636 Reviews

This coffeecake had a good flavor, but I was not fond of the texture. Made exactly as written with the egg, but it still came out slightly chewy/rubbery. I don't believe I overmixed it. 5 year old son said it was "too sugary" Maybe will try again with less sugar and mixing the dry and wet ingredients separately then adding them together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whatscooking? March 06, 2008

I made this today and it tastes good, but the texture is rubbery. I am a VERY novice cook, so I'm not sure what I did wrong. I also have a stupid stove I'm trying to get used to. I loved that I actually had all the ingredients on hand, and didn't need a mixer. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnsondeanne February 01, 2008

Making this was easy, but the batter was suspiciously runny; that could have been because of the egg. It baked alright, although the topping disappeared (sadly, not into a gooey mess like in the photo). The cake part needs something... it's sweet, but the flavor is lacking. I wasn't too fond of the texture--sort of rubbery. Thanks for a new recipe, Kittencal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cannonmonkey January 24, 2008

Hmm..., I was anticipating something really special with all the fantastic reviews but there's something missing here to give it that wow! factor. I expected this to be tens tonnes of gooey goodness but in the end it was a nice coffee cake. I decreased the sugar to 1 cup and added the egg and baked it in a 8x12 pan. I think it needed less brown sugar on top and more butter , perhaps a quick little swirl with a knife around the pan. I thought the topping would sink more than it did. Given it's high calorie, high sugar content I'm not sure this is a keeper for me (no splurge factor). But don't get me wrong. I intend to eat every last crumb of this batch! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberry Cordial March 23, 2007

This was okay I followed the recipe as is and added the glaze. I didn't care for the texture of the cake. I think I was expecting something more like the honey bun cake. Thanks. Lisa

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LMillerRN February 02, 2007

I followed the recipe exactly, using the egg, except I didn't use all of the cinnamon/brown sugar mixture. The 13X9 dish was the perfect size once this baked up. Don't be fooled by the amount of batter going in- you'll definately need the space! My only complaint about this recipe was that it was waaaay too sweet. Next time I'll try making the batter without the white sugar, or halve both the white and brown sugars. Overall it was a simple recipe that baked up quite nicely, It just needs a little tweaking to become a staple in our house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Crystal* January 21, 2007

It was pretty good. Didn't love the bread part though, didn't like the texture. It was really easy to make though and tasted pretty good. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vttrapperman October 26, 2006

Amazing! I just tried the recipe few hours ago. It was so easy and fast. Can't believe that it turned so delicious. My husband and I extremely love it. We ate the cake with whipping cream, but without it, the cake itself is still pretty tasty. Thank you for sharing this. Would definitely make this cake again in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zafellagalstaun May 30, 2016

Since I make coffee cakes often, I decided to make this recipe into muffins and they came out nice. Easy recipe to follow. I topped the muffins with sauteed apples in butter and sugar then cinnamon. Tops came out with a crunch and soft body. I got 24 regular size muffins. Normally the cakes I make require 2-4 eggs so I was delighted to use just one. I'll definitely try this again with nuts and honey on top :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin G. October 23, 2015

I have been looking for dessert recipes to make with very little sugar. My Husband,found out he's diabetic ,I am also. This looks like it will hit the spot for his sweet tooth! Big Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Donna~ August 19, 2015
Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake