636 Reviews

This was GREAT! It tased like the old-fashioned coffee cakes I remember as a child! VERY easy to prepare, and QUICK! I enjoyed this warm from the oven with coffee for breakfast. I dodn't use the optional creamy white glaze as this tasted fabulous on it's enough with just enough sweetness. Thanks Kitten! And come back home and to Zaar asap because we need you here among your zaar friends. (((hug)))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau May 01, 2008

I did add the egg, vanilla essence and sprinkled on some chopped walnuts. Ridiculously easy to mix, but I would recommend mixing the dry ingredients together, then the wet, then both together to prevent overmixing. The taste, however, wasn't as "wow" as I thought it would be, though my friends did indeed like it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Syin May 01, 2008

oh my goodness! This was such a hit with everyone. I did sprinkle walnuts on top and dribble your glaze. It was perfect both as a dessert and for breakfast. It looks so pretty too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexis L Sutter April 29, 2008

I did use eggs in mine and no nuts. It is good but I think it'd be better if I added nuts and use a glaze as suggested by other reviewers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes April 21, 2008

Made exactly as described, with egg, without nuts. This was good but just TOO sweet for myself and my fiance. However, he took it to work with him and it was demolished; he asked that I do make it again for special occasions. I made Kittencal's Easy Creamy White Glaze to top. Very good! I'll make this again, but as a dessert rather than a breakfast. Update -- after being requested by the people my husband works with SEVERAL times to make this again (and again, and again), I have to revise to FIVE wonderful stars -- even if it IS still too sweet for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannaLW April 21, 2008

I had to make this twice before I rated it. I tried it first for Saturday breakfast (a tradition here) and I think that with my children running underfoot I royally messed it up :-) It came out like a odd cake-like custard floating in a sea of brown sugar and butter goo. I thought the batter looked thin - I think I only put 1 cup of flour in! And my family ate the entire pan. So I figured if I could screw the recpe up and everyone would still eat it, it must be good. So I tried it again, this time I measured correctly and it turned out great! I used my cream cheese glaze I put on cinnamon rolls to top it. I love recipes that use ingredients I always have in a little different way and of course, so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tecrz April 14, 2008

I found this recipe about two weeks ago, and I've already made it twice! Both times, the entire pan disappeared quickly. This reminds me of a coffee cake. I like to add a huge scoop of a fruit flavored jelly over it before I pop it in the microwave for about 30 seconds to a minute, and then top it with whipped cream. Nummm. Kitencal, I am so thankful for you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mojoloh April 10, 2008

My taste buds must be the same as yours! This is definitely another 5 star!! I did substitute Florida Crystals natural sugar for the regular sugar, Sea Salt for the salt, added pecans, almond extract, and dried cranberries! Thank you again for sharing your talents!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dj's Eagles April 04, 2008

All five stars for easy preparation of cinnamon bun type of cakey thing, lovely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare April 03, 2008

Excellent! So simple & didn't have to buy any special ingredients, which I loved. I can't wait to experiment w/ this recipe. Thanks!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwcmax99 April 02, 2008
Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake