Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Best Juicy Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Juicy Whole Roasted Chicken

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2011

      Amazing recipe, i tried it said "best chicken i have ever ate" my BF laughed and then tried it and said "best chicken i have ever ate". I did not change a thing beside cooking a 4 lb chicken, I cooked it for 20 min at 450 degrees and then 40 min at 400, let it sit 15 min, and it was perfect. Amazing amazing amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Made for Kittencal cookathon. In memory of your dear husband...now in the company of Angels. I would give this 10 stars if I could...it makes such a gorgeous gravy and the chicken is flavourful and tender!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      This was so nice an juicy we ate like there was no tomorrow!! The family absolutely loves every Kittencal recipe we have tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      Made this last night with a few variations for my two boys and me. I added fresh Oregano, Rosemary and Sage from my garden and lime juice to the oil/butter mixture. I also cut up half a yellow onion in large slices and a half apple and added them to the cavity and inside the top layer skin. This made for a very juicy chicken. We all loved this recipe and will be making it again soon. :) Very Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      Great recipe! Will make again, soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      This is fabulous!! We absolutely loved the seasoning technique and consequent flavor. Outstanding. The chicken was nice and juicy, the gravy I made with the chicken broth and drippings was outstanding. I roasted the chicken breast side up because I love the breast skin to get crispy. I also increased the temp to 425 degrees during the last 20 minutes to get the crisp coating. Roasting potatoes on a separate cookie sheet worked really well with this recipe. Thanks, Carol, for a wonderful seasoning and technique!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Awsome!! As are all of your recipes that I have tried. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      Kittencal, you are totally awesome. Every recipe i have tried of yours has been a big hit. Thank you for all the pleasure you have given to our palete.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      DELICIOUS!! I love this recipe - It's so moist! I don't like onion, so I take a whole lemon, cut into quarters to stuff inside the chicken (excluding the onion & celery). DH loves it too. Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      This turned out great. Followed recipe exactly. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Oh boy! I am about to make this for the second time and just thinking about it has got me drooling! This is by far the most tender, flavorful, juicy roasted chicken I have ever attempted. Everyone raved for days about how awesome this dish is, hence why I am making it again! I don't know what I'd do without you and your recipes, Kittencal. Thanks for another winner!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      DIdn't used the lemon and stuffed the bird. Great flavored and tender enough to cut it with a fork!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Another absolutely wonderful recipe from Kittencal!!! They are all keepers!!! Made with a fresh chicken from the farmers market that was 7 lbs. Made with the onion and celery and garlic. Turned breast side down and roasted. Took foil off and turned breast side up to brown. Divine!!! The house smelled so amazing too!!! My husband said the best dinner ever again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Another winner, from our resident chef Kit...it was so yummy. The chicken was perfectly cooked, moist, juicy and tender. The gravy was too die for...so tasty. We enjoyed this served with mashed potatoes and peas and gravy...yummy. I will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing Kit...you rock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Great recipe! Really moist. This is the first whole chicken I cooked and it came out great. I didn't have celery so I left that out. And I used less butter than the recipe calls for. I didn't let it set overnight and it still turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This turned out quite nicely, it was simple, I had all spices and veggies on hand, and just had an over all good taste and feel too it! Im def adding this one to my faves and going to use it whenever I bake a whole chicken I have found at a good price (only when I buy whole chickens) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This was so delicious. I roasted 2 chickens and they were soooooooo tender and succulent. I was skeptical, but the seasonings were just perfect. I did soak my chicken in a basic salt water brine before following your recipe. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      This was the best whole chicken I have ever seasoned and roasted! I had a BIG roaster, over 7 pounds. I increased the seasonings, and next time I have one that big, I might add some herbs as well. Roasting it breast side down in broth made it the most tender, juicy meat I've ever had from my oven! And best of all, I had enough meat leftover to make a casserole with it! Thanks for the perfect way to roast a chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Perfect roast chicken. I will be using this recipe very often. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      Made this yesterday for supper. Turned out very tasty. I cooked mine in my crockpot all day. It fell off the bone. Thanks Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Juicy Whole Roasted Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (316 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.2
     
    Calories from Fat 414
    74%
    Total Fat 46.0 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 16.0 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 155.2 mg
    51%
    Sodium 255.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 31.5 g
    63%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites