12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were AWESOME! I made the entire batch and, rather than make soup, deep fried a dozen. Then I spread the rest on a cookie sheet and froze them until firm and packed them in batches of a dozen in bags. They're great to whip out and deep fry for a quick and easy nosh, rather than in a soup. No thawing required. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EthelP June 19, 2011

These were FANTASTIC and I could only let them sit for an hour or so to marinate. Delicious and better tasting than take out! I followed the recipe exactly and the seasoning was perfect. This made an entire package of wrappers for me.Thanks for posting....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Violinistame April 03, 2010

I have never made these, as they intimidated me! Hey, I'm not perfect, I'll admit it! But they were so easy! I forgot to count, but it made a lot! As susggested, I froze some. I added some water chestnuts, almost minced, to the ingredients just for that crunch. I made a simple chicken broth with the green onions,five-spice powder, soy sauce, and I added some slices of fennel which greatly kicked up the broth. These are fabulous! Made for Chef's Pick at KK.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER January 02, 2010

FANTASTIC recipe! This MADE MY DAY for me! Used combo pork/veal mince, TRUE! Added chopped bok choy to seap in at the end too! DEFINATELY witches hats is the way to go! "VERY addicting" like the posting chef said too! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder March 19, 2009

I didn't want to give this 5 stars but decided to because they don't go up to 10!!!! This was really terrific and I am on my second bowl. I used fresh ginger and regular soy sauce and the wontons are fabulous. I used about 2 teaspoons in each one and made 35. Also, I used Knorr wonton broth (not too much - it's fishy) and chicken broth to cook them in and even though they are bigger, they were cooked perfectly after 7 minutes. Thanks yet again for another great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif March 13, 2009

Made a double batch (made 52) and used the Chili-Spiced Wonton Soup broth for the soup base. Was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrl January 13, 2013

MOST EXCELLENT Wonton Soup! I shared the pot with my sisters family and she LOVED them! Thankyou for posting this great recipe Kittencalskitchen! I will be making this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ArtistsFoodPalette September 16, 2012

These are great! A lot easier to make than I was thinking. I used a tablespoon of fresh ginger, and next time I would use half that amount, I would also double the green onion. For the broth I used 6 cups of Better Than Bouillon and added a half a pinch of cinnamon. I also steamed some of the wontons with my vegetable steamer and then browned them in a tablespoon of olive oil, they turned out very well! My husband thinks they're better than the Chinese restaurant he orders his wonton soup from!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissCeleste March 22, 2012

Made these tonight but instead of using for soup I deep fried some of them and froze the rest for later. I didn't have pork on hand so I used ground turkey. Nice and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 October 15, 2011

Omg this was fantastic I just made broth by sauteing a green onion in some olive oil
and adding 4 cups of broth made with better than bouillon.
I still need practice making wontons.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gourmetgreasemonkey April 08, 2011
Kittencal's Asian Pork Wonton Soup Dumplings