59 Reviews

These are fantastic. Better than traditional muffins with butter, oil etc. Recipe made exactly 12 perfect sized muffins. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar, omitted the salt and threw in 1/2 cup of bran flakes. Awesome!!! Now I only make Kittencal's muffins. Thanks so much!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy I. December 25, 2014

I knew this would be good Kitten but the second time I made a few changes.I am on a 900 calorie low fat diet.I used 1/2 banana,1 egg white,sweetener and buttermilk.No sour cream,sugar or egg yolk.These are very goood and satisfied my taste for sweet.I put a spoon of promise on it while warm and devoured.lol I was surprised that they held together so well with no eggs.Thank you for another great recipe.Now can you figure out a low calorie shrimp gumbo for me??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nesbitt929 January 11, 2012

These were just ok in book, but my Mom liked them quite a bit. I think I'd rather just have a banana muffin. Thanks though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadelabyrinth June 29, 2011

These were great! I used blackberries instead of blueberries, and I was out of white sugar, so used brown sugar. Used nonfat vanilla yogurt instead of the sour cream. Very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara_richmond June 18, 2011

Just tried this. I used one banana and mulberries and light sour cream. I also added 2 oz of buttermilk as the batter was too dry for me. I sprinkled the tops with brown sugar before baking. Baked for 20m in a convection oven. Probably not low fat now but they are tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marym758 June 05, 2011

I must give this 5 stars. Even though I forgot to add the egg to the recipe, they came out delicious! Thank you for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Golden Sunflower August 07, 2010

Terrific! I made 6 JUMBO ones and we loved them. I did not have any of the liners, but I used the special PAM for baking. I served them with sausage and egg and spinach quiche as a "breakfast for dinner" thing we like to do sometimes. We LOVED these! Thanks, again, Kitten

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big D Texas July 12, 2010

What a great breakfast treat! And I love that it's guilt-free too :) These were a breeze to make and freeze well. The only thing I might change next time is to add more blueberries, I thought the bananas overpowered them at times. Thanks Kittencal for another delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway June 30, 2010

These were really good. I used all whole wheat flour, frozen blueberries, demerara sugar, vanilla soy yogurt, and omitted the nutmeg and vanilla (as it turned out that there wasn't any in the kitchen!). They came out great (besides some colour bleeding from the frozen blueberries, even though I mixed them in last) and taste delicious, especially for a low fat recipe! I will definitely make these again. UPDATE: Just made these again, this time following the recipe much more closely - just made changes with plain fat-free yogurt, omitted nutmeg, and we had dried blueberries on hand. The dried fruit definitely added a lot more sweetness to the muffins, and they turned out wonderfully again. I got 16 smallish muffins, baked for 18 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
day-hee June 17, 2010

I'm not going to rate these because the thing I didn't like was possibly my fault. I followed the recipe with two exceptions, 1. I used a pinch of orange zest in place of nutmeg. 2. I increased the blueberries by 1/2 cup. What was wrong was that they were too heavy and hardly rose. Because I'm not a baker, I did check the powder and soda I used. I didn't think the extra berries (all fresh, washed, and dried) would affect it......but..... Since I'm not rating I'm posting to help others. Kittencal is tops in the kitchen, so I'm sure I need a baking lesson!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Harry #2 June 13, 2010
Kittencal's 1-Gram Low Fat Banana-Blueberry Muffins