633 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sorry, but the texture came out very dense & rubbery. Might make it again and add egg to see if that helps.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enobmah June 08, 2006

this was ok but rather bland. I did add the egg and vanilla extract but no glaze or nuts. Thanks anyhow.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancygirl June 06, 2006

Not a good match for me. I used fresh products and it still turned out like a wet sponge for me. Not a fan of the cake texture or taste. For the amount of stars and reviews I expected it to be spectacular, but it just wasn't a keeper for me.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CruellaDeVille October 22, 2012

Made this last night. Cake was rubbery and not fluffy and I was sure not to overmix and used fresh ingredients. I was very disapointed.. Topping was good but I will not make this again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bev32907_12173652 January 27, 2012

I was a bit disappointed in this cake. I don't think it's a kid's cake...at least not for my kids who ate the topping and left the rest. As a an adult cake, it's "OK", but nothing I'd rave about. I find it tastes best warm from the over, or warmed up for snacking later in the day (or the next day). I would not make it again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs3371 August 13, 2010

It was very tough and not great. I didn't over mix it but was disappointed by the texture.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
numainer November 27, 2013

Such a simple cake but it sure didn t do anything for us......dry and followed recipe exactly. I guess our tastes are all different. Wish it had been a success because of the simplicity but afraid not.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 May 28, 2013

Sorry, but this cake was tough, and IMO, a waste of ingredients. Won't be making again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 February 09, 2013

I hate to be the negative reviewer but this did not work for me. It was easy to pull together and I so wanted to love it but it had no flavor. I don't understand, because I used the full 1.25 c sugar, 2 tsp Madagascar vanilla, real butter, and Penzey's (n/a) Vietnamese cinnamon. I don't understand. Maybe I'll try again and double the flavorings and topping. This just had no taste at all. I give it two stars because anyone who goes to the trouble of providing a recipe for us deserves some thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eightball1751 May 29, 2012

Lovely tasty and so simple! My teenage daughter just loves cinnamon, and this is just perfect for our Friday and Saturday get-together lazy breakfasts. The tip about adding vanilla and the egg make the finished result a little richer. Loved by all the family, Thanks KITTENCAL!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scots Lass/Cairo November 20, 2011
Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake