634 Reviews

My 6 year old daughter and I made this and it was so good. It was very easy to make and it disappeared super fast. My wife took it to work and said people were talking about it all day long. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom S. September 24, 2010

Oh Kittencal, where have you been all my life? What an amazing moist, gooey, sweet wonderful treat for breakfast! Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimmie Cakes August 07, 2010

Delicious and easy. I halved the recipe as another reviewer mentioned. I used white whole wheat flour, a whole egg, half a cup of granulated sugar (which was plenty sweet enough), vanilla AND almond extract, and walnuts. My boys really enjoyed the quick treat this morning! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chanceosunshine July 24, 2010

I had really high hopes for this because of so many wonderful reviews. It was just okay to me. It actually tasted too sweet and I only used 1 cup of sugar. The texture was off for me as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl June 19, 2010

Okay this took longer than 5 minutes prep, but that could have been because I prepped before I had any coffee this morning! EASY, fast enough for a weekday breakfast, and yummy enough to bring to a fancy brunch. I am officially in love with this recipe and will be making it very often. Next up, a banana bread variation with banana slices and pecans - YUM! I think the egg is a definite for us. Thank you so much for posting! :) ETA: banana nut is great, but frozen blueberries are AWESOME - like a blueberry muffin in cake form. It does take an extra 10 minutes though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout June 07, 2010

I am so ambivalent about this recipe. I had grand expectations for it given the number of reviews and rating, but I was left a bit unimpressed after baking it. I'm not a fan of the texture of it (chewy? - not in a good brownie-chewy kind of way, and maybe slightly rubbery too). I also found it to be too sweet. If I make it again, I will reduce the sugar by at least 1/4c. Made as directed and included the optional egg. It did taste much better dunked in coffee than it did plain. I figure that it's worth it to take any extra 5-10min more and use a recipe where the wet and dry ingredients are separated.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood February 20, 2010

There is something very magical about this simple coffeecake. If I could give it more stars I would! I have been making this as an after school snack for my children for years and it is one of their favorite snacks to eat. It is extremely simple and easy to make yet never fails to be crazy delicious! I have made this dish for company for breakfast as well as afternoon coffee. Great quick recipe to throw together for unexpected visitors! I thank you for sharing this gem Kittencal and so do my children!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenlkwong February 17, 2010

I've been eyeing this recipe for years and tis the season for baking... Firstly, I mixed dry ingredients then added this to the wet ingredients as suggested, using a light hand. After baking, it was apparent the butter along with the brown sugar, sunk towards the bottom making it rather gooey. Now, don't get me wrong, this may be a good thing for many. I also made half a recipe of Kittencal's Easy Creamy White Glaze, which was more than enough. I'm uncertain if the flop's richness is a result of using half-and-half and egg or the addition of the glaze, but the combination was almost over-the-top sweet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 17, 2008

This was OK, but not as good as I expected with so many great reviews. The cake seemed to be a little 'eggy', and wasn't as moist as I had hoped. Perhaps I did something wrong. It was edible, but don't think I'd make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cascole October 08, 2008

This coffeecake had a good flavor, but I was not fond of the texture. Made exactly as written with the egg, but it still came out slightly chewy/rubbery. I don't believe I overmixed it. 5 year old son said it was "too sugary" Maybe will try again with less sugar and mixing the dry and wet ingredients separately then adding them together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whatscooking? March 06, 2008
Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake