Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake

    Average Rating:

    629 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 629

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2010

      the longest that it took me while putting this together was clipping my nails. That is because I mixed the batter with my bare hands to avoid overmixing. You see when Kitten's giving instructions I listen VERY carefully and seriously who wouldn't when the results are this great and consistent every time. I followed the recipe to a T and could not believe what a darned good cake I'd just baked. I also contemplated topping it with kitten's glaze but it seemed like too much work and am actually glad because the level of sweetness is just right. Now all I have to do is make a dry mix of the ingredients and apply to the Guiness Book of World Record for throwing together the fastest, tastiest cake on the planet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      When this turns out right, it's great. But the last time I made it, not changing a thing, it had the texture of a wet sponge...tough, diificult to cut, not very appealing. I probably won't make it again because I need recipes I can rely on and this one is too unpredictable. But thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      Followed the recipe exactly, but it just didn't do it for me. My friend's kids loved it. I added raisins to the batter and baked it in a 9x13 pyrex for 40 minutes and it still baked a bit unevenly. Did about 1 cup sugar and it came out sufficiently sweet. Not bad, but I wouldn't make it again. It's hard the next day, so I microwaved it for about 20 seconds and it was decent, though not as good as when it first comes out of the oven, of course. Will look for other Kittencal recipes to try

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      Oh my word, this is good! It really is a (nearly) guilt-free substitute for cinnamon rolls. I can't get over the texture and flavor without all the work. It is sweet enough without additional sugar- could even cut it some and it would be good. Would be even closer to the real thing with a drizzle of icing on top. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      I have made this cake twice now, and I honestly can't figure out what the problem is. I mixed the batter just enough to be called batter [muffin consistency], blended the egg with the milk... my baking powder is in date... but this cake refuses to rise in my pan. It rose maybe a centimeter during baking, and the taste is nothing special. I added nutmeg the second time around along with a bit of cinnamon to the batter, but still I get this cake that has the consistency of eggy bread. Someone want to tell me what is so wrong with my kitchen that I can't make this simple recipe that everyone seems to love...?

      PS. Evidently you need to use dark brown sugar for the topping to get good results, which would have been nice to know...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      We thought it might be too good to be true, and it was! The cake was more the texture of a wet sponge and was really lacking in flavor. We wont be making it again, heck we probably wont even finish what is in the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      I guess I had good luck because this recipe really worked out well for me. My family thought it was great and asked me to make it again this week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      We did not like this even though it was simple. The texture was gummy and it was not good the next day I was very careful not to over mix. I don't mind spending more time on a better end result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      This was AWFUL! I made it twice because I thought I must of made a mistake. I was thinking it would have a cinnamon roll taste to it. WELL it was like a chewy sponge and not sweet at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      I hate to give a bad review, but this was horrible. The recipe was followed exactly so I don't know what went wrong. It turned out dry, chewy and flavorless. Kinda like a dry sponge.... I won't even waste time to try this again. Not one person here even remotely liked it and so it ended up in the trash. :o(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      Did not turn out. My hubby ate it as he does not like to waste. I don't know if it is operator error because sooo many people liked it. Followed instruction to the letter, even served it with homemade chunky caramel apple sause. The flavors were all good but was dry and tough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      I was a bit disappointed in this cake. I don't think it's a kid's cake...at least not for my kids who ate the topping and left the rest. As a an adult cake, it's "OK", but nothing I'd rave about. I find it tastes best warm from the over, or warmed up for snacking later in the day (or the next day). I would not make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I must have done something wrong...my baking powder was not outdated but I baked it in a 9x13" pan and it did not rise. I was taking it to work for Secretaries Day and I was kind of embarrassed as it was only about 3/4" deep. Everyone said it tsted good but it was way too sweet. It probably would not have been if It had risen. I will maybe try it aain sometime. I am sure, from the other reviews, that I must have done something wrong. I do love your recipes Kitten and have never had one fail me til now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      Sorry I was very disappointed with this recipe. I mixed the dry ingredients first and then added wet so as not to overmix. I found the cake rubbery and very dense. Not at all what I expected for such a high rated cake. I will not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      I thought this would be a no fail recipe considering how easy the directions were and how few ingredients were involved. The cake was neither tasty nor did it have the right texture. I tasted the batter which was good but I spit out the one bite that I did eat after it was done. I followed the instructions to the letter but the cake was very rubbery. I will never make it again and am baffled by its high rating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      I am sorry to post a negative review, but I really was not impressed with this cake. I thought with such great reviews I couldn't go wrong. It tasted very rubbery to me. I was surprised because normally I love Kittencal recipes. As the highest rated cake on recipezaar, I expected a little more out of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I added chopped apples to the flop, but I was very disappointed. It was rubbery and tasted strongly of baking powder. I wouldn't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This was just "ok" in my opinion. I think a bit of flour added to the brown sugar mixture would help lighten it, and cutting the butter into the sugar rather than pouring it over top...for me it all just sunk to the bottom make and impossible mess to get out of the pan. also the directions should state to mix the topping first, set aside. Mix the dry ingrediants then add the wet, you will get a better rise as the liquid activates the baking poweder and should be mixed and baked immediately rather than setting aside waiting while you mix the topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I am so sorry to be posting this rating. I love your recipes but for some reason, this one didn't turn out. It didn't rise and it was too tough. I opted to use milk, but I'm not sure that would have made a difference anyway. I am definitely open to suggestions as why this happened to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      I didn't really care for this much. It was more like sweet bread than coffee cake or cinnamon rolls, even with the glaze over it. I did add in the egg and vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 32

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's 5-Minute Cinnamon Flop Brunch Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 291.1
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    18%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 16.4 mg
    5%
    Sodium 183.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 35.7 g
    142%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites