Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2010

      Brined our 14 pounder for about 20 hours and it was amazing!!! I continued with Kittencal's Perfect Roasted Whole Turkey (Great for Beginners) for roasting the turkey. This turkey was the juiciest turkey we have every had. My husband who swears by frying was also impressed and said we can skip frying next year for this method. We were impressed further when we ate leftovers today and they were still juicy cold right out of the fridge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Amazing, amazing, amazing! Would give this six stars if I could! Have used this recipe for the last 3 years and wouldn't change a thing! Thanks so much for sharing this AMAZING recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      I tried this brine recipe this year and it turned out great. I only used half of the brine because I was only cooking an 8 # turkey. I'm holding on to the other gallon for the next time I cook a whole chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Sea salt is a good substitute for kosher salt. Still has no impurities, like kosher. Definitely don't use table salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      I've used this brine a few years now--I love how simple and delicious the turkey tastes! I've used it on turkeys I've cooked on the rotisserie and on this year's turkey, which I roasted in the oven using Kittencal's 2-hour quick turkey roast recipe. Mmmmm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I have been known for my turkeys but I will say this brine is the best I have used and the guests could wait for it to hit the table they thought they could just get a taste while I was carving. By the time I put it on the table 2 of them had no room for dinner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      This was our first time brining a turkey and we are total converts. It created the most amazing, moist turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      This was a fantastic brine and we will be using this every time !!! I included 1 1/2 bottles of white wine and topped up with water to the 2 gallon mark. My 12 lb turkey went into a 5 gallon bucket and covered it with brine. I then put the 5 gallon bucket into a picnic cooler and surrounded the bucket with ice. Worked fabulously. There were too many flavours happening in the dinner to properly appreciate the turkey. Had some cold turkey the next day and the flavours were definitely there. Absolutely fabulous !!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Great brine thanks! I also followed your recipe for the roast turkey and rated that as well. The kosher salt was completly sold out (the night before Thanksgiving ha) so I used tenderizing salt instead and it worked great! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This was THE BEST turkey I have ever made thanks to this brining. If you want a turkey moist and more delicious than you have ever made, this is the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I'm already trying to get my Thanksgiving menu together and realized I didn't rate this recipe! I used it last year. It made the meat sooo moist! Thanks for sharing! I am looking forward to November already!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Easy and Exceptional! This was so moist, the leftovers were moist days later. This is clearly the best turkey we have ever had! I will not have turkey any other way. I used an 18 lb. turkey and it did fit with the brine in my largest soup po; I could even get the lid on. Rave reviews from everyone attending! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I am very grateful that you are on recipezaar because I don't know what I would do w/out your entries! My turkey came out perfect and I thouroughly enjoyed the white meat :0) I didn't have a rack so I just used one of those large tins from the store. Also I rubbed butter and seasoning all over and added a little cxn broth in the bottom and covered the turkey w/ foil. For the last hour and half I roasted the turkey uncovered and basted it every 30 just in case. My turkey was so wonderful and if I can do it, anyone else reading this can do it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I have cooked turkey for ever and just decided this year to see what the fuss is all about when brining a turkey. WOW. I smoked two 7lb turkey breasts and it was the best turkey I have ever had. The only change I made was to cut up a couple of oranges just because it sounded good. I really did not taste much flavor from the brine, but it made my turkey as moist as ever. The next day it was still juicy and when I say juicy, you could squeeze out the juice if you wanted! I will never do a turkey any other way again. Quick note: usually everbody eats just the breast and you are left with a messy pile of bones and thighs after the aftermath of Thanksgiving. I like dark meat, but when it comes to Thanksgiving dinner, a 7 lb Turkey breast was the best idea ever. They are cheap and so much easier to deal with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Our turkey was so moist, thanks so much for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Oh My Goodness! This was the best turkey I have ever had! All I did in the roasting was put a little rosemary in the cavity, pour some chicken stock in the bottom of the pan and baste it with butter, olive oil and the pan drippings. My daughter-in-law said she is not a "turkey person" but she loved this. Thank you so much for posting another one of your wonderful recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I made half a recipe to brine a bone-in tukey breast. The turkey was the star of the meal, juicy, tender, practically melt in your mouth - made people forget the potato disaster even :)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      This was a awesome brine! I doubled the brine and put it in a large cooler that we have for soda drinks and put 2 bags of ice on top of the turkey to brine over night. Flavor was wonderful and the turkey was so moist and tender. This will be a keeper for the coming Thanksgiving dinners :) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      I brined a turkey for the first time using the Brown Sugar Turkey Brine, and it was without a doubt the BEST turkey my family has ever had! So juicy and full of flavor. Totally worth the extra effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Great brine used along with your turkey cooking method and we had a great meal! I think the leftover turkey really shines that it was brined vs. not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine

    Serving Size: 1 (13412 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.2
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    38%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 3651.1 mg
    152%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites