91 Reviews

Wish I could give this 10 stars! I've made this 3 times in the past 6 weeks, the first time for the 4th of July celebration. It was wiped-out in minutes!

Then a friend gave us new potatoes from their garden and oh, my Goodness! Heaven in a bowl when I used them for this salad! I use some crumbled bacon, because I didn't have the chicken or ham. You can't go wrong putting bacon in anything, right?

This salad is perfect, as written...don't change anything!

Thanks, Kittencal, for another keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ziggy54 August 17, 2010

Excellent recipe! Took this to a family reunion today and the whole 9x13 was gone when I left! Quite tasty! I think the next time I make this, I will saute the white onion in butter first to soften it up a bit and make the onion flavor a bit more mild and sweet. I also used bacon bits, which worked really well and a 2 pound bag of frozen homestyle hashbrowns that had been thawed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheerindy September 27, 2009

This was sooooo GOOD! I had to make a few changes just because of the ingredients I had on hand but it was wonderful...just the same. I used about 8 cups of cubed leftover red potatoes and instead of ham I chopped up a pack of bacon a cooked it along with my onions. When the bacon was done I added this to my mixture bacon grease and all! I decreased my butter accordingly, about 2 tablespoons. This is such a great comfort dish. I could eat it as a main dish all by itself! Thanks again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3boys-and-me April 19, 2008

Outstanding. Instead of potatoes I used noodles. Very filling and satisfying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
docmarie June 24, 2007

This is a fantastic recipe which I'll be making over & over again!(already have!!) I preferred to serve it hot as part of a meal, and made sure that the potato cubes were not too big.I also omitted the bacon ( veggie in the family.) I don't feel we missed out on the delicious flavour by not including bacon. Thank you Kittencal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halfmoon August 15, 2006

this is a fantastic recipe. but, no need to peel potatoes. just wash them really well, and cube and cook. there are so many minerals in the potato peel itself, and there's really no need to throw them away unless the peel is tough or old.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leperez2005 May 25, 2006

Very easy and powerful punch in taste. I didn't have any left to take a picture of it! Tastes like I've been making it for years because it cooks so nicely. Thanks bunches!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelli August 30, 2014

I made this for a family BBQ today and it was a huge hit! I used frozen hash browns and omitted the meat since it was being served as a hot side dish. One of the reviewers suggested only using one of the onions and I used the green onions since. I'm glad I did - the flavor was perfect. My MIL asked for the recipe so I'm happy to share it. Thanks, Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kristan September 03, 2013

Wow, this is YUMMY! Like a previous reviewer, I used small red potatoes, and bacon. I made it ahead to take on a weekend picnic, and it was just perfect. Can't wait to also try it baked. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri 911 July 31, 2011

Very good! We had it cold and will be trying it again baked. I knew i would be serving to vegitarians, soi omitted the meat. I'll try adding bacon next time and I think a few more green onions. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview May 15, 2011
Kittencal's Baked Potato Salad Casserole (Or Cold Potato Salad)