116 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

In an effort to save money and time, I buy large packages of meat from Costco. I cook part of the meat right away and freeze the rest for later. Several months ago, I bought a large package of pork chops, six of which I put together with your marinade and froze for future use. This week I thawed the porkchops and grilled them. They were amazing; very moist and tender! I'm picky about pork too. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thank you! P.S. I did let the porkchops marinate for 24 hours in the refrigerator first, before freezing them.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phat & Sassy May 20, 2010

What WONDERFUL flavor this has! I set aside 1/2 cup of the recipe in a separate container from the meat marinade and used it for cooking. I marinated a 2 lb pork tenderloin for 24 hours. Put the meat in my crockpot. Made 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth from bouillon granules and mixed it with the reserved marinade. Cooked it for 1 hour on high, and low for 4. Pulled the meat apart and stirred it around in the broth and let it marinate for another hour before serving. You could use the liquid to make a gravy or just use as "au jus" for your pork or on mashed potatoes or do both. I made Supreme Garlic Mashed Potatoes Supreme Garlic Mashed Potatoes to go with our meal. Another winner recipe on here!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenniegal November 20, 2009

A wonderful basic marinade! I only had time to marinate for 6 hours but the pork still turned out so tender and flavourful. Would use a touch less honey the next time to keep things decidedly savoury. Thank you for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee May 30, 2012

This is the just the best! We buy a 3 lb. cut of inexpensive meat from costco, let it marinade a day or two, and it is better than any restaurant steak you can get. I only make about a lb. at a time, and then, while grilling, pour the leftover marinade over the steaks. (I also add a bit more ginger, as it is very good.) Thanks! Just an afterthought: for those who think it tastes too much like soy sauce...I actually switch the soy sauce amount and the worchestershire amount around. I never actually made it as written, but that was the only sub I made at first. Now I also add some red wine for flavour and some ketchup to thicken it up. Another thought; I have had to use brown sugar before and it did turn out fine, with no burning. (but maybe I got lucky)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmagique March 07, 2010

Holy Cow!!!! YUM, YUM, YUM! I know you don't really need another review for this, but I can't help sharing my story! My hubby is a hunter and he recently harvested a wild hog. We ended up w/ lots of pork chops, and I was so apprehensive about them to say the least. However, I felt very confident in a marinade created by Kittencal, and I was not disappointed at all! It's b/c of this recipe that I was able to eat WILD HOG MEAT! My hubby was beside himself with excitement - he had to call all his buddies about how great our meal was! Thank you, Kittencal, I loooooove your recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GraceSC May 25, 2009

Hey, Kittencal! This combination of flavors is outstanding and I thank you for sharing. I love to marinate and your recipe made our top sirloin super flavorful and tender. Still wondering though about what makes it so special. Perhaps the ginger? At any rate, I can hardly wait to use it again. With gratitude, E.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1TexasLizard July 18, 2005

We used this on pork steaks and this sweet marinade is perfect for pork. I haven't tried it on beef YET but we will soon. I think this is my go to marinade for pork steaks. We like them but sometimes they come out blah, not anymore. This marinade is very flavorful, thank you for helping us out in that area.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 28, 2013

It was beautifully yummy :D And that's coming from someone who doesn't like to eat steak!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
honeycrisp January 14, 2013

Tis marinade is going in my little box of Hot Damn this is good!! Recipes because it is tasty and I also used it to marinade some Angus stew meat and it was wonderfully tasty and helped make the meat tender I like to season and flour mine and fry in the deep fryer for 9 mins and then serve on a plate alongside some yellow rice and add saut?ed red and orange bell peppers and onions cut into squares...umm, Mmm Good. %u2754%uD83C%uDF5B%uD83C%uDF74%uD83D%uDE0A

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demetria H. October 09, 2012
Kittencal's Beef or Pork Marinade and Tenderizer