Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake

    Average Rating:

    632 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 632

    Sort by:

    • on September 24, 2010

      My 6 year old daughter and I made this and it was so good. It was very easy to make and it disappeared super fast. My wife took it to work and said people were talking about it all day long. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      Oh Kittencal, where have you been all my life? What an amazing moist, gooey, sweet wonderful treat for breakfast! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      Delicious and easy. I halved the recipe as another reviewer mentioned. I used white whole wheat flour, a whole egg, half a cup of granulated sugar (which was plenty sweet enough), vanilla AND almond extract, and walnuts. My boys really enjoyed the quick treat this morning! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      I had really high hopes for this because of so many wonderful reviews. It was just okay to me. It actually tasted too sweet and I only used 1 cup of sugar. The texture was off for me as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Okay this took longer than 5 minutes prep, but that could have been because I prepped before I had any coffee this morning! EASY, fast enough for a weekday breakfast, and yummy enough to bring to a fancy brunch. I am officially in love with this recipe and will be making it very often. Next up, a banana bread variation with banana slices and pecans - YUM! I think the egg is a definite for us. Thank you so much for posting! :) ETA: banana nut is great, but frozen blueberries are AWESOME - like a blueberry muffin in cake form. It does take an extra 10 minutes though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I am so ambivalent about this recipe. I had grand expectations for it given the number of reviews and rating, but I was left a bit unimpressed after baking it. I'm not a fan of the texture of it (chewy? - not in a good brownie-chewy kind of way, and maybe slightly rubbery too). I also found it to be too sweet. If I make it again, I will reduce the sugar by at least 1/4c. Made as directed and included the optional egg. It did taste much better dunked in coffee than it did plain. I figure that it's worth it to take any extra 5-10min more and use a recipe where the wet and dry ingredients are separated.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      There is something very magical about this simple coffeecake. If I could give it more stars I would! I have been making this as an after school snack for my children for years and it is one of their favorite snacks to eat. It is extremely simple and easy to make yet never fails to be crazy delicious! I have made this dish for company for breakfast as well as afternoon coffee. Great quick recipe to throw together for unexpected visitors! I thank you for sharing this gem Kittencal and so do my children!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      I've been eyeing this recipe for years and tis the season for baking... Firstly, I mixed dry ingredients then added this to the wet ingredients as suggested, using a light hand. After baking, it was apparent the butter along with the brown sugar, sunk towards the bottom making it rather gooey. Now, don't get me wrong, this may be a good thing for many. I also made half a recipe of Kittencal's Easy Creamy White Glaze, which was more than enough. I'm uncertain if the flop's richness is a result of using half-and-half and egg or the addition of the glaze, but the combination was almost over-the-top sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      This was OK, but not as good as I expected with so many great reviews. The cake seemed to be a little 'eggy', and wasn't as moist as I had hoped. Perhaps I did something wrong. It was edible, but don't think I'd make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      This coffeecake had a good flavor, but I was not fond of the texture. Made exactly as written with the egg, but it still came out slightly chewy/rubbery. I don't believe I overmixed it. 5 year old son said it was "too sugary" Maybe will try again with less sugar and mixing the dry and wet ingredients separately then adding them together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I made this today and it tastes good, but the texture is rubbery. I am a VERY novice cook, so I'm not sure what I did wrong. I also have a stupid stove I'm trying to get used to. I loved that I actually had all the ingredients on hand, and didn't need a mixer. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Making this was easy, but the batter was suspiciously runny; that could have been because of the egg. It baked alright, although the topping disappeared (sadly, not into a gooey mess like in the photo). The cake part needs something... it's sweet, but the flavor is lacking. I wasn't too fond of the texture--sort of rubbery. Thanks for a new recipe, Kittencal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      This was okay I followed the recipe as is and added the glaze. I didn't care for the texture of the cake. I think I was expecting something more like the honey bun cake. Thanks. Lisa

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      I followed the recipe exactly, using the egg, except I didn't use all of the cinnamon/brown sugar mixture. The 13X9 dish was the perfect size once this baked up. Don't be fooled by the amount of batter going in- you'll definately need the space! My only complaint about this recipe was that it was waaaay too sweet. Next time I'll try making the batter without the white sugar, or halve both the white and brown sugars. Overall it was a simple recipe that baked up quite nicely, It just needs a little tweaking to become a staple in our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      It was pretty good. Didn't love the bread part though, didn't like the texture. It was really easy to make though and tasted pretty good. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2014

      The cake was yummy yet spongy. Although it was still a nice cake to make...Remind me of a cinnamon roll yet in a cake form... I used a bundt pan and I did not have milk therefore I substituted evaporate milk and water and it still was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

      With pecans, this recipe was awesome! I had been craving cinnamon-this pregnant girl ate almost half the pan for breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2014

      Nice one...It really is a (nearly) guilt-free substitute for cinnamon rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      This was a super simple and rather good "coffee" like cake. It was subtly sweet and the topping was quite delicious. I feel that in making this in the 13 x 9-inch pan the topping could have really been doubled. This is something that I could whip up quickly for unexpected guests, so this is definitely keeper. Thanks Kittencalskitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      OMG! Why did I wait so long to finally try this amazing recipe!! LUV IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 291.1
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    18%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 16.4 mg
    5%
    Sodium 183.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 35.7 g
    142%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites