44 Reviews

This is without doubt the best cream cheese frosting EVER!!!
I was in the middle of making it and realized I didn't have whipping cream, I didn't even have whole milk, so I used what I had, Lactaid skim milk and I did add a cup of Cool Whip...it was so delicious. The Cool Whip made it really creamy and cut the heaviness of the cream cheese and butter.
Not only did it taste wonderful, it piped out beautifully. Thank you so much for this recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
882639 December 15, 2010

I made the Coconut version of this frosting and all i can say is forget the cake just enjoy the frosting. It is the best ever made. Thank you so very much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QuentinandJosiah'smom December 23, 2010

OUTSTANDING frosting!!! I've tried cream cheese frostings before and they have always ended up runny, but this frosting held its shape beautifully and was so tasty!! I used this frosting to top Easy Red Velvet Cupcakes or Cake. I used Wilton's clear vanilla to keep the frosting white. Thanks Kitten for another homerun!! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve December 20, 2009

I am giving this recipe 4-stars for the version without the optional whipped topping. I wish I had stopped, and not added that ingredient as it tainted the icing with artificial flavoring. I ended up throwing out the icing. Next time I make it I will definitely omit the whipped topping.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo August 06, 2011

This was amazing and so delicious! I made it to frost another Kittencal recipe (pumpkin cupcakes) and it was just evil. I didn't do the extra creamy option and only had milk, but it still turned out fantastic. I'll never use another cream cheese frosting recipe again. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aznbbdoll November 23, 2010

Like some of the other reviewers, I also had to add over a cup of extra sugar to this, to achieve the desired consistency. At that level of modification, it's no longer true to the original recipe, so I don't understand how people can still rate it 5* after claiming such a drastic change. I rate this recipe 2* if made as is.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood February 15, 2012

This frosting turned out perfect for my red velvet cupcakes. One recipe was just right for swirled frosting for 24 cupcakes. The frosting set up nicely when refrigerated.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas July 31, 2011

Cream cheese frosting is and always has been my absolute favorite so I finally decided it was time to make my own (well with the help of a recipe of course). I tried this last week and was absolutely in love! SO GOOD! I frosted about 28 Red velvet cupcakes with this and had enough to do many more. The flavor was amazing. Maybe the best I have ever had! I served them at a girls night I had with some of my friends and they were gone by the next morning. Not to mention I have 3 requests to make this frosting over the next few weeks. If I didn't love it so much I'd object!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PtldGrl July 29, 2011

Great stuff! Loved the consistency and I can't wait to play around with flavors/extracts. Thanks for another perfect recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss May 19, 2011

Amazing frosting. I subbed some cocoa powder for a bit of the powdered sugar, and I did the extra creamy addition of Cool Whip (even though I normally never use the stuff). Used frosting to top mini devil's food cupcakes. Turned out fabulous!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carseatcrazy April 30, 2011
Kittencal's Best Cream Cheese Frosting (Extra Creamy Option)