Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Bakery Coconut Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Bakery Coconut Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2010

      Kittencal has NEVER let me down, and this is no exception. My hunny mentioned while eating at Baker's Square that coconut cream was his fave, but he was a tough critic and his slice was under par. Valentines day comes along, and I try Kitten's recipe of course. Let me tell you, he was floored, raving with praise for this pie. It was the best of the best, ever. Need I say more? Oh, I followed the recipe to a T. Right down to the coconut extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Loved it and so did my guests. People were fighting over this pie. I followed the recipe except I whipped up 2 cups of cream instead of 1 and put half a cup of cream in the pie and piled the rest of the cream on top. I used stablizer so the cream stayed intact. Bakery quality? I would say better don't sell yourself short Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      A friend of mine bought a coconut on a random whim from an exotic food store and after finally peeling away the husk and cracking it open, we drained the milk and started thinking up what we should make with it. We came across this pie recipe and decided it was a fantastic idea. We forgot to buy coconut extract and when we got home we realized there was very little vanilla extract in the bottle, only a couple of drops. We substituted with a maple extract that we found in the back of the cabinet and added a couple dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg as well as the coconut meat we peeled ourselves and some sweetened coconut shreds mixed with it. The pie came out interesting but absolutely delicious! My friend's mom was so tempted to eat the pie mix when we let her taste it before it even made it into the pie crust!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      I can't really rate it on taste because I didn't eat any of it. But, I found it simple to make and it looked really good when it was completed. My husband loved it though. His words were "it's awesome"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      I'm never going to buy a coconut cream pie from the bakery again! This is so delicious, I couldn't believe that I made it! I used So Delicious Coconut Milk for the coconut milk, and half-and-half for the table cream. I accidentally goofed on the whipped cream and added 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 1/4 cup of sugar, but it still turned out great! Kittencal delivers AGAIN!!! Thank you so much for this awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      This was an awesome pie. I will make it again. Followed the recipe exactly. Icluding the coconut extract.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      This pie was the absolute BOMB! I'm not really a pie person, but I made the pina colada version for my family the other night, and it was the best pie I've ever had. Even my Dad, who's a pie guy, said it was the best he ever had. KittenCal always has the best recipes! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      HELP...not really sure if I made a mistake with this one...followed the recipe exactly...when I reached the direction of putting the custard back on the stove, I was stirring constantly with a medium flame and even timed myself as the directions call for ten minutes...after 3 minutes the custard started to sieze up and resembled tapioca or rice pudding consistency so being this was my second try at it (threw the first batch out) I removed it from the heat hoping it would set up firm...no such luck...goopy and runny...but the flavor was amazing...should I have cooked it for the whole ten minutes...I was afraid it would be ruined...would like to try this recipe again...served it to family and friends and they ate it as it was...I would just like to get the consistency right...anyone else experience this????

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Another wonderful recipe from a fabulous cook! I have made this several times in the last year I just keep forgetting to go back and review it. I followed the recipe for the coconut cream exactly (including the coconut extract) and have had great results. I served mine in parfait glasses with toasted coconut, however it has always been firm enough to make a pie that would hold its shape after cutting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I'm sure it is entirely my fault that this recipe didn't work, but it turned out to be a sloppy, goopy mess! I also thought the addition of the coconut extract gave it a really artificial flavour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      This was great! The coconut filling was the best I have had....ever. I used the coconut milk, the coconut extract and I folded in the coconut. The one thing I found was that using 1 cup of cream was not enough to fold in the filling and also have enough to top the pie with. I used 2 cups unwhipped cream. Once it was whippes, I folded half in to the filling and used the other half as the topping. That was the perfect amount. I made it the day before and let it set up in the fridge overnight....perfection!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Pretty easy to follow directions to follow, BUT - am I missing something? The Ingredients state that you need 1 cup of sweetened flaked coconut for the filling, PLUS 2 tablespoons cocunut for the garnish. WHERE in the recipe does it tell me to put the 1 cup of coconut? I've never had coconut pie before, and am making it at my in-laws request. Oh dear..... is this going to be another failure that I'll have to live down?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      Followed the instructions to the letter and it was... Amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      I could not believe how simple this was to make. It was also very delicious! Just the right amount of coconut flavor (I did use the coconut extract in mine). It was delightful! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      Absolutely fabulous! I really loved using coconut milk in it -- brilliant! Didn't have the coconut flavoring (I'll buy some before the next time I make this). My vanilla darkened and greyed the mixture more than I liked but, boy, was the flavor wonderful. Thanks again Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      My DH loved this pie. I think he dove into it too soon because it was still a little loose, but the flavor was awesome! I was right. The next day, the pie had set up and even more delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      I made this for my dad's 74th birthday and he really enjoyed it (as did the rest of the family). I did not have coconut extract, so I substituted Malibu rum (yum!). The pie was fairly easy to put together and I am glad I chose this recipe. So many of Kittencal's recipes are in my tried and true file--thank you Kittencal for making life tastier for so many of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      After 23 years of marriage, I finally made my husband a coconut cream pie. Not being a fan of coconut, I had never made one. I found this recipe and since it was from Kittencal, I knew it had to be good. Well, I made it as directed (with the coconut milk) and apparently it was tasty and delicious. My husband kept bragging to his co-worker about the pie. They harassed him until he brought some in for them to taste. Needless to say...I just made another pie for my husband's co-workers...thanks for sharing another fabulous recipe Kittencal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      Made this for my daughter's graduation party and it was a big hit! I probably added more of the whipped cream to the filling because I read in the reviews that you should make more than the recipe called for. I used an extra half cup of creme and there was plenty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      This pie was phenomenal and a huge hit at the office. Not only did I have people asking for the recipe; but someone asked if I would make it for them if they paid me! I have a 12 inch pie pan and adjusted the ingredients to 1 1/2 times the amount without any problems. I also added extra vanilla and coconut extract because I'm a huge fan of both. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Bakery Coconut Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 690.1
     
    Calories from Fat 445
    64%
    Total Fat 49.5 g
    76%
    Saturated Fat 32.4 g
    162%
    Cholesterol 149.3 mg
    49%
    Sodium 231.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.2 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 33.9 g
    135%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes