Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2011

      I never used Brine before, this made the best Turkey ever, so moist and tender. I also used your Turkey recipe with this. It turned out to be the best Turkey I ever made. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      We used this brine with a few additions on an 18 pound turkey and it came out marvelous! We added a couple of tablespoons of chopped fresh ginger and 2 bayleaves. We cook our turkeys a day ahead, slice, and reheat in the crockpot on Thanksgiving day for ease in serving. My DH just finished slicing it, and I can't stop nibbling on it; it's so moist and flavorful. One word of warning, however. We failed to rinse the turkey after removing from the brine and you can really taste the salt. So don't omit this step if you're concerned about the salt intake. We will be sure to use a brine from now on for a moist, flavorful turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      We used this brine on a 15 lb turkey. It worked out OK but I really couldn't distinguish the taste of the brown sugar and garlic. I cut the recipe in half and placed the turkey in a cooking bag to sit for 2 days. I also found that when using a brine, the turkey cooked alot faster...so next time, I will cut my cooking time down by at least 30 minutes. Sorry Kitten...but I think I will go back to your buttermilk brine next time...that is my all time favorite!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      I used Kittencal's brining recipe and her roasted turkey recipe for Thanksgiving and it was an absolute hit! It was hand's down the BEST turkey I've ever cooked or eaten!!! I've never cared for white meat until now - it was always too dry. Not so with these two recipes! My Christmas Eve turkey is in Kittencal's brining recipe right now. I'm so thrilled that you shared your turkey recipes and personally want to thank you Kittencal! P.S. I'm now a dedicated follower!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      I made my turkey this way for Thanksgiving this year and it was the best we have ever had. Very moist and wonderful flavor. I will not make a turkey again without using this brine. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Brined my bird for 48 hours, then used a mild injectable marinade... The turkey was falling part juicy, full of flavour, and earned rave reviews. Luckily, I live in the frozen tundra of the UP of Michigan, so my only issue with leaving the bucket on the porch is that it got cold enough to freeze the brine to slush!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Brined our 14 pounder for about 20 hours and it was amazing!!! I continued with Kittencal's Perfect Roasted Whole Turkey (Great for Beginners) for roasting the turkey. This turkey was the juiciest turkey we have every had. My husband who swears by frying was also impressed and said we can skip frying next year for this method. We were impressed further when we ate leftovers today and they were still juicy cold right out of the fridge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Amazing, amazing, amazing! Would give this six stars if I could! Have used this recipe for the last 3 years and wouldn't change a thing! Thanks so much for sharing this AMAZING recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      I tried this brine recipe this year and it turned out great. I only used half of the brine because I was only cooking an 8 # turkey. I'm holding on to the other gallon for the next time I cook a whole chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Sea salt is a good substitute for kosher salt. Still has no impurities, like kosher. Definitely don't use table salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      I've used this brine a few years now--I love how simple and delicious the turkey tastes! I've used it on turkeys I've cooked on the rotisserie and on this year's turkey, which I roasted in the oven using Kittencal's 2-hour quick turkey roast recipe. Mmmmm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I have been known for my turkeys but I will say this brine is the best I have used and the guests could wait for it to hit the table they thought they could just get a taste while I was carving. By the time I put it on the table 2 of them had no room for dinner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Great brine thanks! I also followed your recipe for the roast turkey and rated that as well. The kosher salt was completly sold out (the night before Thanksgiving ha) so I used tenderizing salt instead and it worked great! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This was THE BEST turkey I have ever made thanks to this brining. If you want a turkey moist and more delicious than you have ever made, this is the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I'm already trying to get my Thanksgiving menu together and realized I didn't rate this recipe! I used it last year. It made the meat sooo moist! Thanks for sharing! I am looking forward to November already!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I am very grateful that you are on recipezaar because I don't know what I would do w/out your entries! My turkey came out perfect and I thouroughly enjoyed the white meat :0) I didn't have a rack so I just used one of those large tins from the store. Also I rubbed butter and seasoning all over and added a little cxn broth in the bottom and covered the turkey w/ foil. For the last hour and half I roasted the turkey uncovered and basted it every 30 just in case. My turkey was so wonderful and if I can do it, anyone else reading this can do it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Our turkey was so moist, thanks so much for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Oh My Goodness! This was the best turkey I have ever had! All I did in the roasting was put a little rosemary in the cavity, pour some chicken stock in the bottom of the pan and baste it with butter, olive oil and the pan drippings. My daughter-in-law said she is not a "turkey person" but she loved this. Thank you so much for posting another one of your wonderful recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      I brined a turkey for the first time using the Brown Sugar Turkey Brine, and it was without a doubt the BEST turkey my family has ever had! So juicy and full of flavor. Totally worth the extra effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Great brine used along with your turkey cooking method and we had a great meal! I think the leftover turkey really shines that it was brined vs. not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine

    Serving Size: 1 (13412 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.2
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    38%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 3651.1 mg
    152%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites