57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a fantastic brine and we will be using this every time !!! I included 1 1/2 bottles of white wine and topped up with water to the 2 gallon mark. My 12 lb turkey went into a 5 gallon bucket and covered it with brine. I then put the 5 gallon bucket into a picnic cooler and surrounded the bucket with ice. Worked fabulously. There were too many flavours happening in the dinner to properly appreciate the turkey. Had some cold turkey the next day and the flavours were definitely there. Absolutely fabulous !!! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pond Lady December 25, 2009

Wow, this is great. We cut the recipe in half, and used it on a turkey breast rather than a whole turkey. We also did it on the rotissere on the gas grill. Browned up nice; and the 7-8 pound breast took about 1 1/2 hours with medium heat. So juicy! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potatohead November 29, 2009

Easy and Exceptional! This was so moist, the leftovers were moist days later. This is clearly the best turkey we have ever had! I will not have turkey any other way. I used an 18 lb. turkey and it did fit with the brine in my largest soup po; I could even get the lid on. Rave reviews from everyone attending! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauraram.z December 16, 2008

I have cooked turkey for ever and just decided this year to see what the fuss is all about when brining a turkey. WOW. I smoked two 7lb turkey breasts and it was the best turkey I have ever had. The only change I made was to cut up a couple of oranges just because it sounded good. I really did not taste much flavor from the brine, but it made my turkey as moist as ever. The next day it was still juicy and when I say juicy, you could squeeze out the juice if you wanted! I will never do a turkey any other way again. Quick note: usually everbody eats just the breast and you are left with a messy pile of bones and thighs after the aftermath of Thanksgiving. I like dark meat, but when it comes to Thanksgiving dinner, a 7 lb Turkey breast was the best idea ever. They are cheap and so much easier to deal with!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rennug November 28, 2008

I made half a recipe to brine a bone-in tukey breast. The turkey was the star of the meal, juicy, tender, practically melt in your mouth - made people forget the potato disaster even :)!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos November 28, 2008

This was a awesome brine! I doubled the brine and put it in a large cooler that we have for soda drinks and put 2 bags of ice on top of the turkey to brine over night. Flavor was wonderful and the turkey was so moist and tender. This will be a keeper for the coming Thanksgiving dinners :) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. November 27, 2008

This brine, plus Kittencal's roast turkey directions (#199612), has led to a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner for three years in a row. I brine a 20 - 22 pound bird in a 5 gallon Home Depot bucket for about 18 hours and it's always been tasty and moist after cooking. Highly recommended!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brianm221 January 09, 2015

Simple, without a lot of fancy ingredients made for a moist and flavorful turkey. We had a 22 pound turkey and after brining 24 hours, smoked on the smoker and the results couldn't have been better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 December 02, 2014

This brine made the best turkey that I have ever made or eaten! 5 Stars all the way! I have been brining turkey for the last 4 Thanksgivings and I have always liked brined turkey better than a regular roasted turkey, but with this brine I LOVED the turkey. I used the recipe exactly as written and added a 24 pound turkey. There was enough brine to cover the whole thing. I then baked my turkey using your recipe for Kittencal's Perfect Roasted Whole Turkey (Great for Beginners). Thank you for both wonderful recipes! Both are winners in my book!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely November 29, 2014
Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine