Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Beef Liver and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Beef Liver and Onions

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2012

      I cook the onions and the liver in the bacon fat that I cook first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      Can't tell you how long ago I'd saved this recipe to try. Finally made it last night and DH hasn't stopped raving about it. The milk soak really made a differance. I made this just as directed except I did fry chopped bacon and used the grease from that to fry the onions and it has to be the best liver and onions I've ever had. Forgot that I wanted to try the cayenne pepper - but hey, it was still perfect. None of that sharp taste you usually get from liver. I served with Salt Potatoes New York Style and my pan roasted brussel sprouts and it was perfect. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      This an excellent liver recipe. Just make sure not to overcook, like my, Mom....and maybe yours

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Just got done eating this liver and onions for lunch. Fantastic!!! This recipe was easy to make and for some reason it didn't even stink up the house while it was cooking! Perhaps it was the soaking in milk? I am not sure but Kittencal, I have loved every single one of the recipes I have made of yours :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      This is a great recipe. I do not like liver. I can remember when my Mom fixed it and it was so bitter, tough and chewy! My husband loves it, so I tried. I used bacon grease in place of the oil, and followed the recipe otherwise. DH loved it, as did a friend who was invited. I found it to be tender and quite edible. Four kids even ate it, although one had to add ketchup to get it down! LOL! Thanks for a great recipe....I'm not afraid of liver anymore, and will cook this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      OK. A couple of things. Obviously, the thickness of the liver will determine how long it's to be fried. I don't like it pink in the middle. I try to find thinly sliced liver so I can be sure it's done. The milk soak is wonderful, and possibly tenderizes the meat. The addition of the sugar to the onions is good, too. This is a good recipe, but I have modified it to fit my preferences.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      This is the best liver and onions I have ever made. Similar to what my English Dad used to make, though I never knew (until now) the exact method. Couple minor tweaks - pound the liver to uniform thickness, so it will cook evenly. I double-dipped mine in the milk (I used buttermilk) marinade and seasoned flour, and it devoped a nice bit of a crust something like chicken fried steak. Also deglazed my onion pan with a splash of cooking sherry and Worcestershire. So delicious. Even my liver-loathing bf ate it without complaint. It seems that liver is a food many people associate with childhood memories of being forced to clean their plate of a food that has a gamey taste, rancid aroma and texture like boot leather. My bf is one of these unfortunate souls. I convinced him to try this and he pronounced it edible, though still not a liver convert, did enjoy his dinner without grimacing. Served with smashed potatoes and crispy bacon. Leftovers stayed tender after being reheated in the microwave the next day. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      Ok - I'm gonna try it - but only because it's coming from you Kittencal. Both my kids have to iron, so I hope they like this. It will score big points with the hubby, I might even try liver for the 1st time. You are the reason I cook now. Your recipes are always well written, easy to follow, and turn out delicious. So I'll rate this 5 stars in good faith and let you know later how it turned out. %u03A3%u03B1%u03C2 %u03B5%u03C5%u03C7%u03B1%u03C1%u03B9%u03C3%u03C4%u03CE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This is the way that I've always prepared liver, but I do one thing differently. I always prepare 2 packages of beef gravy and pour it over the liver and onions before putting it in the oven. It's even better this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      This is a great liver recipe! I remember the liver my mom used to make, and it tasted very strong. Soaking in milk definately tones down the 'livery' flavor, the coating tastes great on it, and I was sceptical about the sugar in the onions, but went for it, and it complements it perfectly! (Even got my 4yr old to eat this!) =D Thanks for another great recipe Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      Excellent. I have never soaked liver in milk before and I think that it really improved the flavour. If you are at all a little 'iffy' about eating liver, this is the method for you to try. It is very important not to overcook it. (Your mother cooked it that way and that is why you didn't like it.) Thanks Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      I had 1 lb of liver, so used 1 large and 1 medium onion. I've never made liver b4, so the only thing i wasn't sure about was how long to cook the liver. I think a few of the pieces were still a little red, but I had read you can eat it almost raw. I didn't have seasoning salt, so used regular, but would try to get some for this dish. I think the onions make the dish. It tastes okay without them, but with a big pile of onions on, it's great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      Nice recipe, adding the sugar to the onions I thought was not needed but in the end with the liver it was very tasty. Thanks for the recipe as I will make it this way all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Beef Liver and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (980 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1444.2
     
    Calories from Fat 405
    28%
    Total Fat 45.0 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 16.3 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 2222.8 mg
    740%
    Sodium 634.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.4 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 169.2 g
    338%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites