189 Reviews

Once again you remind me why I always look for your name when I search out a recipe. Kittencal has actually become synonymus with awesome in our house; in fact, when my 9-year-old raved about how yummy this frosting is, I said "It's a Kittencal," to which he responded with a shrug, "That explains it." :) YUMMY!!!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pawsfurthought July 14, 2011

I honestly don't know how this can have such great reviews...The icing is too too sweet and greasy...It does hold its shape well if you are piping a border..hence the 1 star but overall taste is DISGUSTING!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munnumaa May 06, 2010

The people who left one star reviews confuse me, unless they never have a cake from a bakery with white icing. This is as close to the best bakery around here that I can get, and this icing beats their's hands down. We love this stuff!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krisinluck July 08, 2012

This was an amazing buttercream frosting! The consistency was light and sugary, and was the perfect consistency for piping - not too runny, but not too thick. I followed the recipe as directed, using heavy cream but only 4 cups of confectioner's sugar and it was the perfect thickness. The only improvement I would make would be to leave out the almond extract, because it is a very powerful additive and tends to make the frosting taste too much like cherries.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashemiku July 19, 2010

Sorry, but...YUCK! It was all nasty like eating WAY to vanilla-y crisco. Totally gross. This was my first time making a frosting recipe that called for shortening and I thought it sounded weird but this had such great reviews so I tried it. Nope. Never again will shortening go in my frosting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Selmas0ngs April 20, 2010

Excellent recipe!! It was very easy to make and decorate with. And it tastes great too. I used butter and coconut oil (which has the consistency of shortening). I added red food coloring to make pink valentines cupcakes. Thanks for another great one :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jake ryley'smommy February 28, 2010

Oh wow! This was delicious! I used it on my Easter bunny cake this year. So delicious! I used whole milk and only used 1/4 tsp of almond extract. Was the perfect amount to cover the cake with just a little leftover. Will use this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 April 22, 2014

thought this recipe was awesome, I couldn't find mine so I went searching for one that was similar. I used butter in place of margarine and also clear vanilla extract and butter flavor to enhance the butter in it. very good thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karenm3 July 25, 2011

I wish this had worked out better for me, as the reviews are so good! I used a different kind of shortening, and butter.... Had a hard time getting the frosting to come together thick enough, and it ended up too sugary for my taste. It might be because i didn't use the exact brands, but I would've appreciated a recipe for frosting that allows for creative deviation! Still on the hunt for "the perfect frosting recipe".

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flatlanderinVT May 09, 2011

I'm not a huge fan of frosting, but this recipe was pretty good. It still had a bit of the straight powdered sugar taste, which is a deterrent for me. Overall it was just too sweet. As ashemiku said in her review, it might be good to leave out the almond extract. If I make this again I'll try that, and not use the full 5 of powdered sugar either.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buelow January 13, 2011
Kittencal's Bakery Buttercream Frosting/Icing