633 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

the longest that it took me while putting this together was clipping my nails. That is because I mixed the batter with my bare hands to avoid overmixing. You see when Kitten's giving instructions I listen VERY carefully and seriously who wouldn't when the results are this great and consistent every time. I followed the recipe to a T and could not believe what a darned good cake I'd just baked. I also contemplated topping it with kitten's glaze but it seemed like too much work and am actually glad because the level of sweetness is just right. Now all I have to do is make a dry mix of the ingredients and apply to the Guiness Book of World Record for throwing together the fastest, tastiest cake on the planet!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mulan400 February 18, 2010

When this turns out right, it's great. But the last time I made it, not changing a thing, it had the texture of a wet sponge...tough, diificult to cut, not very appealing. I probably won't make it again because I need recipes I can rely on and this one is too unpredictable. But thanks anyway.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra July 24, 2011

Followed the recipe exactly, but it just didn't do it for me. My friend's kids loved it. I added raisins to the batter and baked it in a 9x13 pyrex for 40 minutes and it still baked a bit unevenly. Did about 1 cup sugar and it came out sufficiently sweet. Not bad, but I wouldn't make it again. It's hard the next day, so I microwaved it for about 20 seconds and it was decent, though not as good as when it first comes out of the oven, of course. Will look for other Kittencal recipes to try

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffkins July 30, 2010

I have made this cake twice now, and I honestly can't figure out what the problem is. I mixed the batter just enough to be called batter [muffin consistency], blended the egg with the milk... my baking powder is in date... but this cake refuses to rise in my pan. It rose maybe a centimeter during baking, and the taste is nothing special. I added nutmeg the second time around along with a bit of cinnamon to the batter, but still I get this cake that has the consistency of eggy bread. Someone want to tell me what is so wrong with my kitchen that I can't make this simple recipe that everyone seems to love...?

PS. Evidently you need to use dark brown sugar for the topping to get good results, which would have been nice to know...

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WarriorKalia December 16, 2010

We thought it might be too good to be true, and it was! The cake was more the texture of a wet sponge and was really lacking in flavor. We wont be making it again, heck we probably wont even finish what is in the pan.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Shaw November 09, 2010

We did not like this even though it was simple. The texture was gummy and it was not good the next day I was very careful not to over mix. I don't mind spending more time on a better end result.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvfood February 04, 2007

This was AWFUL! I made it twice because I thought I must of made a mistake. I was thinking it would have a cinnamon roll taste to it. WELL it was like a chewy sponge and not sweet at all!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diet Pepsi January 12, 2007

I hate to give a bad review, but this was horrible. The recipe was followed exactly so I don't know what went wrong. It turned out dry, chewy and flavorless. Kinda like a dry sponge.... I won't even waste time to try this again. Not one person here even remotely liked it and so it ended up in the trash. :o(

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My KitchenAdventures :o)~ January 24, 2012

Did not turn out. My hubby ate it as he does not like to waste. I don't know if it is operator error because sooo many people liked it. Followed instruction to the letter, even served it with homemade chunky caramel apple sause. The flavors were all good but was dry and tough.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jorgydee May 21, 2011

Oh my word, this is good! It really is a (nearly) guilt-free substitute for cinnamon rolls. I can't get over the texture and flavor without all the work. It is sweet enough without additional sugar- could even cut it some and it would be good. Would be even closer to the real thing with a drizzle of icing on top. Yum!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cukie January 21, 2011
Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake