Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Blasted Rapid Roast 2-Hour Whole Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Blasted Rapid Roast 2-Hour Whole Turkey

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2010

      Fabulous!!! I used this recipe for my Christmas dinner, I couldn't belive how fast it was finished. I actually left myself an extra hour, just in case it wasn't up to temp in the 1.5 hours. But it was finished on time so I left it under the foil a little longer than 30 mins. I also read the directions wrong and cooked the turkey breast side down, which turned out to be a happy mistake because the breast was so tender. I will use this recipe from now on, and I will also cook it breast side down. So good :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      We actually used to use this method at a fine-dining facility that I used to work at- if you're not fond of margarine, try using grapeseed oil in its place, as it has a very high smoking point. This method can also be used for very large beef roasts, pork roasts, etc. Had almost forgotten about this- thanks for the reminder, Kittencal! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      Cooking an 18 pound turkey was a breeze with this recipe. Rubbed with grapeseed oil and flipped it over after 1 hr and 15 minutes of cooking. Added some water half way through the first cooking stage. After the bird was flipped, more water really wasn't needed. Total cook time was 2.5 hours. Moist, tender meat, golden brown on the outside. I love Kittencal's recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      I've used this recipe a couple of times and the turkey came out perfect both times. I turned the breast down to begin with out of habit and then turned it over about half way through which gave it golden brown skin both times. I wonder if turning the breast down in the second half is for a self-basting method which seems to make sense. Has anyone tried it both ways and if so, how did it turn out?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Any recipe with the name Kittencal in it...you KNOW it has got to be GOOD! I had an 18 lb turkey. I followed the recipe almost to a "T" but because I had a bigger bird I had to make some adjustments. So, I baked as directed for the first hour and 15 minutes. Then I took the bird out and flipped it upside-down and put it back in for an hour and 15 minutes. When I took it out I flipped it back over (have to add: it was beautifully browned all over!) and stuck my digi meat thermometer in it while I got everything else prepared. When I was ready to carve the bird, the deepest part of the breast was 160 degrees F EXACTLY! LOL Perfect. The breast meat was tender and juicy. It was cooked all the way through. The skin was perfectly browned and crispy! And it was so nice to have turkey without cooking for 4 hours or more! Thanks for another winner, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      OMG, this recipe saved my Thanksgiving dinner--or at least kept me from having to postpone it several hours. Our rotisserie wasn't cooperating today, so we had to put the turkey in the oven, and it turned out so great! Used your brown sugar brine and so omitted the salt in this recipe, but I did use butter (we never have margarine) and it cooked in just about two hours--only half an hour after plans would've had the rotisserie turkey done. We covered the turkey with foil after 75 minutes to prevent scorching. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Wow! What a Christmas Day turkey! I've never done a turkey this way, but I was running out of time and found this recipe. It turned out great. Bad me--I did stuff it. That turned out fine too. I would emphasize adding water to the pan at step 13, even if it doesn't look like you need to when you turn it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      what a fantastic easy and quick way to cook turkey I know this will be great because I make your blasted chicken and that is the only way to make chicken, I'm going to try this soon, thank you Kitten, you have the best recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Awesome way to roast a turkey. I've used this recipe twice now for the two best turkeys I've ever had. I used half butter, half cooking oil as I didn't have margarine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Oh my gosh! I just made my first ever turkey using this recipe and it was WONDERFUL! I kept waiting to feel stressed out and to start screaming at everyone like my mother-in-law usually does, but this was the easiest thing ever. I didn't have a meat thermometer so I just cooked my 16lb bird for 2 hours 20 minutes and it came out great. Thank you so much, Kittencal, for this fantastic easy, stressfree recipe. I will be doing this every year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      I could not get a hold of a whole turkey in Italy this year for Thanksgiving, so I just used a few large pieces that I could get from the butcher (thigh, leg, and breast), but the method still worked very well. I rubbed the turkey with a combination of herbs, garlic, and onions that I added to the margarine and salt mixture and it was delicious. The water and juice left in the bottom of the pan mixed up very well for a gravy and overall it was a hit! Thanks for all the help!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      DH made this for Thanksgiving this year. WOW! This was by far the juiciest turkey I have ever had. The leftovers were even still moist! Everyone stood around questioning the method as it was being made. On the first tasting, all concerns ceased. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. Kittencal is a recipe goddess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      i dont have a subscription,but have followed your recipes for yrs.,if anyone knows zaar,they know all your recipes are reliable,you are in my opinion the BEST on zaar,and i love this recipe,and all your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      I thought this was the way everyone roasted turkey....Well everyone but my sister that is. She roasts hers at 350 and leaves it in for 6 hours. Holy dry turkey batman!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Blasted Rapid Roast 2-Hour Whole Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (5729 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 9019.0
     
    Calories from Fat 4520
    50%
    Total Fat 502.2 g
    772%
    Saturated Fat 131.7 g
    658%
    Cholesterol 3488.4 mg
    1162%
    Sodium 9058.6 mg
    377%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1048.5 g
    2097%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites