13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I cook the onions and the liver in the bacon fat that I cook first.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeinSt.P April 11, 2012

Can't tell you how long ago I'd saved this recipe to try. Finally made it last night and DH hasn't stopped raving about it. The milk soak really made a differance. I made this just as directed except I did fry chopped bacon and used the grease from that to fry the onions and it has to be the best liver and onions I've ever had. Forgot that I wanted to try the cayenne pepper - but hey, it was still perfect. None of that sharp taste you usually get from liver. I served with Salt Potatoes New York Style and my pan roasted brussel sprouts and it was perfect. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 30, 2011

This an excellent liver recipe. Just make sure not to overcook, like my, Mom....and maybe yours

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m robert December 12, 2010

Just got done eating this liver and onions for lunch. Fantastic!!! This recipe was easy to make and for some reason it didn't even stink up the house while it was cooking! Perhaps it was the soaking in milk? I am not sure but Kittencal, I have loved every single one of the recipes I have made of yours :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Localvore March 16, 2009

This is a great recipe. I do not like liver. I can remember when my Mom fixed it and it was so bitter, tough and chewy! My husband loves it, so I tried. I used bacon grease in place of the oil, and followed the recipe otherwise. DH loved it, as did a friend who was invited. I found it to be tender and quite edible. Four kids even ate it, although one had to add ketchup to get it down! LOL! Thanks for a great recipe....I'm not afraid of liver anymore, and will cook this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elbow Macaroni November 09, 2008

OK. A couple of things. Obviously, the thickness of the liver will determine how long it's to be fried. I don't like it pink in the middle. I try to find thinly sliced liver so I can be sure it's done. The milk soak is wonderful, and possibly tenderizes the meat. The addition of the sugar to the onions is good, too. This is a good recipe, but I have modified it to fit my preferences.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clevergirl3 December 19, 2013

This is the best liver and onions I have ever made. Similar to what my English Dad used to make, though I never knew (until now) the exact method. Couple minor tweaks - pound the liver to uniform thickness, so it will cook evenly. I double-dipped mine in the milk (I used buttermilk) marinade and seasoned flour, and it devoped a nice bit of a crust something like chicken fried steak. Also deglazed my onion pan with a splash of cooking sherry and Worcestershire. So delicious. Even my liver-loathing bf ate it without complaint. It seems that liver is a food many people associate with childhood memories of being forced to clean their plate of a food that has a gamey taste, rancid aroma and texture like boot leather. My bf is one of these unfortunate souls. I convinced him to try this and he pronounced it edible, though still not a liver convert, did enjoy his dinner without grimacing. Served with smashed potatoes and crispy bacon. Leftovers stayed tender after being reheated in the microwave the next day. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cecily Parsley April 05, 2011

Ok - I'm gonna try it - but only because it's coming from you Kittencal. Both my kids have to iron, so I hope they like this. It will score big points with the hubby, I might even try liver for the 1st time. You are the reason I cook now. Your recipes are always well written, easy to follow, and turn out delicious. So I'll rate this 5 stars in good faith and let you know later how it turned out. %u03A3%u03B1%u03C2 %u03B5%u03C5%u03C7%u03B1%u03C1%u03B9%u03C3%u03C4%u03CE!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wishicudcook September 23, 2010

This is the way that I've always prepared liver, but I do one thing differently. I always prepare 2 packages of beef gravy and pour it over the liver and onions before putting it in the oven. It's even better this way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Daycare Lady October 05, 2009

This is a great liver recipe! I remember the liver my mom used to make, and it tasted very strong. Soaking in milk definately tones down the 'livery' flavor, the coating tastes great on it, and I was sceptical about the sugar in the onions, but went for it, and it complements it perfectly! (Even got my 4yr old to eat this!) =D Thanks for another great recipe Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silvano July 25, 2008
Kittencal's Beef Liver and Onions