309 Reviews

This was really delicious. The chicken was cooked perfectly and very moist. A definite go to recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO June 19, 2013

I?m not a kitchen savvy kind of gal; more along the lines of an out door?s grab a snack bar and go girl. Your recipes, from meatballs, lasagna, fried chicken, and now a whole chicken... Oh yeah, and you saved me on Thanksgiving with your turkey recipes (fantastic) - have kept my mile a minute children fed, healthy, and happy (all boys). I appreciate you taking time to share your gift and love for food. Your plates are stress-free to prepare never compromising flowing flavor; and many seconds. Kudos!!<br/><br/>Angela<br/>Richmond, VA

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angela00 March 25, 2013

Best roast chicken I have ever made. Followed the recipe with the exception of a little less seasoned salt and added some lemon pepper. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janantiques March 18, 2013

Delicious!!!! My 13 year old son wanted second and thirds. My husband says this is the best chicken I ever cooked. It is! So moist and juicy and the skin was flavorful and crisp. Thanks Kittencal for making me a hero among my family tonight :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mxl3101 March 14, 2013

The best chicken recipe ever. I just put all the spices in with the lemon/butter mix and rubbed it all over the chicken and the inside. I also poked the lemons and cooked them in the chicken too. I had all this in a 9X13 pan and when I took the chicken out I put it on a platter. Then I put the drippings in a pan and added chicken broth and cornstarch/water mix and made the gravy. The men LOVED the gravy so I would reccomend making gravy with the drippings. It's the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbee56 February 24, 2013

Great! I make this for my family on a regular basis!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julietomm810 January 31, 2013

Epically awesome recipe!! I just made this tonight (for the first time) and really do think it may be the best roasted chicken I've had. Followed the recipe as written, except my bird was 4.85lbs so my cooking time was 450 deg for 25 minutes and 400 deg for 55 minutes using the convection oven feature on my range. We do not usually eat the skin in our family, but opted to try it this time and OMG!! So delish - so crispy. Loved it! And the meat was moist and tender. This dish will often be repeated in our house. Easy, tasty, quick to table - what's not to love? Thanks for sharing it. By the way, I served Maple Roasted Root Vegetables from WW with this and it was a perfect pairing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef hardyhar January 30, 2013

Absolutely amazing! Glad to have a "quicker" roast chicken recipe, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sleepycat January 30, 2013

Oh... I made this last night... delicious! I mixed EVOO, butter, lemon juice with smashed garlic cloves and micro-waved it for 30 seconds to make it "garlic infused". Then added season salt & pepper to the garlic oil mix. I not only rubbed it inside & outside, but used my injector to put some directly into the meat. Yummy!!! I baked at 475 for 20 minutes, lowered to 400 about an hour. Update Jan 19, 2013: I'm so sorry KittenCal... I forgot to add those dang "5 stars" on my 1st review. Again I say... "delicious"! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 January 20, 2013

Fantastic! Make that 474 5***** ratings! My family could not praise it enough. I roasted a 8# bird (2.5 hours) and it was amazing and moist. The gravy was delicious. Thanks for posting Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour January 19, 2013
Kittencal's Best Blasted Rapid-Roast Whole Chicken