Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2010

      We used this brine on a 7 pound bone in turkey breast for Thanksgiving. We rubbed the turkey with butter, stuffed the cavity with fresh thyme, onion, and celery, and brushed it with pure maple syrup during the last hour.The skin cas crisp and golden, and the meat was moist and tender. The maple really highlighted the brown sugar in the brine. Thank you for such a delicious start for our holiday dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      This turned out a juicy, moist, and flavorful turkey. I did use my large crisper drawer in the fridge to brine the turkey overnight, like another reviewer suggested. It worked great! Thanks for a great recipe. This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This worked out very well for us. I liked that I had all the brine ingredients in the house as I decided to brine at the last hour and didn't have such things as apple juice or maple in the house. I didn't have a large container, so I just used one of my crisper drawers and then flipped the turkey. Our turkey was moist and delicious, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      This is the 2nd year our family has brined our turkey. Was not happy with last years recipe, so I searched for a new brine. This was amazing. We brined our turkey at least 30 hours. It was great. Prepared the turkey in a roaster oven. Thank you for this recipe. I will use this again next year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      Made this brine for our 18.5 pound Thanksgiving turkey this year. My, my! Hands down, the best turkey I've ever cooked! All agreed the extra flavor from brown sugar, pepper, Worchestershire and garlic made a MUCH better brine than just salt and sugar. Brined for 24 hours in a 2-1/2 gallon bucket in the fridge, only change was that I used only 1-1/2 gallons of water due to turkey was almost too big for the bucket! I won't ever do my turkey any other way. Thanks, Kittencal, for yet another outstanding recipe! Leftover white meat sandwiches have even been to die for this year. I will be purchasing a 5-gallon food-grade bucket for next year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      My first time brining and it was a success. DH and I prefer dark meat most of the time, the kids like white. For the first time EVER... DH said he thought the white meat was superior to the dark because of the moistness. I agree! Thanks so much Kitten for the awesome, easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      I have used this brine on a 20-22 lb turkey for the last 3-4 years, and the turkey is always delicious. It's much simpler and cheaper to put together than a lot of recipes, and I don't think all of the additional ingredients are necessary. I use a clean 5 gallon paint bucket and it's the perfect size.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      This was my first time using a brine to go along with my first time roasting our holiday turkey. This plus "Kittencal's Perfect Roasted Whole Turkey (Great for Beginners)" Kittencal's Perfect Roasted Whole Turkey (Great for Beginners), made for one of the tastiest birds and successful meals I think we have experienced.

      You are now my most favouritist :-) chef on this site. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      Wow! One of THE BEST, juiciest, most-flavorful turkeys we have ever had! We deep-fried ours for even better results! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      This was our first time brining a turkey and we are total converts. It created the most amazing, moist turkey.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      This was a fantastic brine and we will be using this every time !!! I included 1 1/2 bottles of white wine and topped up with water to the 2 gallon mark. My 12 lb turkey went into a 5 gallon bucket and covered it with brine. I then put the 5 gallon bucket into a picnic cooler and surrounded the bucket with ice. Worked fabulously. There were too many flavours happening in the dinner to properly appreciate the turkey. Had some cold turkey the next day and the flavours were definitely there. Absolutely fabulous !!! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Wow, this is great. We cut the recipe in half, and used it on a turkey breast rather than a whole turkey. We also did it on the rotissere on the gas grill. Browned up nice; and the 7-8 pound breast took about 1 1/2 hours with medium heat. So juicy! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Easy and Exceptional! This was so moist, the leftovers were moist days later. This is clearly the best turkey we have ever had! I will not have turkey any other way. I used an 18 lb. turkey and it did fit with the brine in my largest soup po; I could even get the lid on. Rave reviews from everyone attending! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I have cooked turkey for ever and just decided this year to see what the fuss is all about when brining a turkey. WOW. I smoked two 7lb turkey breasts and it was the best turkey I have ever had. The only change I made was to cut up a couple of oranges just because it sounded good. I really did not taste much flavor from the brine, but it made my turkey as moist as ever. The next day it was still juicy and when I say juicy, you could squeeze out the juice if you wanted! I will never do a turkey any other way again. Quick note: usually everbody eats just the breast and you are left with a messy pile of bones and thighs after the aftermath of Thanksgiving. I like dark meat, but when it comes to Thanksgiving dinner, a 7 lb Turkey breast was the best idea ever. They are cheap and so much easier to deal with!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I made half a recipe to brine a bone-in tukey breast. The turkey was the star of the meal, juicy, tender, practically melt in your mouth - made people forget the potato disaster even :)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      This was a awesome brine! I doubled the brine and put it in a large cooler that we have for soda drinks and put 2 bags of ice on top of the turkey to brine over night. Flavor was wonderful and the turkey was so moist and tender. This will be a keeper for the coming Thanksgiving dinners :) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2014

      Simple, without a lot of fancy ingredients made for a moist and flavorful turkey. We had a 22 pound turkey and after brining 24 hours, smoked on the smoker and the results couldn't have been better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2014

      This brine made the best turkey that I have ever made or eaten! 5 Stars all the way! I have been brining turkey for the last 4 Thanksgivings and I have always liked brined turkey better than a regular roasted turkey, but with this brine I LOVED the turkey. I used the recipe exactly as written and added a 24 pound turkey. There was enough brine to cover the whole thing. I then baked my turkey using your recipe for Kittencal's Perfect Roasted Whole Turkey (Great for Beginners). Thank you for both wonderful recipes! Both are winners in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2014

      I made just enough to cover a whole chicken breast and cooked it using your rapid roast method. The meat was so very juicy. I would brine more often if I would plan my dinners a little better. It's so worth it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Used this recipe today, for Thanksgiving. Brined our turkey about 26 hours and then used an oil free turkey fryer. (For those of you that are not familiar with this wonderful method of "frying", Google: Char-broil The Big Easy Oil-less Fryer. It is great and tastes the same as frying with 5 gallons of oil!) we roasted a seconds turkey that was not brined, also. Needless to say, my entire family devoured the brined turkey, leaving the roasted turkey for leftovers! As my husband was carving the brined turkey, a few family members kept "testing the meat to assure it was good enough to serve"! Lucky we got some to the table! I have finally found a recipe to hang on to for each holiday! Thanks, Kittencal! I have tried many of your recipes and have loved them all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine

    Serving Size: 1 (13412 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.2
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    38%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 3651.1 mg
    152%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes