633 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Another great recipe! Previous reviews said the cake didn't rise or was heavy, please check the expiration date on your baking powder. Fresher is better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just-a-cook July 22, 2011

We were "snowed in" today, so my husband and I decided to give this a try since the recipe does not call for any kind of oil in the batter, we were a bit skeptical, but when we tasted it, we both looked at each other and nodded (yes) simultaneously!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Msloza February 02, 2011

Very good! I added chopped apples. Debating about whether or not I want to add an icing seeing as I am on a diet, but it is amazing none the less.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harmoni August 07, 2010

This recipe was just "okay" for me. There was nothing about it that made me jump up and down -like many of the other reviewers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VerucaSalt! June 27, 2010

So tasty and easy! I baked this in 2 round 8" pans instead of the 13x9. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla and generous dash of nutmeg to the batter. The smells coming from my oven brought everyone to the kitchen. When I served this the cake was moist and light, the brown sugar and cinnamon mixture had oozed to everypart of the cake. It was breakfast nirvana!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. January 02, 2004

I read several of the reviews here, and I'm confused as to why other people had challenges with this recipe. I'm new at cooking thing from scratch, having only a few months of experience. My technique is still coming along, so I was a little nervous when I read folks had trouble. I followed the directions, with the only change being that I used 2 teaspoons of vanilla and 1 teaspoon of almond extract. This cake is a spongy texture, which is PERFECT to go with a morning cup of coffee. It took only a few minutes to prepare, and it is delicious!! I will definitely make this one again. Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkNMomma January 26, 2013

This was sooo quick and easy that I thought it just couldn't be "that good".....BUT IT IS!
Not too sweet - just right.
I added a small amt of almond extract with the vanilla and hubby said it was the BEST.
Thanks Kittencaslkitchen, this is a winner :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch March 09, 2011

I give it 4 stars for being so easy and fast to make. I fixed it this morning while hubby was waking up and we enjoyed it with our morning coffee together. His comments were it tasted like too much vanilla (I had added 1 1/2 tsp) so I will cut down next time. I like it because it wasn't overly sweet. I did add the egg. All in all a good recipe. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan 'nVegas February 15, 2011

Added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the batter for good measure. Have made twice now and it really satisfies cinnamon roll cravings without as much guilt!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
exzentriker January 30, 2011

We liked this very much, my 5yo son especially. I drizzled some icing on top but otherwise left the recipe completely unchanged. Will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bckyhuber January 21, 2011
Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake