74 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is great. Very light and fluffy. I was surprised that the texture wasn't dense. I used 1/2 nonfat vanilla yogurt and 1/2 light sour cream (it's what I had). Thanks! 2nd time around used container of Banana Cream Pie yogurt and some ff sour cream, 1/2 c. ww flour and 1 c. flour & splenda in place of sugar. I made it as a cake this time and made Peanut Butter Frosting using 1/2 c. Reduced Fat PB and 1/2 c. powdered sugar with some skim. Awesome!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KadesMom April 21, 2009

Well, after 40-something 4 and 5 star reviews, there isn't much to add. I just wanted to thank you, once again, for a great recipe, Kittencal. This cake was really easy to throw together, and baked up nice, light and fluffy in exactly 25 minutes at 350. Perfect! I wanted to bake up a low fat sweet snack, and had to make do with what I had on hand. This recipe certainly fit the bill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenMtnGirl March 16, 2009

I was very impressed by the texture of this cake. I enjoy doing low fat baking, but there is usually more of a texture change. I used only 1/2 of a cup of sugar since I used sweetened light vanilla yogurt. I also topped with pecans which toasted nicely in the oven. We enjoyed this for breakfast with tea. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
psulauren February 08, 2009

So yummy!! My kids helped me make this, as I doubled the recipe. This made an 8x8 cake, and 18 muffins. This had great flavor, and hit the spot. They were sweet, but not too sweet. The banana flavor was very subtle. I also added a little bit of cinnamon/sugar mix on top of both the cake and muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paige_kirk February 05, 2009

I made muffins for work. I doubled the recipe, using sour cream in lieu of yogart. Made 24 regular size muffins which needed to bake 25 minutes in my oven. They were a lovely golden brown . I had sprayed the muffin tins with Pam (no liners) and they came out very easily without sticking. They were a big hit at my office.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam'sJoy January 30, 2009

Very moist and delicious cake. I didn't have any yogurt or light sour cream so I used regular sour cream. So much for being low-fat but it was excellent.:) It was worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB January 30, 2009

WOW! This was a wonderful surprise. I usually have difficuly with lower fat baked goods being dry or having a 'spongy' texture. This cake was light, fluffy and very moist. I actually baked them into muffins and my family devoured them in one day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leblanc.heather January 13, 2009

In memory 2008. Yummy! So moist with a hint of cinnamon. Quick, easy and I had almost everything on hand to make it. I did sub the yogurt for full fat sour cream. I left it right in the baking pan and did not top it with anything. It was delicious and most of it eaten before it cooled! Thanks for yet another winner in my home!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MammaBear23 December 06, 2008

Delicious. I halved the recipe (since I only had one small banana that was ripe enough). In doing so, I altered the halved ingredients by using 1/4 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup unbleached flour, just under 1/4 cup sugar, one whole egg, and 1/2 cup nonfat plain yogurt. I will definitely make this again, and encourage others to make it as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gross.s.e September 28, 2008
Kittencal's Banana Cinnamon Snack Cake or Muffins (Low-Fat)