Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Alfredo Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Alfredo Sauce

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2014

      As other reviewers have stated, Kittencal has another great recipe. It's not the best Alfredo I've ever had but it is the best alfredo I've ever made in under 10 minutes!! The thyme was not liked by the kids but the garlic flavor was just perfect. Yum!!<br/>Will definitely make again when we are short on time for dinner!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2014

      yes this has good flavor but the instant thickening left this recipe with a low star rating. alfredo sauce is to be desired and enjoyed with every bite, not just the first. I even added extra liquid. sorry. this is not alfredo sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      Oh soooo yummy! Love the garlic and the thyme- thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      As always, Kittencal comes through! Had a craving for alfredo tonight, but didn't have any cream of any kind, only 1% milk. I figured I'd give it a shot, and it still came out very tasty - better than any 'low-fat' alfredo recipe I've tried. I just had to let it cook a little bit longer before it started to thicken. I was concerned that it would be runny, but it thickened up some when I added the cheese, and more as it cooled a bit. For company or special occasions, I'll make it as written, but for a quick week-night meal with what I have on hand. The 1% works just fine. Thanks, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      Oh Kittencal you did it again... I was looking for a base alfredo sauce that I could add some stuff to and this was it...so creamy and good. I made this as stated but added 1 cup of canned italian diced tomatoes and shrimp. Will make again and again!! Perfect comfort food!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      OMG! I just finished eating this wonderful dish and if I could give it 10 stars, I would! Kitten, every single recipe of yours that I have tried has been delish. You should write a recipe book. I had never heard of table cream, all I had was heavy cream but didn't want to only use that so I used whole milk with the heavy cream and it worked just fine. I had just bought some white pepper to try and it was perfect for this. I also used a mix of parmegiano reggiano and romano cheese. I used fresh flat leaf parsely at the last minute. I poured the sauce over shrimp and mostaccioli pasta. I will definitely do this again and in fact, I can't wait to try it on my daughter and her family when they visit. Great meal for dinner guests. Thanks Kitten for another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This is outstanding. I followed the recipe to the letter and it made the best, richest, creamiest alfredo I have ever tasted. Bravo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Update: I just made this for your manicotti again and I used thyme this time. The aroma is wonderful. I also didn't have half and half or heavy cream so I used what I had on hand (2/3cup evaporated milk and 1 1/3 cup whole milk). I think it may have taken longer to thicken up but I cooked on low heat. The flavor is wonderful!! Thanks again!! I thought this had a very good, rich flavor, with not a lot of effort. I used a little fresh rosemary since I did not have any thyme and taste was still very good. I also used this with your manicotti recipe and it got a thumbs up from everyone in my family! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Holy COW, this was a wonderful alfredo sauce! Fairly simple to make, and does circles around the recipes that use cream cheese. Was a bit deceptive, it looked thin in the pot, but when I tested it, it coated the spoon perfectly. Serve it over the best pasta you can find - it's worth it. I served it over fresh fettuccine and it was absolutely delicious! (Like I would expect anything less from one of KITTENCAL's recipes!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      This is the best alfredo sauce I have ever had. I love the flavor the thyme adds to it. I marinated chicken in Italian dressing and grilled it, and added it in with the sauce. I used penne pasta. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Yummy and easy to modify for personal preference. I used heavy cream as directed but subbed in skim milk instead of half and half. Didn't miss the calories at all! Perhaps a smidge less "creamy" but the taste was all there! Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Another 5 star Kitten. This was super quick and easy to make. I made it for myself for diner tonight. I used it over some mixed spaghetti's. It was delicious with lots of pepper for me. I used the half-and-half instead of 18 % cream. The thyme gave it a unique flavor. I really enjoyed it with my glass of wine. Thanks for another wonderful recipe Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Great flavorful sauce. I also loved the added flavor from the thyme. This makes a very thick sauce that will definitely adhere to the pasta without problem. Next time I may reduce the flour a bit for a little thinner sauce. I made 1/2 of the recipe and it definitely served two and probably could have served 3-4 in our house. Thanks for sharing Kittencal. Made for Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I loved the addition of the dried thyme! I used 2 cups of half and half instead of the table cream and 35% and also added about 1/4 cup of mozzarella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Incredible sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      I requested a recipe that would not split in a casserole. This is now the second time I have used this recipe. I will no longer purchase Classico at $3.99 a jar which never gave me enough sauce to begin with. This is creamy & tastes so much better. Thank you so much Kittencal for posting a recipe that addresses my needs. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Excellent sauce! Rich, thick, creamy. Only changes I made were to use Parmigiano-reggiano cheese as it's all I had, and just a couple of grinds of pepper, as I'm not a big pepper fan. I love traditional alfredo sauce, but this is such an improvement. The garlic adds a great deal of flavor, flour helps stabilize the sauce (unlike traditional alfredo that starts separating immediately), and, though I was a bit skeptical, the seasoning salt was just wonderful. The perfect amount for a pound of fettucine, this sauce would also be fantastic as a white pizza sauce. Thanks, Kitten, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      I hate you! This recipe is so GREAT !!!! I love it sooo much... My Hubby who is picky loved it! thanks so much for the good recipe ... I just added a lil more garlic :) but all in all it is great and I will deff use it over and over and over.. :) thanks sooooooo much again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      Good sauce. It wasn't the consistency I'm used to in an alfredo sauce, pretty thin, so I think next time I'll use a bit more flour to thicken it. Tasted pretty good and quick and easy to make too. I like the combination of spices, but think I'll use more next time for a bolder flavor. I served it over fettuccine tonight and plan to try it in twice-baked alfredo potatoes very soon. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      This is one good sauce and is truly, truly easy. I made it alongside the pasta as it was cooking (penne) and both got done at about the same time, so I was able to serve it immediately. Liked it because it wasn't too rich, yet was flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Alfredo Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 410.6
     
    Calories from Fat 349
    85%
    Total Fat 38.8 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 24.2 g
    121%
    Cholesterol 126.4 mg
    42%
    Sodium 313.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes