Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-55 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2008

      Oh My Goodness! This was the best turkey I have ever had! All I did in the roasting was put a little rosemary in the cavity, pour some chicken stock in the bottom of the pan and baste it with butter, olive oil and the pan drippings. My daughter-in-law said she is not a "turkey person" but she loved this. Thank you so much for posting another one of your wonderful recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      I brined a turkey for the first time using the Brown Sugar Turkey Brine, and it was without a doubt the BEST turkey my family has ever had! So juicy and full of flavor. Totally worth the extra effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Great brine used along with your turkey cooking method and we had a great meal! I think the leftover turkey really shines that it was brined vs. not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      First time I've ever "brined" a turkey, so I have nothing to compare this recipe to, but, I will look no further because my turkey was the most moist, juiciest ever! The difference between brining and not brining is tremendous, and I won't cook a turkey without using this technique/recipe ever again. I followed the recipe exactly and after the rinse/pat dry, I seasoned the bird lightly with mesquite rub, and put a couple of tabs of butter between the skin and meat of breast. Just delicious, and the brine left no residual flavors that we could detect (I was concerned that it would be salty-it was not). Just tender and moist. Yummy. Thank you so much for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Unbelievable! Absolutely the best turkey I've ever had in my life. Coming from a long family history of tasteless, cardboard turkey I can assure you it not only softens the turkey and adds juciness but without a doubt adds flavor! This brine has the perfect mix of flavors that seem to soak into the turkey and yet soften it as well. I make my husband be honest with me whenever I make a meal because if it turns out bad it only makes me do better next time. My husband almost fainted when he tried this turkey. I kept asking him "what can I improve?" and he kept repeating "absolutely nothing" with a shocked look on his face! Kit, I would be a fool to prepare my turkey any other way. To all of you reading this.. please give it a try, you won't be sorry, it's worth the effort without a sliver of a doubt unless you prefer the tasteless, cardboard version!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      It didn't really change the flavor of the turkey, but it was so moist! I also cooked it for three hours in a roaster breast-side down. It helped keep all the moisture on the breasts where I wanted it. My father-in-law said it was the best turkey he had ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      This made perfectly perfect turkey! I used sea salt and prayed it would work, and it did. I also used black pepper, just dumped some in and I put garlic powder in it because I didn't have clove garlic. Five of us and two lab mutts ate half a 21 pound turkey. So SO good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This is PERFECT. I loved and made it with your roasted turkey and turkey gravy recipes. You truly are a magnificent resource here at Recipezaar! I love your taste in food! The flavor for the turkey was so delicious and the turkey was incredibly moist. Thank you Carol!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      This will be the second year I have used this recipe. I omit the garlic, add a fresh onion, fresh herbs and white worcestershire sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      We thought this was pretty good...but I think I discovered through this recipe that I'm not a huge fan of worchestershire sauce. Next time, I'll try it without because it seemed too overpowering for me, but that's just a personal preference. I did like the combination of the other ingredients though and plan to make this again. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      Oh my gosh what can I say, but this is the best turkey I ever made! I don't know what I was thinking all these years not brining my turkey. I know from now on I will brine my turkey. The turkey was so moist and tasted great! My inlaws said they will even brine there turkey next time, it was that great! Thanks for a keeper of a recipe and making our holiday dinner extra special. Thanks KITTENCAL....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      This was the best turkey I ever made in 35 years. The family raved about it! Here's a hint. A good container to use to brine the turkey is one of those large round plastic water coolers with the pour spout on the bottom. Like the ones they use on constructions sites. They are pretty inexpensive and easy to clean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      Used this brine, but omitted the garlic. After removing from the brine I rinsed and dried the bird then covered with a mustard paste. The guests loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      This worked so well! I followed the directions exactly (except I added some thyme to the liquid), and marinated the turkey overnight in a large ice chest. Before putting it in the oven, I mixed some thyme in with some softened butter, then spread it under the skin of the breast. The turkey came out moist and flavorful, even though it was overcooked a little. My kids said it was the best one they had ever tasted! I used the drippings for gravy without any problems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      We all loved it. I forgot and used the pan drippings to make some of the saltiest gravy ever made by man again this year, but Mom reminded me so we chucked it and started over. :) The turkey's great, but the drippings aren't usable for gravy. I'm completely converted to brining though, and tell everybody to do the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine

    Serving Size: 1 (13412 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.2
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    38%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 3651.1 mg
    152%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes