Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Bakery Buttercream Frosting/Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Bakery Buttercream Frosting/Icing

    Average Rating:

    185 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 185

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2011

      Once again you remind me why I always look for your name when I search out a recipe. Kittencal has actually become synonymus with awesome in our house; in fact, when my 9-year-old raved about how yummy this frosting is, I said "It's a Kittencal," to which he responded with a shrug, "That explains it." :) YUMMY!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      I honestly don't know how this can have such great reviews...The icing is too too sweet and greasy...It does hold its shape well if you are piping a border..hence the 1 star but overall taste is DISGUSTING!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      This was an amazing buttercream frosting! The consistency was light and sugary, and was the perfect consistency for piping - not too runny, but not too thick. I followed the recipe as directed, using heavy cream but only 4 cups of confectioner's sugar and it was the perfect thickness. The only improvement I would make would be to leave out the almond extract, because it is a very powerful additive and tends to make the frosting taste too much like cherries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Sorry, but...YUCK! It was all nasty like eating WAY to vanilla-y crisco. Totally gross. This was my first time making a frosting recipe that called for shortening and I thought it sounded weird but this had such great reviews so I tried it. Nope. Never again will shortening go in my frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Excellent recipe!! It was very easy to make and decorate with. And it tastes great too. I used butter and coconut oil (which has the consistency of shortening). I added red food coloring to make pink valentines cupcakes. Thanks for another great one :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      The people who left one star reviews confuse me, unless they never have a cake from a bakery with white icing. This is as close to the best bakery around here that I can get, and this icing beats their's hands down. We love this stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      I wish this had worked out better for me, as the reviews are so good! I used a different kind of shortening, and butter.... Had a hard time getting the frosting to come together thick enough, and it ended up too sugary for my taste. It might be because i didn't use the exact brands, but I would've appreciated a recipe for frosting that allows for creative deviation! Still on the hunt for "the perfect frosting recipe".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      Ack - this was greasy and gritty and tasted like sweetened shortening, even with extra cream, vanilla, and mixing. I ended up pitching the whole bowl and using another recipe to frost my cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2014

      Oh wow! This was delicious! I used it on my Easter bunny cake this year. So delicious! I used whole milk and only used 1/4 tsp of almond extract. Was the perfect amount to cover the cake with just a little leftover. Will use this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      thought this recipe was awesome, I couldn't find mine so I went searching for one that was similar. I used butter in place of margarine and also clear vanilla extract and butter flavor to enhance the butter in it. very good thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      I'm not a huge fan of frosting, but this recipe was pretty good. It still had a bit of the straight powdered sugar taste, which is a deterrent for me. Overall it was just too sweet. As ashemiku said in her review, it might be good to leave out the almond extract. If I make this again I'll try that, and not use the full 5 of powdered sugar either.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      I liked this but thought it was a little greasy also

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      Wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly and my buttercream turned out beautifully spreadable and tasty. I will definitely use this again. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      Delicious! Used butter-flavored Crisco that I had on hand, real butter and only 4 cups of powdered sugar. Also omitted the almond flavor (not a fan). The consistency was perfect. This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      Awesome as usual Kitten!!! I made my first vegan cake and needed vegan icing so I did this with a vegan butter substitute.... amazing! The only "change" I made was adding 1/3 cup of sweetened shaved coconut to the mix at the end, yum! THANK YOU!!! Please keep on posting ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      Your recipes are spot on though so turn to them. added my changes for recipe and my gall bladder requirements. Used for an almond cake I had filled with lemon pie filling so used some of the pie filling, halved the margarine only used butter and for Crisco halved that but used butter flavored Crisco. since added the pie filling had to increase the confectioners sugar but all and all it was wonderful and people love the recipes I glean from you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      OMG!!!!!! This recipe is absolutely perfect!!!!!!! I was searching for a buttercream recipe that tasted as close as I could come to the way I remember the bakery buttercream tasting from the bakeries in NJ when I was a little kid and my folks used to order these for our birthdays. You are spot on!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      Amazing! Tasted incredible. My sister in law couldn't keep her hand out of the bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      This is a great frosting, especially for piping. It is a bit on the sweet side, but I like it that way. I'm not sure why other reviewers said it was greasy. I did not think so. I think bakery frostings are greasier, and less sweet. This will be my go-to vanilla buttercream. I put up a pic of my vanilla cupcakes, piped with a Wilton 1M tip. Also, my five year old loved this frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      I too thought this recipe called for too much Crisco and considered using all butter; then I saw another reader who concurred. I tried it. My kitchen was so warm the frosting wouldn't set up so I did add 1/4 C. Crisco. My friends and family liked the frosting. This frosting is good but I'm going back to my rave fave: the original Red Velvet Cake frosting recipe. It takes longer and requires cooking but is worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Bakery Buttercream Frosting/Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (889 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1049.7
     
    Calories from Fat 463
    44%
    Total Fat 51.4 g
    79%
    Saturated Fat 22.7 g
    113%
    Cholesterol 70.7 mg
    23%
    Sodium 357.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 150.5 g
    50%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 147.0 g
    588%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites