Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option)

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2008

      Great! My first time making homemade stock and it was so easy! I wish I'd had a larger stockpot, though, since I only ended up with enough stock for one batch of soup - but it was worth it! I made Chicken Noodle Soup with the stock and it was really yummy. Thanks, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Used a turkey breast carcass. The house smelled fabulous as this simmered overnight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      The stock is beautiful. I used the carcass and a few bits and pieces from a leftover chicken. It's leaps and bounds better than store bought stock. I did the crock pot option. I don't think that I am going to do that again next time. I was so sick of washing dishes from going back and forth to the cooktop. Also, I had to pour off quite a bit from my cookware to my crockpot to make it all fit. I felt that I could have gotten more out of my stoveware. But,that will vary with everyone depending on how big your pot is. I poured the stock in 1 cup and 2 cup incriments into platic ziploc sandwich bags and froze flat in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Great stock, Kittencal. I used the carcass from a leftover roast chicken and a chicken frame from the butchers which I'd cooked briefly to colour and ended up with just over 3 litres of stock. A great basic recipe which will be made again and again. The only change I'll be making is to add a leek to the pot as well since I think it adds a wee bit more depth of flavour. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      This recipe gets max points because it extracts maximum flavor from ingredients in any pantry. There just is no reason not to buy a celery, carrot, onion and garlic with every chicken you buy, for that day you're around the house vegging out when you can be making an outstanding base for easy gravies and soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      I loved the ease of the recipe and the stock was wonderful. I just was unsure about step #9 where it stated "after the 3 hours..." however step 7 stated to cook for 5 to 6 hours. I ended up cooking for 5 hours, and just turning off the heat to let it cool before the refrigeration step. I cannot thank you enough for this recipe. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Our church held a Thanksgiving dinner for our small community, served turkey and all the stuff that goes with it. Anyway, I took home all of the leftovers and carcasses, put in freezer until I was ready to make this. It turned out really good. I used it in Chicken Noodle soup this weekend. Thanks Kitten, it's much better than the stuff you get in the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Love this method - the crock pot simmers the stock slowly and I like the flavour. Thanks for the tip about boiling and skimming on the stove first - and thanks atlfitgirl for the tip to use the upside-down steamer to make it easier to skim the broth when the pot is so full!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      Kitten, I was cleaning out my freezer today and found a bunch of chicken odds and ends... neckbones, wing tips, backbones, you get the picture! I always buy whole chickens at the market since they are so much cheaper and I butcher them myself to impress my BF with my knife skills! :) I decided to make stock and realized I never reviewed this recipe which I have used at least a couple dozen times... This makes the best stock in the world. Leaving the skin on the onions is the key to a deep colored stock. I had run out of my stock once and had to use canned stock and it is just not the same!!! I make it as written...it needs no tinkering... so good! I like to put a collapsable vegetable steamer upside down after I have added all the ingredients to the pot. Once the pot has started to boil, this makes it soooooo much easier to skim off the fat and scum that has floated to the top of the water. Then I remove the steamer and allow the stock to simmer. I love making this stock in the fall and winter months, since it fills my house with a mouth watering aroma! Thanks for another keeper for life!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      KITTENCAL I made this last week and it turned out fantastic!! The only change I had was to add a little ginger, but everything else was the same. I have frozen that batch, but last night I made another batch with left over carcass from roast chickens I had to cook, I used your recipe again, but using the roast chicken carcass instead of the chicken pieces, and it tastes so good, the flavour and smell is so intense. Well seeing I had 5 chickens to cook, I thought what the heck !! Nothing ventured ... nothing gained.....!!! And it worked just fine and dandy !! Great recipe KITTENCAL....Thanks !! Now I am off to make your soup with this stock !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      Made this today (my supposed day of relaxation). Smelt wonderful! I used ginger instead of garlic and no salt. I boiled it on my stovetop for about 4 hours and left the stuff in it for 8 hours. The strained stock is in my fridge right now and I can't wait to use it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Have made this twice, now, and what I love the most is how easy it is to get started. I use a whole chicken so I don't even have to mess with cutting it up. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Okay, Susie Homemaker I am not! LOL! However this recipe is so easy to follow, even I did it. I did go with the crockpot method, using the carcasses of 2 chickens I roasted. I have 8 cups of rich flavorful stock! It was so easy, I have just started the 2nd batch, using the last of my 2 chicken carcasses (I was planning on freezing them for later use, but really got into making this stock)and hope to have at least 8 more cups of stock. I will probably have to borrow some space in my neighbor's freezer! Thanks KittenCal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      I used this to make turkey stock before Thanksgiving so I could make gravy ahead of time. (I hate the last minute gravy-making panic as it is, and I was going to be cooking in someone else's kitchen!!) It turned out perfectly. I did add parsley, bay leaf, thyme, and fresh sage, but that was because I know I use that when I roast the turkey. And for the future, you've inspired me to save all those chicken pieces I usually toss!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      This is a great and versatile recipe! I used a chicken carcass with the wings, one leg, and one thigh. I also added a bay leaf. At the end of the simmer I strained it and then I let it cool and put it in the fridge overnight, after which I removed the fat. I placed 1 cup of stock in 6 separate ziplocs, then the other 6 cups into a large ziploc for soup I'm making later in the week. It will be so nice to have that extra stock at hand instead of having to use the notoriously bland and salty canned kind. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      I have made this lots of times now, with left over chicken carcass and also with chicken wings bought especially. My butcher also gives me a chicken carcass for free if I ask him, it is usually left overs from legs and breast meat, meaning it still has it's wings and underside intact - how good is that? Ask your butcher he may do the same ;-) Takes me 5 mins to put together and the smell around the house is wonderful. I have started to put mine into the crockpot overnight / during the day for 7 hours and continue with step 7 as per recipe. An absolute winner, thanks kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      Oh, I could kiss you!!! This was really easy to make with a chicken carcass I had leftover from Roast Chicken With Italian Seasonings Roast Chicken With Italian Seasonings (that bird could do a lot of stuff). Anyway, the flavor was way better then those cans of low-sodium chicken broth I had been getting. Well, not anymore. I stored the stock in the freezer in 14oz containers which is the same amount for one of those cans. So glad to get real chicken flavor into my recipes. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      I used a rotisserie chicken carcass to make this broth and it turned out great! I especially liked how easy it was to throw it all together - no peeling, no chopping. I think it took me a total of five minutes to get it all in the pot. I used this stock for Mizz Nezz's Chicken Vegetable Soup and I can easily say that it was the best homemade chicken soup I have ever made - better than my mom's even! Sorry, mom! Thanks, Kittencal - I will be doing this with all of my chickens from now on, and I'll probably try it after Thanksgiving next year. Guess I'll need a bigger pot, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      I had a very dead chicken in the freezer - bought at a drop dead price several months ago - I thought it looked very sad and decided that a good rich chicken stock would be perfect to make this chickie smile - Your recipe makes a wonderful stock- I followed it to the letter and the result is 6 quarts of beautiful stock with cicken bits in it for truely pennies - Into the freezer Thanks Kittencal I'll be thinking of you on many a cold rainy/snowy day as I make this into many gourmet soups

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      Excellent taste ....... easy to make ........ economical too! I used the carcass from our Thanksgiving turkey. I used some of this stock to make your Cream of Tomato Soup (#118258), froze some in 1 cup containers, finished it off in an ice cube tray as per Frozen Bouillon Cubes (Frozen Bouillon Cubes). I'd call that a triple header (LOL) ....thanx Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option)

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.0
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    56%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 69.0 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1245.8 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 17.9 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites