Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Beer Battered Fish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Beer Battered Fish

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2012

      Excellent batter~ Light and crispy. I used haddock fillets and should have made more because the whole family loved it. Thanks Kittencal fro another great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      Awesome batter. We used the batter with tilapia and fresh mushrooms. Even the non fish eater in the family enjoyed the fish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Followed the recipe, and it turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2014

      We cut the fish into bite size pieces, which makes it more fun to eat and you get more light and crispy batter with each bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      This is a nice light batter for the fish. I was making fish tacos and needed a batter for my fish and chose your recipe. It was wonderful. I had some extra batter so I threw in some mushrooms. They turned out great. Thank you for this versitile recipe that we will use many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      We loved this recipe! Will add a little salt next time though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      What a delicious batter Kitten. I didn't have dark beer so I had used my Canadian beer instead but I don't think that made a difference. Have to find a place that sells single bottles for the next time. I had used the seasoning salt and added a dash of the garlic powder and cayenne. For the fish I used Grouper. I sprinkled it with a bit of flour first then dipped it in the batter which worked out fantastic and then it went into the deep fryer. It turned out with such a nice light crispness, I surprised myself by eating all of it up. My friend really loved his too and commented on how great it was..I served it with some steak fries and tartar sauce...mmmm.......mmmm.....mmmm...such a yummy lunch..I have said it so many times Kitten that your recipes never fail me. I will be making this again soon. Thanks for sharing Kitten, we loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      Yummy! Kittencal, you've done it again. :) I was listening to a baby cry instead of following the recipe, and I dumped more beer than it called for...by about 4 oz, but just by adding more flour, it turned out simply delightful. LIght and crispy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

    • on March 24, 2010

      delicious, i used fresh cut halibut and gluten free beer instead of regular beer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      The coating is nice and light and turns our real well. First time I made this I made the mistake of using frozen cheap fish - turned out inedible. This time I used fresh cod and the fish was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      WOW! I've never used a wet batter before and it was awesome. I used talapia and it came out perfect. I did add some Zatarains to spice it up a bit. Thank you my hubby loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I give it a 4 only for the lack of seasoning.We did follow other's input on adding garlic salt and also an overall "season salt".However,the batter is 5 stars in how it crisps up and coats the fish.We used a "true" cod and it worked great! I also made White Fish In Herbed Butter(White Fish In Herbed Butter) and my husband who usually prefers fried,asked me to make this recipe next time! Both are good enough we will for sure make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I find the batter to be too thin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I used the batter on shrimp and it got great reviews! I did dredge the shrimp in flour first to get the batter to stick a bit better. I did as another reviewer suggested and chilled the batter for 1/2 hr after letting it set @ room temp for 1 hr. I fryed the shrimp @ 350 and they turned out a lovely golden color. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This was first rate! We are fishermen/women in this house and have a freezer full!' Used this on Walleye and was not disappointed in the slightest! You are recipe searchers dream come true Kittencal! For sure! Jelly in love! Many thanks! DH is the food critic here and he said it was 5 star! Maisy had a few bites and gave it 5 Paws!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Awesome! Really really excellent. Used with a strong German beer and really couldn't fault a thing. Wonder how hot oil should be. I had it at 190C and I think it might have been a bit too hot! Also would love tips on how to keep each portion crispy whilst frying the rest. I put them on stoneware in the oven at a low temp. Most remained fairly crispy, but the ones I fried first were starting to get a bit limper as I served. Served with chips (fries) mushy peas with bacon and roasted red pepper tartar sauce. Dee-lish. Will be a staple here for sure! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      This is a great recipe for deep frying fish. It sticks enough to the fish (as long as the fish is dry) for a nice, even coat. When it comes out of the fryer, it is a beautiful golden crust. A crunchy, thin layer of flavor is there to greet you, unlike most recipes which make me feel like I've ended up with more batter than fish. This is my new go-to recipe for battering my fried fish. Adding different spice combinations can yield some delicious results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Great! My husband and I have never had fish & chips before because I'm not a fan of fried foods but this batter was simple and light. We really enjoyed it! I added garlic and herb seasoning and paprika. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Very good and it really taste great with tarter sauce! I tried it with cod very good DH loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Beer Battered Fish

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.5
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    32%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 108.2 mg
    36%
    Sodium 697.9 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fish

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites