315 Reviews

The best chicken recipe ever. I just put all the spices in with the lemon/butter mix and rubbed it all over the chicken and the inside. I also poked the lemons and cooked them in the chicken too. I had all this in a 9X13 pan and when I took the chicken out I put it on a platter. Then I put the drippings in a pan and added chicken broth and cornstarch/water mix and made the gravy. The men LOVED the gravy so I would reccomend making gravy with the drippings. It's the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbee56 February 24, 2013

Great! I make this for my family on a regular basis!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julietomm810 January 31, 2013

Epically awesome recipe!! I just made this tonight (for the first time) and really do think it may be the best roasted chicken I've had. Followed the recipe as written, except my bird was 4.85lbs so my cooking time was 450 deg for 25 minutes and 400 deg for 55 minutes using the convection oven feature on my range. We do not usually eat the skin in our family, but opted to try it this time and OMG!! So delish - so crispy. Loved it! And the meat was moist and tender. This dish will often be repeated in our house. Easy, tasty, quick to table - what's not to love? Thanks for sharing it. By the way, I served Maple Roasted Root Vegetables from WW with this and it was a perfect pairing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef hardyhar January 30, 2013

Absolutely amazing! Glad to have a "quicker" roast chicken recipe, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sleepycat January 30, 2013

Oh... I made this last night... delicious! I mixed EVOO, butter, lemon juice with smashed garlic cloves and micro-waved it for 30 seconds to make it "garlic infused". Then added season salt & pepper to the garlic oil mix. I not only rubbed it inside & outside, but used my injector to put some directly into the meat. Yummy!!! I baked at 475 for 20 minutes, lowered to 400 about an hour. Update Jan 19, 2013: I'm so sorry KittenCal... I forgot to add those dang "5 stars" on my 1st review. Again I say... "delicious"! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 January 20, 2013

Fantastic! Make that 474 5***** ratings! My family could not praise it enough. I roasted a 8# bird (2.5 hours) and it was amazing and moist. The gravy was delicious. Thanks for posting Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour January 19, 2013

I can't yet rate it because I didn't follow it to the T. I like to add a ton of herbs/spices. I have made this plenty of times and everyone loves how tender it is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneFaithE January 17, 2013

Yep, 10 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neogirl710 January 06, 2013

While I was a bit care free with the seasonings, using Creole seasoning instead of the seasoning salt and cayenne, this was absolutely the best roast chicken I have ever made! I used a vertical roaster and cut the lemons up into quarters not cutting quite to the separation point and put 1 semi-separated lemon in the chicken and one in the cup of the roaster. I surrounded the bird with potatoes (which I cooked from the beginning) and carrots and rutabaga (cut into chunks) which I rolled in olive oil and seasoning and added at the last 40 min. cooking stage. My chicken was still a bit frozen, so I had to cook it longer, but the end result of all ingredients was GREAT!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest December 31, 2012

This was seriously the best chicken I have ever had. I fed 17 people yesterday for Christmas and they all loved it. I cooked 2 (5 lb) chickens in a portable oven at 425 for 35 minutes and dropped it down to 400 for 1 hr. I then let it sit in the the oven (turned off) for about 30 minutes to rest. It was the juciest chicken. I did stuff the chicken with stuffing and added basil and thyme and sprinkled paprika on top for color. This is my new go to chicken recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CM81 December 26, 2012
Kittencal's Best Blasted Rapid-Roast Whole Chicken