Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Best Blasted Rapid-Roast Whole Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Blasted Rapid-Roast Whole Chicken

    Average Rating:

    304 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 304

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2010

      I didn't get the crispy skin, but I attribute this to the fact that my chicken was about a pound larger than the one in the recipe, and I probably didn't cook it at 450 for long enough. Even still, this was one of the best roast chickens I've ever made. It was really juicy, and the skin was delicious (and I don't usually eat the skin). I will definitely do this again, thank you! Update: I recently cooked a 5.25 lb chicken this way. I cooked it at 475 degrees for the first 20 minutes, and at 400 for about an hour after that. It was perfect, with really crispy skin and super moist meat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      10 stars, 10 stars!!! This was the most delicious chicken ever!! I had a larger chicken 4-5lbs and as you recommended Kitten, I roasted at 475 for the 20 minutes and then at 400 for a whole hour. I doubled the butter/oil/lemon mixture and added celery salt and herbs de provence to the seasonings. I rubbed the chicken both under and on top of the skin and let it marinate for just 45 minutes. It was so moist and perfectly cooked and the skin, wow... was just amazing. My husband and I both are so very happy with this recipe!! Thank you so much Kitten!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This is my default roasted chicken recipe. I vary what seasonings I use on the outside of the chicken: Italian seasoning, Cajun seasoning, herbs de provence, etc. Also good to put root vegetables like potatoes, carrots, parsnips, etc. underneath the chicken. They get roasted and caramelized as well with the butter and chicken fat dripping on them from above. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      Good recipe, but cooking to 175-180 is unnecessary and will dry the chicken out. I always cook mine to 165, sometimes 167 or so internal, then let it rest and cook up a bit for about 15-20 mins. The 180 internal thing is outdated and causes overcooked chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      Oh. My. God. This was THE BEST roasted chicken I have ever eaten. Ever. I roasted it on a layer of veggies with some chicken stock in the bottom of the pan. The resultant sauce was delicious on the chicken, the garlic mashed potatoes and the steamed broccoli that accompanied it. THANK YOU, Kittencal, for another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      This is so good!! And so moist. I have made twice now. Be sure and use all the butter, oil, lemon juice mixture or the seasonings will have nothing to stick. too. Don't try to not use them to save on calories it is not worth it. I added some lemon pepper to the seasoning mixture this last time. It is still in the oven but I made exactly as said before. though I poked lemon then cut in half to get all the flavor I could out of the lemon . I love lemon -Without the spices it may be reminiscent of purchased rotisserie chicken but with it it is sooo much better. Mine was a 4.5 lb chicken at 10 minutes longer it was not done. I am still cooking but could not wait to taste I am hungry thinking about it.UPDATE 7-13-11 I have made 4 times and the first time I used all the spice on the outside the last time I added more seasoning salt and put part inside the chicken I loved it better when I used all on the outside as it was so much more flavorful. From now on on the outside only for me.UPDATE 10-3-11 My I eat this often I am making again. I can't find a chicken that is only 3 -3/1/2 lbs. All the chickens in my area are almost 5 lbs. or larger

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      I've made this several times, and my family has loved it every time! This is our most-used recipe for whole chicken! Moist and juicy, and very tasty!

      I didn't have any seasoning salt on hand, so I substituted 2-3 tablespoons of Seasoning Salt for French Fries, Home Fries, and Fried Potatoes.

      Kittencal delivers again! Thank you!

      I also want to add that I did not have cotton string to truss the chicken, so I cut holes in the extra skin by the legs and used the skin to secure the legs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      Delicious, Delicious, Delicious! I was able to satisfy my entire family with this recipe. My husband said that it was very moist (it was). My very picky children came back for seconds and it was the first thing that disappeared off their plate!

      I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I subsituted with chili powder. I wasn't sure if you were supposed to put the lemon in with the peel or not, so I did my best to peel the lemon.

      I believe this recipe has become a new house hold favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      Simply divine. My 8-year-old typically doesn't eat meat - the only chicken she'll touch is chicken nuggets or Buffalo Wild Wings. But she simply devoured this and was disappointed when all the dark meat was gone! This is seriously unheard of, so I'm extremely impressed. I did alter the seasonings a bit (using olive oil, regular salt, pepper, rosemary and thyme). Also, I roasted it for 15 minutes at 450 with the breast side down (makes the white meat more juicy and flavorful), flipped it over, did another 15 minutes at 450, and then dropped it to 400 until done. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      I know this does not need another review, but after making this for the 4th time, my mouth still waters for this. Please try this recipe. I do not like white meat because it seems dry and tasteless. I now gobble it up, it seems to melt in your mouth. FOLLOW the recipe, do not add or take away. Kittencal you out did yourself on this one, but I thank you from all my families hearts!!

      Pat Merwin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Can't I give this a "10"???? OMG- I have NEVER had white meat SO juicy and tender! My husband was floored and said that he thinks that this was the BEST chicken he has had in his LIFE (and that's saying a lot!) Kittencal, you've done it again...I'm a committed fan! If you wrote a cookbook, I'd buy it- that's a fact!

      Recipe notes- I did have a difficult time covering the skin with the butter mixture and then rubbing the spice mixture on top. I pulled back the skin to put some of the butter mix on it and the spice mix as well. The skin tore a bit, so I wove it back together with a toothpick. I also used the lemon I had cut in half for the lemon inside which worked just fine and I didn't waste anything. After tying the legs together, I wove the open skin together with another toothpick vertically and pulled the tail up to seal the inside closed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      Talk about tender and juicy....we all loved this recipe. I did not have a whole lemon so I made sure I poured some of the juice inside the cavity of the chicken. I will however work the seasonings and lemon mixture under the skin a bit so that flavoring gets all the way through the meat. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Excellent recipe!!! So easy and so tasty. I doulbled the cayenne and lemon juice and garlic and had a 4 lb turkey and it was done in about an hour!!!! Husband loved it - thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      i must say i am impressed! i normally use a different recipe but today was kind of a hectic day and i realized i forgot to prep the chicken the night before :( don't you just hate it when that happens! so in a panic as it got closer to dinner i came back to my trusty computer and found my way to this recipe! and boy am i glad i did! now i left the lemons and lemon juice out (i have never enjoyed lemon) but it was still just wonderful! far juicier then the other chicken i make! thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      Tonight was my 1st roasted chicken...it REALLY turned out just like the photos, and WAS as delicious as the previous ratings here claim! I read many, gleaned some tips and would like to add some of my own because all together, they worked GREAT! <br/>I used room temperature/softened butter and added all the other ingredients (except the whole onion), then whisked it all into a creamy "seasoning paste" which in one step I rubbed inside/outside & under the skin. I stuffed a big onion inside, added about 1 cup water to my favorite oven-safe pan (didn't add a rack, either), baked uncovered at 475 for 15 min, flipped the bird and did 15 more minutes at 475, then reduced the heat to 400 and just cooked it till the meat temp registered 165. I thick cut potatoes and carrots a little late to cook with the bird so while the bird was removed/rested for the 15 minutes, the vegetables were added and roasted at 400 in the same pan along with the drippings. By the time the chicken was ready to serve, so were the vegetables. My son wolfed his down (white meat and all!) while I savored every bite without first adding a mandatory thick layer of BBQ sauce-both unheard of at our house before this recipe! I sure recommend trying it, IT IS absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      My family loved it. I put carrots and potatoes in the pan and stuffed the cavity with an onion. Super moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      This truly deserves 5 stars! I just wish there was more skin on the chicken, it was that good! I roasted the chicken on a bed of new potatoes, onion, carrots, and whole mushrooms and added a little water (next time it will be broth). I'm going to try other herbs as well at some point. I know when Kittencal puts her name on a recipe, it'll be a winner! Well Done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      I have a bone to pick with the chef, can't seem to put the darn thing down. As a retired factory worker forced to change directions by injury, I've approached this cooking thing from an experimental direction, as in "gee, that sounds good, let's try it next." Trouble is, whenever "that" is a Kittencal recipe I all too often get "painted into a corner", because it was sooo goood! last time, why try something new? and frankly I can't argue with the logic there. This is a case in point. I tried this first, as written, on a whole chicken, merely adjusting seasoning to taste, and it was everything all the other, more eloquent 5 star reviewers said. So, I tried it on chicken wings, and I swear it was the best chicken of any kind I've ever fixed. Will be our go to from now on, thanks to the chef, again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Dear Kittencal, I know you don't need another review but you are getting it anyway! This is truly the best whole roasted chicken I have ever made, as good as the Rotisserie Chicken at Publix. Crispy skin and moist meat = delicious! I put 2 half lemons, some rosemary and plenty of salt and garlic in the cavity, the chicken tasted faintly of lemon and garlic but not overpowering. This will be my only blasted whole chicken going forward! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      Easy and delicious, but not as crispy as hoped...maybe I was impatient and didn't preheat long enough. I substituted smoked paprika for the cayenne and it was delish, plus gave the bird a lovely color. Will be trying again, maybe with rosemary in the cavity as well as lemon

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Blasted Rapid-Roast Whole Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 840.9
     
    Calories from Fat 589
    70%
    Total Fat 65.4 g
    100%
    Saturated Fat 17.2 g
    86%
    Cholesterol 243.8 mg
    81%
    Sodium 294.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 57.6 g
    115%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes