Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option)

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2009

      So simple, so amazing. I use one whole chicken, except for the breasts which I remove and roast. After the broth is done, I use the dark meat from the chicken in another recipe that week (e.g., chicken nachos). If I want to make chicken noodle soup with the broth, I chop up and add back in the breast meat, along with about a cup of sliced carrots, a half a cup celery and two cups cooked noodles. Otherwise, I store this in 15oz increments in the freezer. No more canned broth for my family - thank you Kittencal!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2014

      I made a batch of stock today, and just for the heck of it, I decided to look at how other people made theirs, low and behold, there's Kitten, (who's recipes I always ADORE!) with a stock recipe that is next to exactly like my own! I like to save ends and pieces of veggies and herbs that would normally get thrown away, I just keep them in a plastic bag in the freezer. When I'm through taking the meat off a rotisserie chicken from Costco I throw those bones into the freezer as well. The only thing I do differently from Kitten's recipe is letting it sit in the fridge overnight. Once everything has simmered for five or six hours, I take out the big pieces and pour the rest through cheese cloth. After a day in the fridge I skim off all the fat that rises and thickens on the top, and I have the most wonderful stuff for tons of recipes on earth! This batch had a red pepper that was going a little soft, some parsley, and cilantro, a couple of old leaves of Kale, along with the carrots, onion, and celery. I also like to add hot pepper flakes, oregano, bay, and basil. This is so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      Great recipe! I saved onion and garlic skins, the leaves from celery tops and parsley stems for a couple of days beforehand, and added those to the recipe along with the recipe ingredients. I didn't have enough chicken bones and skin saved, so I also put in 4.5 lbs. of chicken necks. I had poached some chicken breasts a couple of days before I made the stock, so I saved the poaching water to use in this recipe. The stock turned out great! I can't wait to use it in my ham and white bean soup and for my Thanksgiving stuffing. Another great recipe, KC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Don't be a dummy like me and put the crock pot on the stovetop!!! Your crock will explode, as I found out. Boil in a stock pot and trasnfer! I also take the skin off because I think it's gross to handle after it's been boiled. Awesome broth though, best ever :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Easy, economical, and much better than canned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      I've made this several times and the stock turned out great! However I never bring the water to a full boil because I've read that doing so allows the solids to break down and make your stock cloudy. I also like to add a big bunch of fresh parsley.I like paring this with "Kosher Perfect Matzo Balls"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Turned out great. Going to reheat and put into the freezer. I will use for soups and gravies. DH was fishing out the garlic to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      This made an excellent stock, I normally do not add so much garlic but the result is terrific! Really awesome recipe, (as usual) from Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      Made a batch of this last night, it was terrific! It was easy to make and tasted great in the kale bean soup I made. My quantities were a little different based on what I had - a little over 2lbs of chicken drumsticks, 2 carrots, 2 celery sticks, 1 large onion and a few more peppercorns. I also threw in a sprig of fresh thyme and covered it with enough water to fit into my 6qt cooker. Yield was about 8 cups. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      yummy Kitten. I used a whole cut up chicken and simmered it. The result, great chicken stock. I used both the stock and chicken for some yummy Mexican Chicken Soup. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      WOW! So simple, so delish! My whole house has been sick, and I made a wonderful chicken soup with the stock. Everyone agreed it was so much better than canned, and it made everyone feel so much better. Even the super fab smelling steam in the kitchen seemed to help everyone breathe better! Thanks for a keeper - again! I love all of your recipes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I have been looking for a recipe like this because I use chicken broth so often and there is nothing like homemade, the problem is I cant seem to make enough of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      This was my first attempt at making stock, I ususally use bullion cubes or paste. I used a few turkey breast carcasses and the crock pot method...didn't have a stove pot big enough for the job! I made the most delicious turkey & rice soup from this. My family couldn't stop saying mmm...the flavor is so good...mmm...wow this is so great...mmm...we are so spoiled!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Made this a few months ago for some yummy matzo ball soup ( since my BF and I had a cold) I didn't have 4 lbs of chicken bones, I think it was 2.5lbs but this was still way better then store bought. I let this sit over night on warm in the crockpot and chill until mid day and we had an amazing early weekend soup. Thank you so much for YET another great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Tried this out yesterday and it worked perfectly. I did not use crockpot, just did it on the stove. My first time making stock and will not be my last. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      This was sooo easy, and was soo good, thanks for showing me how to make my own, not only is it much better, but the price in the store is outrageous any more, so saves me lots of $$$$ which is so important in this economy right now !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Kittencal, once again you've exceeded expectations. I've tried to make stock before and always found it bland. Followed your recipe to a T and it is incredible. Unbelievable. Delicious doesn't even begin to describe it. It looks like a mess, it takes quite a long time, but there's not a lot of work involved, really. I froze all of it in 2 cup containers (after it was cooled) and have already used one container to make couscous, and what can I say? It makes the house smell terrific when it's cooking, too. I am going to try your beef stock next and expect nothing less than I've achieved using all of your other recipes. You are a gift. - Mary

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Yummy!!! The only drawback for me, as a kitchen novice, was that I made a huuuuuge mess. Straining & bagging in sandwich baggies to freeze & picking meat off bones. . . well, I have chicken bits all over. Whoopsie. Regardless, it smelled heavenly cooking & of course tasted great. I hacked up a fresh chicken carcass, used pepper instead of peppercorns, added a leek, and had to sub baby carrots for regular ones. I froze about 6 bags in 16oz sizes! After picking out the chicken and removing the meat, I used a little stock, half the meat, and the leftover veggies, plus some potatoes & extra celery & a leek to make a chicken stew. My friend & her 3 yr old son loved that, too! Very versatile recipe, very yummy, but if you're clumsy like me: very messy! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      I could not be more pleased with how this turned out. It was time-consuming but not difficult. I ended up with about 2 quarts of chicken stock, which went into plastic freezer bags in 1- and 2-cup sizes, plus 2 ice cube trays full. I made chicken soup with some of the chicken and the rest of the chicken meat went to make chicken salad for sandwiches. I used chicken legs and thighs because they were on sale. The house has smelled wonderful for the past 2 days! Thank you, Kittencal, for a great recipe! - Carrie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      I add a little Wild Turkey Bourbon to my chicken or turkey stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option)

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.0
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    56%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 69.0 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1245.8 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 17.9 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites