Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Blueberry Pie (Option for Freezing) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Blueberry Pie (Option for Freezing)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2007

      I have used this recipe many times, and adapted it using other fruit. It works wonderfully for crisps as well. Sometimes I use a bit of almond extract instead of the cinnamon. A keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      Made this for my BF on Friday night, let it sit, covered overnight and he ate it on Sunday.(after being in the fridge all day Saturday). He loved it. Not to sweet, didn't run or drip. Since it was my first time making a 2 crust pie I was very pleased with the results. Will definitely be making again, will use different fruits as well. thanks for an easy and delicious recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I used this filling to make Blueberry Rhubarb Jam Blueberry Rhubarb Jam (Freezer Jam). It was amazing! We used most of it in the jam, but then saved a little to eat on waffles & icecream. Yum. I used 2/3 c flour instead of 1/3 c cornstarch and it thickened up just fine. I loved the fresh lemon juice, it really made the flavors pop!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This was great! DH loves blueberry pie and thought this was wonderful. It was quick to put together and I loved that I could make the filling ahead of time and throw together later. Based on some reviews, I mixed the cornstarch with the sugar before adding it to the rest of the ingredients. Mine also took closer to 45 mintues at 350 as opposed to the 30 recommended. Still, it was a great pie! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      We liked this very much, and I particularly appreciated that the filling can be made ahead of time. I mixed the sugar and cornstarch together, than added it to frozen berries and stirred them together several times as the berries thawed and released juice. I reduced the lemon juice to 2 tablespoons (request of DH who prefers a cinnamon accent with blueberries), and added about 3 tablespoons of water to compensate for my changes. Then I cooked and cooled the thickened filling, baking the pie later in the day...excellent flavour and convenience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      I was very happy to find this recipe but had a couple problems. First, I forgot that pouring cornstarch paste into a hot mix can create cornstarch lumps (which it did) and it turned out thicker than I would have liked. I tried this recipe again but reduced the cornstarch from 1/3 to 1/4 cup and then mixed the dry cornstarch with the dry sugar and it turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Just what I was looking for. I needed a can of cherry pie filling for another riecipe, but there are no cans of pie filling in France so I halved this one and tried it with cherries. Perfect. And much tastier than a can. I used cherry juice for the water. This will bail me out of a lot of pie filling problems from here on out, with many kinds of fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      I scaled this down b/c I only had 1 cup of blueberries. It worked great and was just perfect. I used it in Tiny Tarts With Pecan or Pumpkin Filling. Very tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      This was a perfect blueberry pie filling! So simple to make and 1000 times better than anything out of a can. Actually used it in Blueberry Upside-Down Cake Blueberry Upside-Down Cake. Thanks Kitten - will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Blueberry Pie (Option for Freezing)

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    90%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 27.0 g
    108%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites