70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent dressing. I halved the recipe and just put the ingredients all at one time in to a deep container and used the immersion blender. It emulsified beautifully and was actually too thick for my purposes. I added 2 TBSP of water and it pours nicely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned December 02, 2013

Fantastic and easy! I spent over and hour picking lettuce, radishes, peas, etc out of my garden; washing it all; chopping it all; boiling eggs, frying bacon, grating cheese. I get my gorgeous salad assembled and go to the fridge...there is not one single bottle of salad dressing. Once again, Kittencal saves the day. I just poured all the ingredients into an old olive jar and shook until blended. My salad is wonderful. Thanks Kittencal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherN May 29, 2012

Whoa, WOW...this stuff is great! Needed this for a Chicken/Pear hero sandwich (rotisserie chicken breast served on a baguette w/ Bartlett pear slices & balsamic vinaigrette). The sandwich was very good....the Balsamic vinaigrette was great (& we didn't have time to allow it to chill as directed) I cannot wait to try this on more things. Kitten, your recipes never disappoint--thanks for another winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud April 23, 2012

I was looking for a vinaigrette with some substance to serve over a dinner of quinoa, roasted acorn squash, other roasted veggies & feta. This was perfect. I was afraid it might be too sweet, but it wasn't. I liked that the honey thickened it up a little. I may in the future add some shallot, but other than that, I don't see any reason to veer from the original. Quick, easy and tasty, tasty, tasty!!! Thanks Kitten :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ala-kat February 27, 2012

Wow! Kittencal, you've done it again! This is just slightly better than my standard oil and balsamic dressing. When I say just slightly better, I mean it is just slightly harder but the result is so much more dramatic. The flavor reminds me of a dressing I had at a very fancy restaurant! The only other thing I can say was that this was so good my 19 month old asked for sticks of red pepper so she could just keep eating this dressing. Anything that gets a toddler to ask for vegi's is at least deserving of 10 stars!!!!!! Thanks kittencal!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender December 21, 2011

I feel so guilty as i make this dressing ALL the time and have never got 'round to reviewing it until now! Just wanted to say that this is a GREAT dressing and EVERY time I make it, at least one person asks for the recipe! It is super-easy to make and tastes 1000 times better than anything you can get in a bottle at the supermarket. I make it exactly as stated, except that I only use 1/2 tsp of salt (personal preference) because the first time I made it, it seemed very salty to me? But other than that it is perfect perfect perfect, thanks so much KC !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michaelk69 August 05, 2011

Kittencal, I don't understand the concept of only "one" garlic clove. *grin* I made my first batch as-is, and loved it. But the next time I made it, I doubled the recipe and quadrupled the garlic. I subbed red wine vinegar for the honey to cut the sweetness, as the balsamic alone is plenty sweet enough for me. I mixed all the ingredients (except the oil) in a Vitamix blender to mince and blend the garlic. I added the ingredients plus the oil to a lidded jar and shook it all up. It stays mixed pretty good this way. No fancy kitchen equipment needed. Thanks, Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glitterik April 19, 2015

I needed an emergency balsamic vinaigrette and I had all the ingredients on hand for this one. <br/> <br/>I put all the ingredients in a bowl at once and used an immersion blender (like K9 Owned did), and it came out fantastic! I know it says to let it chill, but we used it immediately and it was delicious and just the right texture! <br/><br/>Everyone in my family loved it. This is my new favorite dressing. <br/> <br/>Thanks so much Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ravedeb May 29, 2014

Hey Carol~
I just wipped this up to go with a spinach and mushroom salad for tonight-it's lovely! LOVE the hint of honey! Spot on ingredients!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's March 01, 2013

Kittencal you've done it again. Absolutely delicious! Wow ~ Thanks for another fantastic recipe! I used this on a Gorgonzola / Pear salad with candied pecans (mixed greens and spinach) - it was upscale restaurant worthy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babychops October 31, 2012
Kittencal's Balsamic Vinaigrette