9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have used this recipe many times, and adapted it using other fruit. It works wonderfully for crisps as well. Sometimes I use a bit of almond extract instead of the cinnamon. A keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Supersteph0 June 06, 2007

Made this for my BF on Friday night, let it sit, covered overnight and he ate it on Sunday.(after being in the fridge all day Saturday). He loved it. Not to sweet, didn't run or drip. Since it was my first time making a 2 crust pie I was very pleased with the results. Will definitely be making again, will use different fruits as well. thanks for an easy and delicious recipe..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imarunnergirl September 15, 2013

I used this filling to make Blueberry Rhubarb Jam Blueberry Rhubarb Jam (Freezer Jam). It was amazing! We used most of it in the jam, but then saved a little to eat on waffles & icecream. Yum. I used 2/3 c flour instead of 1/3 c cornstarch and it thickened up just fine. I loved the fresh lemon juice, it really made the flavors pop!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P May 04, 2010

This was great! DH loves blueberry pie and thought this was wonderful. It was quick to put together and I loved that I could make the filling ahead of time and throw together later. Based on some reviews, I mixed the cornstarch with the sugar before adding it to the rest of the ingredients. Mine also took closer to 45 mintues at 350 as opposed to the 30 recommended. Still, it was a great pie! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbrynsaas November 28, 2008

We liked this very much, and I particularly appreciated that the filling can be made ahead of time. I mixed the sugar and cornstarch together, than added it to frozen berries and stirred them together several times as the berries thawed and released juice. I reduced the lemon juice to 2 tablespoons (request of DH who prefers a cinnamon accent with blueberries), and added about 3 tablespoons of water to compensate for my changes. Then I cooked and cooled the thickened filling, baking the pie later in the day...excellent flavour and convenience.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo July 16, 2007

I was very happy to find this recipe but had a couple problems. First, I forgot that pouring cornstarch paste into a hot mix can create cornstarch lumps (which it did) and it turned out thicker than I would have liked. I tried this recipe again but reduced the cornstarch from 1/3 to 1/4 cup and then mixed the dry cornstarch with the dry sugar and it turned out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
good2bdunn June 29, 2007

Just what I was looking for. I needed a can of cherry pie filling for another riecipe, but there are no cans of pie filling in France so I halved this one and tried it with cherries. Perfect. And much tastier than a can. I used cherry juice for the water. This will bail me out of a lot of pie filling problems from here on out, with many kinds of fruit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha April 26, 2007

I scaled this down b/c I only had 1 cup of blueberries. It worked great and was just perfect. I used it in Tiny Tarts With Pecan or Pumpkin Filling. Very tasty!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Z* November 19, 2006

This was a perfect blueberry pie filling! So simple to make and 1000 times better than anything out of a can. Actually used it in Blueberry Upside-Down Cake Blueberry Upside-Down Cake. Thanks Kitten - will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel July 23, 2006
Kittencal's Blueberry Pie (Option for Freezing)