Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Best Blasted Rapid-Roast Whole Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Blasted Rapid-Roast Whole Chicken

    Average Rating:

    304 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 304

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2012

      This recipe is amazing! I altered it a little (a little extra lemon juice, fresh garlic instead of powder, add cilantro and potatoes in the bottom of the pan). My husband loved it, and my son (a very picky two year old) asked for seconds and then thirds! Totally easy and fun to make. This is going on the permanent list of recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      What a fantastic chicken! I just ate nearly half the 3.35 lb. bird all by myself and I'm craving more!

      I used a meyer lemon from our yard, and when I got to the breast meat near the cavity of the chicken, the cooked lemon rind took on a flavor that was so unexpectedly delicious in the meat!

      I didn't use all of the oil/butter but it was still wonderfully moist and tender. I lost some of the juices in the dish I transferred the bird to rest on when I cut in to see if it was baked through (don't have a themometer). Even still, the meat was juicy when it had finished resting and those lost juices were my au jus for dipping!.....Thanks so very much for the recipe, Kitten! It's going to join the rest of my favorites and will be passed along for others to enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      The chicken was amazing-moist and juicy. My hubby loved it!!!! That being said, while the breast was cooked, the legs and thighs were underdone. I Had a 3.2 oz. chicken. Maybe its because I put veggies underneath the chicken or that I cooked a pepper squash at the same time. I will definately make this again-just cook it a little longer. I can always depend on Kittencal's recipes!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      I tried this recipe years ago and it was absolutely great!!!! Thank you for sharing it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      My chicken was nearly 8 lbs so my cook time was much longer. I did get a nice crispy skin. My only changes was that instead of seasoned salt I subbed in a homemade bbq rub which has much less salt. All in all it turned out great and I plan on making again. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      This will be how I roast chicken from now on. I had a 5# chicken, so I roasted it at 475 for 20 mins. and then at 400 for about 55 mins after reading the other reviews. My DH and I had a get together to go to right about when it was done, so I left it in the oven with the heat off for about an hour. It was still plenty hot and so moist and delicious when we got home. Crispy skin and succulent meat. I roasted it with onions, potatoes, and carrots. The perfect meal! Used Montreal Chicken seasoning from Costco and garlic on the skin. I could eat this every week!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      The highest compliment I got from DH, 'this is the moistest chicken I ever ate!!' and coming from my husband, that's a big one!! Thanks for a keeper Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      This is my go to chicken recipe! My family loves this chicken, its easy and leftovers are great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      This might be the best chicken I have ever had. And so easy and quick. Wow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      Fantastic! For my 5.2-pound chicken, I put 3 half-lemons inside the cavity, doubled all the other ingredients, but reduced the seasoned salt by half. Marinated breast-side-down in a large bowl, then baked in a cast iron skillet (lined with fresh veggies and 1/8 C water) at 475 for 20 minutes, then 400 for 75 minutes. I read all 258 reviews before I baked it, so I decided to crank the heat up a bit for the first 20 minutes, then allowed a standard "20-minutes per pound" baking time for my chicken. It turned out PERFECT! The skin was crispy and amazingly flavorful, and the breast meat was so moist, I have never had such moist chicken breast. Absolutely delicious! Next time, we are going to try using a bit of orange and lime just to try a variation. Honestly, this was the simplest and most delicious chicken recipe I have ever tried. Just wonderful .. look at the picture! Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      I've made a lot of roast chickens, I have my favorite recipe in fact, but this preparation was AMAZING! My husband and I both loved it and the leftovers were great too. We made chicken salad with grapes and almonds. I don't tie the legs and I cook my chickens breast side down and this kept the breast incredibly moist. I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2012

      This was excellent! I followed the advice of other reviewers and cooked my 4.25lb chicken at 475 for 20 min and then 400 for an hour. Turned out perfectly! I used soul food seasoning instead of seasoned salt (very similar but I like it better) and didn't have a lemon so I used bottled lemon juice. The lemon juice really makes the dish, if you ask me! Loved this so much. The breast meat was delicious. I cooked this on a bed of sliced potatoes and baby carrots that I almost covered with water. I will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      Today is my second time to use this recipe! I changed it up slightly, but it's so incredibly delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

      Best Whole Chicken recipe I have found yet. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      This recipe is perfect! I was skeptical at first. I typically cook my chicken using the whole 20 minutes per lb an extra 15, but somehow it never quite works out and I end up with an under-cooked chicken.
      I assumed that a chicken cooked at such a high temperature would dry out, and I was also worried that the short cooking duration would lead to a chicken which was crispy on the outside, yet under-cooked on the inside. This is maybe my 6-7th attempt at cooking a whole chicken, and this is the first recipe I have used in which I have not had to put it back in the oven because it was under-cooked. It came out perfectly cooked, moist and flavorful. Added bonus, I finally got the crispy skin I had hoped for!

      I seasoned my chicken with oil, butter, adobo and fresh rosemary and I added a medley of potatoes and veggies.
      I cooked it on 450 for 20 minutes and then turned it down to 400 and let it cook for another 45 minutes, resisting the urge to cover the chicken or open the oven to get a better look.
      I took it out after 65 minutes, tested the temperature and to my incredible surprise and delight it was perfect! This will forever be my recipe for roasted chicken. Amazingly delicious and really quick and simple. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      Eureka! Finally a roasted chicken recipe that I can use successfully! I have tried to roast chickens before but almost gave up forever until we went to our local farmers market and bought a beautiful hormone-free farm raised bird. It was about 5lbs, so I roasted it at 475 for 20 minutes and then 400 for an hour. I put about 2 cups of water and ended up with delicious drippings for gravy. The skin was crispy and flavorful. My new go-to chicken recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      Great recipes endure! Tho this is an oldie, I love it, and found it so successful. The chicken was moist, juicy and delicious inside -- crispy and perfect outside. I used a fryer -- they were on sale at a good price - and this recipe is a budget booster! With my leftovers we will have at least one more meal if not two. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      I have never before roasted a whole chicken. I just did today with this recipe.....it was soooooooooo good! and super easy! if you've ever been intimidated by roasting a whole bird, i totally recommend you give this one a shot. The seasoning was perfect, and it was so moist....SO moist i thought i undercooked it!!! Thanks so much for this recipe! I will be using it again and again and again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      Lives up to all of Kittencal's recipes I've tried to-date! Used an onion in place of the lemon. My kids raved. Got the crispy skin, just as promised. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Delicious! I roasted a 4.5 pound chicken for 20 min on 450 and 50 min at 400. I used salt, pepper and crushed rosemary on the outside, and injected the bird with melted butter and lemon juice. The real key was to let it sit for 15 minutes before cutting it - the chicken was tender, juicy, and crispy on the outside. Yum!! Update: I made this again using a 6 pound chicken. I cooked it for 20 min on 450 and then 60 min at 400. Again, unbelievably delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Blasted Rapid-Roast Whole Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 840.9
     
    Calories from Fat 589
    70%
    Total Fat 65.4 g
    100%
    Saturated Fat 17.2 g
    86%
    Cholesterol 243.8 mg
    81%
    Sodium 294.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 57.6 g
    115%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes