Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Banana Cinnamon Snack Cake or Muffins (Low-Fat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Banana Cinnamon Snack Cake or Muffins (Low-Fat)

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2010

      I am always looking for healthier snack and dessert recipes for the diabetic in my house. This recipe was wonderful! I used Splenda instead of sugar, and it came out so moist and fluffy and nicely-risen. I've not had much luck in the past adapting recipes by substituting Splenda, as many recipes turn out flat or dry, but I was very pleasantly surprised this time! The whole family enjoyed this. I know I will be making this again and again. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      These were so delicious! I made them into mini muffins and used 1cup of strawberry yogurt and less than 1/2 cup of sugar. They were moist and not too sweet. Everyone loved them and didn't even know they were low fat. They were fantastic, thank you so much for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      yum! super moist snack!! i used only 1/3 c. of loosely packed brown sugar and then added a thick sprinkle of cinnamon sugar and some quick oats on top. i didn't have fat-free yogurt, so i used 1 c. buttermilk. i didn't measure the banana, but i only had one and that's what i used. turned out great. next time i make it, i will use natural applesauce in place of the oil. thanks for a healthy and delish recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Awesome! I didn't have quite enough banana, so I put in a little milk. I used half Greek yogurt with honey and half Greek vanilla flavored yogurt, and cut the sugar down to less than 1/2 cup. It was a huge hit with no extra adornment. Thanks for a simple, delicious solution to what to do with that one overly-brown banana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Made this using light sour cream, and it turned out great! Made it as 12 muffins and baked for 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      Fantastic recipe! I made muffins earlier this week & am making a cake for my grandma now. This recipe was so simple, thank you for sharing. They taste so good, I can't believe that they are low fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This is so delicious, hard to believe it is low-fat. We loved this and I will make this again. I used low fat sour cream and it turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Oh my heavens...SO WONDERFUL for such a light cake!!!! We LOVED it! I was trying to use up ripe banana's and came across this recipe because it had the lowest amount of sugar required of any other banana bread (I was almost completely out of sugar!) recipe. I used lowfat vanilla yogurt and had to sub a small amount of brown sugar in to make my 1/2 cup of sugar. This was outstanding! Super moist, super tasty and not at all lowfat tasting! My kids each had two helping of this for breakfast (which NEVER happens!) and my husband I also declared this one a true winner. Kitten...you've done it again! LOVED IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Absolutely delish!! These were so moist and tasty, and very easy to make. I added 1/2 cup pecans, and baked up a dozen muffins, which took around 20 minutes to bake. Kitt, thanks for sharing another one of your excellent recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This is great. Very light and fluffy. I was surprised that the texture wasn't dense. I used 1/2 nonfat vanilla yogurt and 1/2 light sour cream (it's what I had). Thanks! 2nd time around used container of Banana Cream Pie yogurt and some ff sour cream, 1/2 c. ww flour and 1 c. flour & splenda in place of sugar. I made it as a cake this time and made Peanut Butter Frosting using 1/2 c. Reduced Fat PB and 1/2 c. powdered sugar with some skim. Awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

    • on March 16, 2009

      Well, after 40-something 4 and 5 star reviews, there isn't much to add. I just wanted to thank you, once again, for a great recipe, Kittencal. This cake was really easy to throw together, and baked up nice, light and fluffy in exactly 25 minutes at 350. Perfect! I wanted to bake up a low fat sweet snack, and had to make do with what I had on hand. This recipe certainly fit the bill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I was very impressed by the texture of this cake. I enjoy doing low fat baking, but there is usually more of a texture change. I used only 1/2 of a cup of sugar since I used sweetened light vanilla yogurt. I also topped with pecans which toasted nicely in the oven. We enjoyed this for breakfast with tea. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      So yummy!! My kids helped me make this, as I doubled the recipe. This made an 8x8 cake, and 18 muffins. This had great flavor, and hit the spot. They were sweet, but not too sweet. The banana flavor was very subtle. I also added a little bit of cinnamon/sugar mix on top of both the cake and muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      I made muffins for work. I doubled the recipe, using sour cream in lieu of yogart. Made 24 regular size muffins which needed to bake 25 minutes in my oven. They were a lovely golden brown . I had sprayed the muffin tins with Pam (no liners) and they came out very easily without sticking. They were a big hit at my office.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Very moist and delicious cake. I didn't have any yogurt or light sour cream so I used regular sour cream. So much for being low-fat but it was excellent.:) It was worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      WOW! This was a wonderful surprise. I usually have difficuly with lower fat baked goods being dry or having a 'spongy' texture. This cake was light, fluffy and very moist. I actually baked them into muffins and my family devoured them in one day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      In memory 2008. Yummy! So moist with a hint of cinnamon. Quick, easy and I had almost everything on hand to make it. I did sub the yogurt for full fat sour cream. I left it right in the baking pan and did not top it with anything. It was delicious and most of it eaten before it cooled! Thanks for yet another winner in my home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Delicious. I halved the recipe (since I only had one small banana that was ripe enough). In doing so, I altered the halved ingredients by using 1/4 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup unbleached flour, just under 1/4 cup sugar, one whole egg, and 1/2 cup nonfat plain yogurt. I will definitely make this again, and encourage others to make it as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      This recipe is very moist. I used 2 medium-sized bananas and only 1/2 cup sugar. It'd taste great with tea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Banana Cinnamon Snack Cake or Muffins (Low-Fat)

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 183.1
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    18%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 21.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 379.3 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites