come out with dry chickens and this time it was great! SO couldn't get enough and he's really gone off chicken lately...Kittencal, once again, for the win!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      I used this recipe to brine some breasts that I was going to stuff. I love this brine flavor. The cumin puts it over the top. thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      I had never 'brined' anything & wanted to try brining a chicken. We were going camping & thought I would try this. Everything tastes better when camping, right? So I took a whole chicken, cut in half. Put half in a bag with this recipe & tried another brine recipe for the other half. Why I bothered with the second brine is a mystery - Kitten NEVER disappoints. Threw the chicken in the fridg & off we went, It was too windy to cook over the fire so I baked the chicken in the RV after about 36 hours of brining. It was a huge hit! It reminded me of the rotissierie chicken from Costco. I am doing this at home today. I loved the flavor and how moist the chicken was. Can't brag about the leftovers because there were none. This was a wonderful camping recipe, prepare at home and take along. I do want to cook it in cast iron on a fire - think it will be awesome. Thanks Kitten, you rock !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      Didn't like it,sorry. I didn't think it added any taste or tenderness to the roasted chicken. Sorry for a low rating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      i used this on my 22lb thanksgiving turkey & it came out GREAT! everyone loved it, thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      What a fantastic recipe! I brined my fresh turkey in this for Thanksgiving and it came out superb! The meat was so moist and flavorful. Plus, it gave the turkey a deep mahogany hue which was very attractive, and the gravy had a rich, wonderful flavor. In future, I'll ALWAYS use this on any turkey I cook, and I will use it on chicken also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      I used this brine for my Thanksgiving turkey this year. Without a doubt, this was my best turkey ever!! I will definitely use this again. It beats the traditional water-based brine, hands-down!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      Excellent brine, making the grilled chicken breasts flavorful and moist. I added paprika to the mix also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      The Absolute BEST turkey I have ever tasted!!! I wish I could give this recipe 10 Stars! I completely agree with Beautiful Disgrace's review! I was a little dubious about the cumin but, as usual, Kitten knows best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Yep. Never, ever making chicken/poultry without this brine again. I marinated a couple of pounds of chicken tenderloins in this deliciousness for 24 hours, then tossed them on the charcoal grill along with a couple of other recipes of marinated/brined chicken and this was the clear winner! Even the macho men who normally want nothing but burgers and steak chose this chicken over all the red meat we grilled. Thanks, Kitten, for yet another stunner of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      Thanks for all your help Kittencal... This went over fantastic at my BBQ... it amazed me how it made the chicken so moist and tender. I'm looking forward to trying this out on the Thanksgiving turkey this year

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      Lots of compliments on the turkey. I used this on a 22-pound bird, believe it or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      This was so fabulous last year that I had to look it up again for this year. I outdid myself and now am committed to doing thanksgiving every year, because of this recipe. Thanks kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Simply stated, this recipe is awesome. My boyfriend has been experimenting with attempting to make the perfect hot wing (he even has a blog of his journey, aptly named theperfectwing.com). We had just been deep frying the wings plain. This time we tried deep frying them after using this brine recipe (we did substitute cream for the buttermilk, we couldn't find any), they were amazing. I didn't even want the sauce on them. I'm going to try it with a whole chicken sometime this week. Thanks for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Thanks so much for a simple brine. It worked perfectly -- very, very moist. Going in the keeper file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      I used this on my Christmas turkey and the taste was incredible....the cumin is a definate must!!! We had a 16 lb fresh turkey and the bag was to small to brine in, so I used a cooking bag. I got my turkey 4 days ahead of time and stored it outside on our deck patio (the salt prevents it from freezing). Come Xmas day, this turkey was moist, tender and I had to slap my hand for not eating up the skin....soooo good!!! Another winner, Kitten!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      I've never before brined my turkey... now I'm hooked. Worked wonderfully and the turkey turned out very moist & tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Buttermilk Poultry Brine (For Chicken or Turkey)

    Serving Size: 1 (1134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 553.0
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    14%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 39.2 mg
    13%
    Sodium 14988.6 mg
    624%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.8 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 75.2 g
    301%
    Protein 34.7 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites