62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Once I have my Chicken carcass before I make the broth I throw the bones in the oven on a baking sheet at 400 and roast them again for an hour. It dries them out, draws out the flavor and carmelizes them (I know, opposite to when you are cooking the chicken). I then use the darkened bones to makes a really flavorful dark broth or stock. Try it!!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa Robinson December 07, 2009

I just realized I have not given my review on this. It is my third time making it and it is absolutely delicious. This time I used 4 lbs of pieces of chicken instead of the whole chicken. I made this batch to make my won ton soup. To me the best won ton soup I have had is from a restaurant in Quebec and when I use to go so often theres and the last time I was there I asked the cook how they made their broth and it was basically the same as yours Kitten but they added a ham bone to simmer with the stock. So this time I tried it (well actually it was a smoked ham hock) and I have to say it was exceptional. I made the wontons the next day for the soup and it tasted so much like theirs I was amazed. It just needed a bit more salt. I just love it. So thanks again Kitten. I froze the broth before I could take any pics so I will take a pic the next batch.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny February 24, 2010

Well this is the best chicken stock you could ever want to pass the palate.. I made per recipe and the taste is out of this world.. dh said to buy all the chicken backs,wings, and whatever other parts I need. He doesn't want that can stuff again, kitten you truly have a god given gift for creating recipes. Thank you so much for sharing them. Nita

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl February 20, 2010

Why oh why have I been making stock on the stovetop all these years? Followed the recipe pretty closely and ended up with the most gorgeous and tasty stock I have ever made. Can't wait to make some homemade soup with it. The color was so dark and golden and the flavor complex and layered. Really exceptional stock. Thanks for the excellent recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheri January 26, 2010

Perfect. I used 4 1/2 lbs. of chicken thighs and legs, bone and skin on. I ended up with about 7 quarts of broth. I'll never buy canned again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WillsMommy January 02, 2011

I made this using a big bag of chicken legs bones. Nice and easy to do and it turned out great. Now I have broth to make some wonderful chicken soup. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda October 30, 2010

Oh man is this great!! Mine is dark, and rich. I will never buy canned broth again! It was so simple, I used one chicken carcass that I had stored in my freezer just for this, and one whole rotissere chicken. everything else was the same. Oh, and I have been saving my mushroom stems for a while too, so I threw those in. Amazing yet again Kitten =]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kendra in So Cal October 21, 2010

This is by far the best stock I have ever made. I used a broiled chicken that my family had for dinner last weekend including all of the extra meat, made the stock, and let it sit in the fridge for several days. Today I am making soup and it is the best soup I have ever made. Thanks so much for a fabulous recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus May 31, 2010

All good thing come to those who wait. Long prep time but,....O-so worth it! If you don't want to wait just buy a can at the store, but why are you looking at this recipe anyway? MMM GOOD!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Road Cookin Dawg March 12, 2010

I currently have this simmering on my stove, and the whole house smells wonderful. I've used this recipe many times and love it. However, I now freeze my carrot shavings, celery tops, onion skins + ends, leek tops, garlic skins, etc. and toss those right into the pot along with chicken backs. I've done this several times and the stock always comes out different, yet delicious. Sometimes I do strain a second time. I use this for soups, rice, stews and just about anything else I can think of. One of my friends now wants to swap some of her garden vegetables for this stock, it's so wonderfull! Kittencal, you've done it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJF in SF March 22, 2009
Kittencal's Best Chicken Stock/Broth (Crock Pot Option)