Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Best Deep Dark Chocolate Layer Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Deep Dark Chocolate Layer Cake

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2012

      :( I was so excited to make this cake...Kittencal has some fantastic recipes...but this cake came out dry, dry, dry. It's very lightweight, dense, very firm and very crumbly. Something akin to an angel food cake. The batter LOOKED fantastic so I was really optimistic. I only cooked until a toothpick came out clean. I made the recipe as directed except for making homemade buttermilk and making two round 9" cakes instead of layering them. The icing is this cake's saving grace. It's a lot of cocoa powder and I had to add more cream to make it spreadable. I also only used 2 cups powdered sugar instead of 4 and it was plenty sweet (and stiff).

      My children, on the other hand, loved it and wanted more. For this reason I'm giving it 3 stars...though I don't think I'll be making it again. Flavor-wise, it was good, but I just couldn't get past the dry aftertaste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Perhaps I did something wrong, but mine was dry. It tasted good, but just not the moist cake I was looking for. My dad didn't seem to mind at all - it was his birthday cake and he was a happy man! :-) Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      I can't seem to get a 5 star review to work on this site right now......but that is what it is. For the life of me I can't understand how this cake could possibly turn out dry. I would suggest that you definitely use buttermilk (not regular full fat milk soured). I rarely give a 5 star review, especially for a chocolate cake and I think this is the first time. Good luck everyone that tries it........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Goodness! So caught up in lauding the cake I forgot to give it the five stars it deserves- sheesh, newbie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      wow. very nice! I made it using three 8 in pans, and it fit perfectly in them. I have not put it together yet, but am looking forward to the ooos and ahhhhs when I serve a 3 layer cake! I did the reg amount of icing, hope it is enough...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      You've done it again!!! :) Fabulous recipe!! I used a small amount of espresso in place of instant coffee and took out a bit of buttermilk, and I ran out of light brown sugar, so I used dark, but this recipe gets 2 thumbs up! My 18 month old helped me make this as her first birthday cake for daddy. I'll always love this cake as such a sweet memory (no pun intended)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Loved it! Made a couple of adjustments - only made a half cake (didn't want a whole cake sitting around calling to me!!) so I used one egg which worked out fine. Also, did not have instant coffee granules so I boiled down some brewed coffee until it was really strong and used about two tablespoons. Reduced the amount of buttermilk slightly to account for the additional liquid. Used just a can of store bought icing but cake was great! Best homemade cake I think I have ever made! Thanks for another winner, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      This recipe just didn't turn out right for me. It had an odd texture and an off taste. I did not make the icing so I cannot rate that part.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Great recipe and you are a great cook! Thanks for all of the wondeful recipes you share with you 'Zaar buddies!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      This is the best chocolate layer cake I've ever had! A lot of chocolate cakes don't taste chocolaty, but this was delicious! It really does taste like fudge. Very rich, so eating small slices are ideal (if you can hold back). Thank you KITTENCAL! I added a tsp. of instant coffee granules to the frosting too. As I frosted this scrumptious confection, it began to fall apart. I wonder if it would be easier to frost as a sheet cake?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Simply the best! I have been looking for a chocolate cake recipe like this and have tried countless recipes from this site, only to be disappointed time and time again, not because they weren't any good but because they were not what I was looking for, which is a dark and fudgy cake with a crumbly texture. After reading the reviews, I had to stay up to make this and it was worth it! I can't wait for my little one to have a taste tomorrow. Kittencal, this one's a winner, thanks so much for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      Such a great cake and easy too! My hubby made this for me as a birthday present, let me just say he does NOT cook, but this cake was honestly one of the best chocolate cakes I've had. It stayed moist for days! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Yum!! definitely easily as good as any bought from a coffee shop. I blew my diet and will no doubt have to be wrestled from eating the last piece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      First, I have to say this rating doesn't include the frosting, because I used a different one. That said, this cake is fabulous! It truly has a deep, rich flavor that isn't too sweet. If using 8 inch pans, there is even enough batter to make 3 layers!!!!! I used 1/3 of the recipe, cut it in half, and layered it with Heath ice cream softened, spread in the same 8 inch pan, and then frozen again, then topped with Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing. Heaven. Just Heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      IRRESITIBLY YUMMY!! I love the texture & the deep cocoa flavor of this cake. I could've easily eaten the entire bowl of frosting, all by myself, but I did share w/ the kids & they also loved this cake.The only change I made was I baked it in a 13x9x2 pan & I used Smart Balance in the frosting & it was wonderful.Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      This truly was deep, dark, and delicious! moist, too. I highly recommend it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe. Country Lady made this cake for my birthday luncheon! It is DELICIOUS! A very moist, rich, chocolate cake, definitely one I will keep in my recipe book. Thanks Kittencal! November 14/06 UPDATE: My son requested a dark chocolate cake with the German chocolate frosting (pecans, coconut etc..) for his recent birthday. I baked this cake and it was perfect! Truly a great chocolate cake recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      Everyone loved! Moist, light, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      Yummy cake! I made this for a birthday celebration for a group of friends and it was a big hit. I baked the cake the night before then finished it the next day. I subbed soured milk for the buttermilk and baked it in a in 9"x13" pan. I split the cake and sprinkled Chambord on the bottom half and then brushed the cake with warmed raspberry jam that had a couple of TBLS of Chambord added to it. Over this I added the filling from my Chocolate Cream Puff Ring #112573, which was also lightly spike with Chambord. After putting the top layer on I glazed it with more of the jam, then frosted the whole thing with the posted frosting (I really liked the frosting) I used only 3 cups of the powdered sugar and still had to add more cream. I found the cake to be a bit fragile when frosting but it looked lovely when done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Made this for my wife's birthday. Great recipe that doesn't need tweeking....however I couldn't resist adding three chopped squares of Baker's semi-sweet chocolate to the batter. Yummy, easy recipe. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Deep Dark Chocolate Layer Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 706.3
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    46%
    Total Fat 36.4 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 22.1 g
    110%
    Cholesterol 138.1 mg
    46%
    Sodium 635.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.8 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 67.6 g
    270%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites