Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Best Cream Cheese Frosting (Extra Creamy Option) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Cream Cheese Frosting (Extra Creamy Option)

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2010

      This is without doubt the best cream cheese frosting EVER!!!
      I was in the middle of making it and realized I didn't have whipping cream, I didn't even have whole milk, so I used what I had, Lactaid skim milk and I did add a cup of Cool Whip...it was so delicious. The Cool Whip made it really creamy and cut the heaviness of the cream cheese and butter.
      Not only did it taste wonderful, it piped out beautifully. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      I made the Coconut version of this frosting and all i can say is forget the cake just enjoy the frosting. It is the best ever made. Thank you so very much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      OUTSTANDING frosting!!! I've tried cream cheese frostings before and they have always ended up runny, but this frosting held its shape beautifully and was so tasty!! I used this frosting to top Easy Red Velvet Cupcakes or Cake. I used Wilton's clear vanilla to keep the frosting white. Thanks Kitten for another homerun!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      I am giving this recipe 4-stars for the version without the optional whipped topping. I wish I had stopped, and not added that ingredient as it tainted the icing with artificial flavoring. I ended up throwing out the icing. Next time I make it I will definitely omit the whipped topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This was amazing and so delicious! I made it to frost another Kittencal recipe (pumpkin cupcakes) and it was just evil. I didn't do the extra creamy option and only had milk, but it still turned out fantastic. I'll never use another cream cheese frosting recipe again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      This frosting turned out perfect for my red velvet cupcakes. One recipe was just right for swirled frosting for 24 cupcakes. The frosting set up nicely when refrigerated.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      Cream cheese frosting is and always has been my absolute favorite so I finally decided it was time to make my own (well with the help of a recipe of course). I tried this last week and was absolutely in love! SO GOOD! I frosted about 28 Red velvet cupcakes with this and had enough to do many more. The flavor was amazing. Maybe the best I have ever had! I served them at a girls night I had with some of my friends and they were gone by the next morning. Not to mention I have 3 requests to make this frosting over the next few weeks. If I didn't love it so much I'd object!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      Great stuff! Loved the consistency and I can't wait to play around with flavors/extracts. Thanks for another perfect recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      Amazing frosting. I subbed some cocoa powder for a bit of the powdered sugar, and I did the extra creamy addition of Cool Whip (even though I normally never use the stuff). Used frosting to top mini devil's food cupcakes. Turned out fabulous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      I absolutely love the flavor of this frosting with the extra creamy option..of course. Although I did have trouble getting it to a firm consistency and had to use more powder sugar than called for in the recipe. FLAVOR.....***** (5 stars) better than any other frosting I have ever had!!! Thanks Kittencal for yet another great recipe that is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      This is the best cream cheese frosting I've EVER made! Another winner, Kittencal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      I didn't want fluffy frosting and can't eat cool whip so I left it out. Tasted great, and looked pretty on my cupcakes. A little thin for my liking, but I mixed it by hand and I know that affects things like consistency.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This is hands down the BEST cream cheese frosting I have ever tasted. The texture is perfect...extreme creaminess. (I used the extra creamy option.) Not the over powering cream cheese taste that I usually run into. Seriously folks, I am no fan of cream cheese frosting, but this frosting has changed that!!Thank you so much for posting this! It went perfect with my Devilish Devil's Food Cake!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      this is awesome. nice and creamy for the home made pumpkin bread. i did not use the cool whip and it was still great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      This is a delicious tasting frosting. Kittencal recommended it for Kittencal's White Cake and it was perfect. I probably added about an additional cup of sifted confectioner's sugar to get it to the correct consistency. Once I was at that point there was no need for me to add Cool Whip frozen whipped topping. Everyone who ate the cake commented on how delicious the frosting was.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Excellent Icing!!! This recipe is a keeper!!!!! Can control how sweet the cake is by adding the powdered sugar bits at a time - also dont skip the cool-whip - i also added it bits at a time - you can control how rich or light you want the icing to be!!! Excellent Excellent Recipe!!! Thanks again Kittencal ! You are the greatest!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      This was just what I needed for my Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet Cake. I love that I had control over the sweetness and texture. I didn't want the frosting very sweet because I was afraid it would compete with the subtle flavor of the cake, so I decreased the sugar by almost a cup and used 1.5 cups of Cool Whip. It was perfect. Thanks for another great one Kitten!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      What a wonderful cream cheese frosting! Went perfectly with Banana Cake; 1.5c was plenty to frost a two-layer 9x5 cake, with frosting in between layers and all the way around (probably woulda been extra if I could have kept my fingers out of it!). I did add a bit more sugar to mine to get a heavier frosting. I also subbed 1/3 reduced-fat cream cheese without any problems at all. Thank you Kit for a wonderful frosting for my cake!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Delicious, light & creamy... this is a terrific frosting! I made it to go on a vanilla cake and topped it with sliced strawberries in sugar syrup. What a wonderful cake!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Made this to frost a red velvet cake. As one other reviewer said, it was better than the cake! Used about 1 and 1/2 cups Extra Creamy Cool Whip. It decreased the density of the cream cheese and really increased the amount of frosting. Had enough to generously ice an 8" two layer cake with thick layers of frosting (hate when I have to skimp). Still had some left for my own personal treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Cream Cheese Frosting (Extra Creamy Option)

    Serving Size: 1 (875 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1117.4
     
    Calories from Fat 542
    48%
    Total Fat 60.3 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 36.3 g
    181%
    Cholesterol 178.3 mg
    59%
    Sodium 520.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 143.4 g
    47%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 139.7 g
    559%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites