632 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had to make this twice before I rated it. I tried it first for Saturday breakfast (a tradition here) and I think that with my children running underfoot I royally messed it up :-) It came out like a odd cake-like custard floating in a sea of brown sugar and butter goo. I thought the batter looked thin - I think I only put 1 cup of flour in! And my family ate the entire pan. So I figured if I could screw the recpe up and everyone would still eat it, it must be good. So I tried it again, this time I measured correctly and it turned out great! I used my cream cheese glaze I put on cinnamon rolls to top it. I love recipes that use ingredients I always have in a little different way and of course, so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tecrz April 14, 2008

I found this recipe about two weeks ago, and I've already made it twice! Both times, the entire pan disappeared quickly. This reminds me of a coffee cake. I like to add a huge scoop of a fruit flavored jelly over it before I pop it in the microwave for about 30 seconds to a minute, and then top it with whipped cream. Nummm. Kitencal, I am so thankful for you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mojoloh April 10, 2008

My taste buds must be the same as yours! This is definitely another 5 star!! I did substitute Florida Crystals natural sugar for the regular sugar, Sea Salt for the salt, added pecans, almond extract, and dried cranberries! Thank you again for sharing your talents!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dj's Eagles April 04, 2008

All five stars for easy preparation of cinnamon bun type of cakey thing, lovely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare April 03, 2008

Excellent! So simple & didn't have to buy any special ingredients, which I loved. I can't wait to experiment w/ this recipe. Thanks!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwcmax99 April 02, 2008

Very good recipe!! I think that next time I may put in half the amount of sugar into the batter and I bet it will still be just as great, b/c the wonderful glaze on top adds the perfect sweet yumminess!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoubleA's Mom March 29, 2008

I have decided that you can't go wrong with one of your recipes, Kitty. I made this exactly as written and added the egg. I also drizzled your glaze on top.(Kittencal's Easy Creamy White Glaze) I was going to freeze half of it, bit it didn't last long enough to put it in the freezer. I only have one question- Why is it called a "flop"? Is this a cooking term or description I've never heard of because this recipe is NOT a flop!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes March 28, 2008

Really simple, turned out very nice, everyone loved it and I was surprised and excited that it came out so good in the end (because I'm just taking my babysteps in cooking), It was lovely. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ems129 March 26, 2008

This was so easy to make and tasted so delicious. It was sort of like a giant cinnamon roll. Thank you for sharing a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brinklms March 25, 2008

I made this for my parents last weekend and they adored it, especially my mother. I added a cup and a half of chopped dried apricots, and about a cup of chopped almonds to the batter and it came out smelling heavenly, though it did need to cook for about 5 minutes longer than the recipe calls for. Great easy to make and customizable recipe. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Punkinhed7 March 24, 2008
Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake