306 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I didn't get the crispy skin, but I attribute this to the fact that my chicken was about a pound larger than the one in the recipe, and I probably didn't cook it at 450 for long enough. Even still, this was one of the best roast chickens I've ever made. It was really juicy, and the skin was delicious (and I don't usually eat the skin). I will definitely do this again, thank you! Update: I recently cooked a 5.25 lb chicken this way. I cooked it at 475 degrees for the first 20 minutes, and at 400 for about an hour after that. It was perfect, with really crispy skin and super moist meat!

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GiddyUpGo October 10, 2010

10 stars, 10 stars!!! This was the most delicious chicken ever!! I had a larger chicken 4-5lbs and as you recommended Kitten, I roasted at 475 for the 20 minutes and then at 400 for a whole hour. I doubled the butter/oil/lemon mixture and added celery salt and herbs de provence to the seasonings. I rubbed the chicken both under and on top of the skin and let it marinate for just 45 minutes. It was so moist and perfectly cooked and the skin, wow... was just amazing. My husband and I both are so very happy with this recipe!! Thank you so much Kitten!!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue January 05, 2010

This is my default roasted chicken recipe. I vary what seasonings I use on the outside of the chicken: Italian seasoning, Cajun seasoning, herbs de provence, etc. Also good to put root vegetables like potatoes, carrots, parsnips, etc. underneath the chicken. They get roasted and caramelized as well with the butter and chicken fat dripping on them from above. Yummy!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neohippie January 07, 2010

Good recipe, but cooking to 175-180 is unnecessary and will dry the chicken out. I always cook mine to 165, sometimes 167 or so internal, then let it rest and cook up a bit for about 15-20 mins. The 180 internal thing is outdated and causes overcooked chicken.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dca22 September 19, 2011

I've made this several times, and my family has loved it every time! This is our most-used recipe for whole chicken! Moist and juicy, and very tasty!

I didn't have any seasoning salt on hand, so I substituted 2-3 tablespoons of Seasoning Salt for French Fries, Home Fries, and Fried Potatoes.

Kittencal delivers again! Thank you!

I also want to add that I did not have cotton string to truss the chicken, so I cut holes in the extra skin by the legs and used the skin to secure the legs.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pale Rose March 07, 2011

Oh. My. God. This was THE BEST roasted chicken I have ever eaten. Ever. I roasted it on a layer of veggies with some chicken stock in the bottom of the pan. The resultant sauce was delicious on the chicken, the garlic mashed potatoes and the steamed broccoli that accompanied it. THANK YOU, Kittencal, for another winner.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rivkaesq January 21, 2011

This is so good!! And so moist. I have made twice now. Be sure and use all the butter, oil, lemon juice mixture or the seasonings will have nothing to stick. too. Don't try to not use them to save on calories it is not worth it. I added some lemon pepper to the seasoning mixture this last time. It is still in the oven but I made exactly as said before. though I poked lemon then cut in half to get all the flavor I could out of the lemon . I love lemon -Without the spices it may be reminiscent of purchased rotisserie chicken but with it it is sooo much better. Mine was a 4.5 lb chicken at 10 minutes longer it was not done. I am still cooking but could not wait to taste I am hungry thinking about it.UPDATE 7-13-11 I have made 4 times and the first time I used all the spice on the outside the last time I added more seasoning salt and put part inside the chicken I loved it better when I used all on the outside as it was so much more flavorful. From now on on the outside only for me.UPDATE 10-3-11 My I eat this often I am making again. I can't find a chicken that is only 3 -3/1/2 lbs. All the chickens in my area are almost 5 lbs. or larger

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady October 05, 2011

I know this does not need another review, but after making this for the 4th time, my mouth still waters for this. Please try this recipe. I do not like white meat because it seems dry and tasteless. I now gobble it up, it seems to melt in your mouth. FOLLOW the recipe, do not add or take away. Kittencal you out did yourself on this one, but I thank you from all my families hearts!!

Pat Merwin

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmrealty January 15, 2011

Delicious, Delicious, Delicious! I was able to satisfy my entire family with this recipe. My husband said that it was very moist (it was). My very picky children came back for seconds and it was the first thing that disappeared off their plate!

I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I subsituted with chili powder. I wasn't sure if you were supposed to put the lemon in with the peel or not, so I did my best to peel the lemon.

I believe this recipe has become a new house hold favorite!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5shiffletts August 04, 2010

i must say i am impressed! i normally use a different recipe but today was kind of a hectic day and i realized i forgot to prep the chicken the night before :( don't you just hate it when that happens! so in a panic as it got closer to dinner i came back to my trusty computer and found my way to this recipe! and boy am i glad i did! now i left the lemons and lemon juice out (i have never enjoyed lemon) but it was still just wonderful! far juicier then the other chicken i make! thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gamer Gal March 24, 2010
Kittencal's Best Blasted Rapid-Roast Whole Chicken