149 Reviews

This is soooo good. I use it all the time to make Caramel Macchiato's. I dumped out my store bought Smuckers Caramel, washed the no mess bottle out well and put this caramel in it. It's and convient to use. Thanks for the amazing recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber D May 01, 2011

This is a fantastic recipe and what flavor. At first mine turned out grainy (my fault). The next day I added water and a bit of butter and reheated it for a wonderful smooth texture. Even grainy, the flavor was good. I added vanilla bean seeds for a little extra touch. I did have some sauce left over after I used it on the Harvest Pumpkin Cheesecake and I add it to my coffee in the mornings. YUMMY

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbblampwork November 30, 2010

As ALWAYS Kittencal a perfect and simple recipe. Used this for a topper with a bread pudding I am developing and well, they just got married. This sauce will stay as my bread puddings condiment of choice. It will also 'cheat' on my bread pudding with ice cream and etc throughout the ages! Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SVELTE January 25, 2010

Good, simple, fast. What's not to like? Have now used it in a number of applications. Why would anyone buy caramel sauce when they can make it fresh and hot in minutes? Another keeper! I've been adding a good pinch of salt, as some have noted that the caramel flavor is accented by the addition of salt.

For the reviewer who noted the taste was simply of the brown sugar, I'd suggest being sure to use dark brown sugar and cooking the butter and sugar pretty thoroughly before adding the cream. The additional cooking should encourage the caramelization of the sugar to give more of that desired flavor (which is, strangely enough, the partial oxidation (burning) of some of the sugar to leave some carbon to darken the color).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MNGoldenBear October 27, 2012

creamy and delicious every time

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akcarr July 01, 2012

Wonderful sauce I served over raw apple cake. I used can milk and it worked like a charm. Everyone loved it. Son used it over ice cream, too. Thanks, Kitten, for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms Cooky January 25, 2012

Very good flavor and so easy to make. I used 1 t. vanilla bean paste. Everyone loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MLSuchan April 18, 2011

Awesome, as always. Served with white chocolate mud cake and ice cream, was the best. And it thickened up nicely in the fridge and off the heat and chilled for 5 minutes was a lovely drizzling consistancy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thehungrykiwi February 19, 2011

.............speechless............

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa in Oregon February 06, 2011

I am sorry I could only give it 5 stars, I rahter give it a 100! I thought this was a super good sauce! Kitten...THANKS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michEgan December 21, 2010
Kittencal's Brown Sugar Caramel Sauce or Ice Cream Topping