Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Beef Pot Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Beef Pot Pie

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2010

      This is a great use for leftover beef. I didn't have tomatoe paste, so used 2T ketchup instead. I also used stock + worcestershire. It was very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2014

      Sorry to be the loner here, but ours was waaaay too peppery. I questioned the teaspoon of red pepper flakes and should have gone with my gut and backed way off for our tastes. The method and ingredients were otherwise great and I would be willing to try again, but without the pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      Hubby made this, and gave it a rare 5 star rating. We used consumme, fresh beef and omitted the butter (the juices from the beef were sufficient and added deeper flavor). We took this to a Christmas pie party and there were no leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      This was a great way to use up some left over BBQ steak that my husband made. I liked the flavours while i was cooking it but the overall finished product was just ok. It wasnt bad and i may make it again but i didnt love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Delicious and, as at least one other reviewer has noted already, adaptable recipe. I made this using the pastry from Tender Beef Pot Pie W/Thyme and Pepper Pastry. For the veggies, I subbed 2 medium sweet potatoes for the potatoes and carrots, a red bell pepper for one of the onions and one of the celery ribs, omitted the mushrooms and added half of a small head of cabbage. I then prepared pretty much as directed, sauteeing the cabbage separately for about five minutes before adding it along with the garlic in step five.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I made this to use some leftover Deer Roast Marinade. I used beef broth/worcestershire and cooked 2 fresh potatoes to combine with the leftover potatoes from the roast. I was even able to use some leftover pie crust! I omitted the thyme because my husband doesn't like it, but there was still plenty of flavor. I used two cans of mushrooms - each was 4 oz. drained weight. I think I might freeze the rest of my leftover meat and make this pot pie again in a couple of weeks. I'll just have to make a pie crust next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Wow! I saw Kittencal's name in the title and didn't even bother with reading the reviews, I knew it would be ausome. I was right. I used this recipe for some leftover venison tenderloin that I had made. I did not have any leftover gravy, but I had bought some canned beef gravy and used it. The boughten gravy was a little bland so I used the worshteshire too. After 5 min of simmering I tasted it and HOLY CRAP, it almost got eaten right then and there. It was so good!!!! I had a really hard time waiting the rest of the 15 min before I put it in the oven. I used home canned carrots and potatos with the filling. The only change I made was to use mashed potatos instead of a pie crust. This probably actually makes this a cottage pie instead of a pot pie, but I had left over mashed potatos and didn't want to waste them. This is so good and I will use it for all my left over beef and venison from now on. Thanks so much again Kittencal!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      This should have WAY more ratings! It's fantastic! Thanks so much for an excellent recipe! Added some sauteed peppers, a can of green beans and minced garlic, it was love at first try! The family gave it high reviews as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Excellent and adaptable recipe! I made this without onion, since I'm out, but added garlic. I also subbed canned carrots, and added corn. No mushrooms since DH is picky. (This is the adaptable part.) The directions were fantastic and right on. The only change I would have made would have been to boil the potatoes while the rest of the mix was simmering. This was awesome, and I will definitely make it again. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      Divine, delish, delectable! Excellent recipe! So flavourful, Kittencal. I already had the leftover roast and gravy in the freezer. It's wet, windy and cold downunder just now and meat pies are a real aussie staple, so I turned to the zaar for inspiration and was not disappointed. The only change I made was to add 2 cups diced parsnip-- they hold their shape so nicely, and one cup frozen peas to round out the daily veg quota. Also used fresh mushrooms. The recipe made 3 12"sq pies, one to eat and 2 to freeze for later. I used frozen shortcrust pastry, top only (I was always told that's why they call it pot pie...). Thanks for another great recipe-- one to make often. Much appreciated!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Kittencal this is a great recipe! I used this used left overs from Kittencal's Easy Crock Pot Chuck Roast With Vegetables. Delicious! I used a casserole pie plate and did use a bottom and top pie crust (Kittencal's No-Fail Buttery Flaky Pie Pastry/Crust) Definitely a recipe I will use any time I have leftover roast beef! Thanks again for another great dinner!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      This was so good! I only used one celery stalk, we are not huge fans of celery, otherwise followed as written and it was VERY good, a nice way to use that leftover prime rib. Thanks so much for the recipe Kitten, don't know what I would do without you and your recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Hi Kitten, I just made this and it's so good. Well actually the filling is good.It's in the freezer and that will be one of my meals for that week.Thanks for posting;I'm sure this is going to be a great meal. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      This was a great recipe for using up left-over roast beef. l was in a hurry so l didn't let it simmer as long as l should and l only added one can of broth instead of 2 cups. My whole family loved it!!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Beef Pot Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (383 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 661.2
     
    Calories from Fat 303
    45%
    Total Fat 33.7 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 14.9 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 44.1 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1190.9 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.3 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 9.7 g
    38%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 15.3 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked beef

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes