14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fabulous!!! I used this recipe for my Christmas dinner, I couldn't belive how fast it was finished. I actually left myself an extra hour, just in case it wasn't up to temp in the 1.5 hours. But it was finished on time so I left it under the foil a little longer than 30 mins. I also read the directions wrong and cooked the turkey breast side down, which turned out to be a happy mistake because the breast was so tender. I will use this recipe from now on, and I will also cook it breast side down. So good :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jake ryley'smommy January 06, 2010

Any recipe with the name Kittencal in it...you KNOW it has got to be GOOD! I had an 18 lb turkey. I followed the recipe almost to a "T" but because I had a bigger bird I had to make some adjustments. So, I baked as directed for the first hour and 15 minutes. Then I took the bird out and flipped it upside-down and put it back in for an hour and 15 minutes. When I took it out I flipped it back over (have to add: it was beautifully browned all over!) and stuck my digi meat thermometer in it while I got everything else prepared. When I was ready to carve the bird, the deepest part of the breast was 160 degrees F EXACTLY! LOL Perfect. The breast meat was tender and juicy. It was cooked all the way through. The skin was perfectly browned and crispy! And it was so nice to have turkey without cooking for 4 hours or more! Thanks for another winner, Kittencal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Ali L December 31, 2010

We actually used to use this method at a fine-dining facility that I used to work at- if you're not fond of margarine, try using grapeseed oil in its place, as it has a very high smoking point. This method can also be used for very large beef roasts, pork roasts, etc. Had almost forgotten about this- thanks for the reminder, Kittencal! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leopardstripes December 12, 2007

Cooking an 18 pound turkey was a breeze with this recipe. Rubbed with grapeseed oil and flipped it over after 1 hr and 15 minutes of cooking. Added some water half way through the first cooking stage. After the bird was flipped, more water really wasn't needed. Total cook time was 2.5 hours. Moist, tender meat, golden brown on the outside. I love Kittencal's recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stir crazy December 03, 2013

I've used this recipe a couple of times and the turkey came out perfect both times. I turned the breast down to begin with out of habit and then turned it over about half way through which gave it golden brown skin both times. I wonder if turning the breast down in the second half is for a self-basting method which seems to make sense. Has anyone tried it both ways and if so, how did it turn out?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsomniak6 December 29, 2012

OMG, this recipe saved my Thanksgiving dinner--or at least kept me from having to postpone it several hours. Our rotisserie wasn't cooperating today, so we had to put the turkey in the oven, and it turned out so great! Used your brown sugar brine and so omitted the salt in this recipe, but I did use butter (we never have margarine) and it cooked in just about two hours--only half an hour after plans would've had the rotisserie turkey done. We covered the turkey with foil after 75 minutes to prevent scorching. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anonymous23 October 12, 2010

Wow! What a Christmas Day turkey! I've never done a turkey this way, but I was running out of time and found this recipe. It turned out great. Bad me--I did stuff it. That turned out fine too. I would emphasize adding water to the pan at step 13, even if it doesn't look like you need to when you turn it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Cook! December 26, 2009

what a fantastic easy and quick way to cook turkey I know this will be great because I make your blasted chicken and that is the only way to make chicken, I'm going to try this soon, thank you Kitten, you have the best recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kusinera December 24, 2009

Awesome way to roast a turkey. I've used this recipe twice now for the two best turkeys I've ever had. I used half butter, half cooking oil as I didn't have margarine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bungalowten December 14, 2009

Oh my gosh! I just made my first ever turkey using this recipe and it was WONDERFUL! I kept waiting to feel stressed out and to start screaming at everyone like my mother-in-law usually does, but this was the easiest thing ever. I didn't have a meat thermometer so I just cooked my 16lb bird for 2 hours 20 minutes and it came out great. Thank you so much, Kittencal, for this fantastic easy, stressfree recipe. I will be doing this every year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy1515 December 25, 2008
Kittencal's Blasted Rapid Roast 2-Hour Whole Turkey