Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2012

      This turned out a juicy, moist, and flavorful turkey. I did use my large crisper drawer in the fridge to brine the turkey overnight, like another reviewer suggested. It worked great! Thanks for a great recipe. This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      We used this brine on a 7 pound bone in turkey breast for Thanksgiving. We rubbed the turkey with butter, stuffed the cavity with fresh thyme, onion, and celery, and brushed it with pure maple syrup during the last hour.The skin cas crisp and golden, and the meat was moist and tender. The maple really highlighted the brown sugar in the brine. Thank you for such a delicious start for our holiday dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This worked out very well for us. I liked that I had all the brine ingredients in the house as I decided to brine at the last hour and didn't have such things as apple juice or maple in the house. I didn't have a large container, so I just used one of my crisper drawers and then flipped the turkey. Our turkey was moist and delicious, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      My first time brining and it was a success. DH and I prefer dark meat most of the time, the kids like white. For the first time EVER... DH said he thought the white meat was superior to the dark because of the moistness. I agree! Thanks so much Kitten for the awesome, easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      I have used this brine on a 20-22 lb turkey for the last 3-4 years, and the turkey is always delicious. It's much simpler and cheaper to put together than a lot of recipes, and I don't think all of the additional ingredients are necessary. I use a clean 5 gallon paint bucket and it's the perfect size.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      This was my first time using a brine to go along with my first time roasting our holiday turkey. This plus "Kittencal's Perfect Roasted Whole Turkey (Great for Beginners)" Kittencal's Perfect Roasted Whole Turkey (Great for Beginners), made for one of the tastiest birds and successful meals I think we have experienced.

      You are now my most favouritist :-) chef on this site. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      Wow! One of THE BEST, juiciest, most-flavorful turkeys we have ever had! We deep-fried ours for even better results! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Wow, this is great. We cut the recipe in half, and used it on a turkey breast rather than a whole turkey. We also did it on the rotissere on the gas grill. Browned up nice; and the 7-8 pound breast took about 1 1/2 hours with medium heat. So juicy! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      This is the 2nd year our family has brined our turkey. Was not happy with last years recipe, so I searched for a new brine. This was amazing. We brined our turkey at least 30 hours. It was great. Prepared the turkey in a roaster oven. Thank you for this recipe. I will use this again next year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Used this recipe today, for Thanksgiving. Brined our turkey about 26 hours and then used an oil free turkey fryer. (For those of you that are not familiar with this wonderful method of "frying", Google: Char-broil The Big Easy Oil-less Fryer. It is great and tastes the same as frying with 5 gallons of oil!) we roasted a seconds turkey that was not brined, also. Needless to say, my entire family devoured the brined turkey, leaving the roasted turkey for leftovers! As my husband was carving the brined turkey, a few family members kept "testing the meat to assure it was good enough to serve"! Lucky we got some to the table! I have finally found a recipe to hang on to for each holiday! Thanks, Kittencal! I have tried many of your recipes and have loved them all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      Made this brine for our 18.5 pound Thanksgiving turkey this year. My, my! Hands down, the best turkey I've ever cooked! All agreed the extra flavor from brown sugar, pepper, Worchestershire and garlic made a MUCH better brine than just salt and sugar. Brined for 24 hours in a 2-1/2 gallon bucket in the fridge, only change was that I used only 1-1/2 gallons of water due to turkey was almost too big for the bucket! I won't ever do my turkey any other way. Thanks, Kittencal, for yet another outstanding recipe! Leftover white meat sandwiches have even been to die for this year. I will be purchasing a 5-gallon food-grade bucket for next year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      EXCELLENT recipe! I used this yesterday for Thanksgiving and everyone raved that it was the best turkey they had ever tasted. I used only 28 cups of liqud. I replaced 4 cups of the water with Southern Comfort (24 cups warm water and 4 cups of Southern Comfort). It gave the skin a slightly sweet, "wow" what is that taste. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      I've used this brine for several Thanksgiving turkey meals. It is my go to brine. Printing off again to use for this Thanksgiving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      Followed this and Kittencals Perfect Roasted Whole Turkey. Made an amazing and juicy turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      I never used Brine before, this made the best Turkey ever, so moist and tender. I also used your Turkey recipe with this. It turned out to be the best Turkey I ever made. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      We used this brine with a few additions on an 18 pound turkey and it came out marvelous! We added a couple of tablespoons of chopped fresh ginger and 2 bayleaves. We cook our turkeys a day ahead, slice, and reheat in the crockpot on Thanksgiving day for ease in serving. My DH just finished slicing it, and I can't stop nibbling on it; it's so moist and flavorful. One word of warning, however. We failed to rinse the turkey after removing from the brine and you can really taste the salt. So don't omit this step if you're concerned about the salt intake. We will be sure to use a brine from now on for a moist, flavorful turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      We used this brine on a 15 lb turkey. It worked out OK but I really couldn't distinguish the taste of the brown sugar and garlic. I cut the recipe in half and placed the turkey in a cooking bag to sit for 2 days. I also found that when using a brine, the turkey cooked alot faster...so next time, I will cut my cooking time down by at least 30 minutes. Sorry Kitten...but I think I will go back to your buttermilk brine next time...that is my all time favorite!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      I used Kittencal's brining recipe and her roasted turkey recipe for Thanksgiving and it was an absolute hit! It was hand's down the BEST turkey I've ever cooked or eaten!!! I've never cared for white meat until now - it was always too dry. Not so with these two recipes! My Christmas Eve turkey is in Kittencal's brining recipe right now. I'm so thrilled that you shared your turkey recipes and personally want to thank you Kittencal! P.S. I'm now a dedicated follower!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      I made my turkey this way for Thanksgiving this year and it was the best we have ever had. Very moist and wonderful flavor. I will not make a turkey again without using this brine. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Brined my bird for 48 hours, then used a mild injectable marinade... The turkey was falling part juicy, full of flavour, and earned rave reviews. Luckily, I live in the frozen tundra of the UP of Michigan, so my only issue with leaving the bucket on the porch is that it got cold enough to freeze the brine to slush!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Brown Sugar Turkey Brine

    Serving Size: 1 (13412 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.2
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    38%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 3651.1 mg
    152%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites