Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / King's Hawaiian Bread (Copycat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    King's Hawaiian Bread (Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2010

      This is soooo good! I will say that the dough is very hard to work with and that I normally have to add more flour at the end than the recipe states. Also, I agree that it isn't quite the same sweetness as the store kind but after adding about 2-3tbsp of honey to the dough, it was spot on. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      Wow. Seriously, WOW! These are amazing. I scaled it back to make two loaves, which fit just right into my bread machine. (I always use the dough cycle when making bread because I don't believe in kneading by hand.) No need to add the extra flour. Made these into buns and a loaf and they turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      This is THE BEST bread recipe I've even tried!!! SO SO SO AMAZING! We LOVE KHB anyway but I really wanted to try and make it myself and this recipe KNOCKED IT OUT OF THE PARK!!
      I did as another reviewer said: added about 2 T of honey to the dough and about 3/4 c extra of flour. I did the entire thing in my stand mixer-started with the paddle attachment then moved to the dough one when it started to get more thick-never higher than level 2. I mixed it for a llooonnnngggg time-probably about 15 mins. Then I put it in a slightly warmed oven and THREE HOURS later, it hadn't risen. I went to bed. Woke up this morning to wonderfully light and airy dough. I added the extra 1/2 c flour and kneeded about 10 times, shaped it, let it sit out for 2 hours then baked. Then proceeded to devour 1/2 a loaf before thinking twice!!
      So completely easy!
      So completely yummy!!!
      Can't wait to give as pressies!!!
      Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      I will start by saying the loaves turned out great. they had the elasticity, body and flavor of the real thing. It took me a little tinkering to get there tho. first off, i didn't have enough juice, so i made up the difference with corn syrup and water. i took the advise of reviewer below and added 2 tsp of salt. i used my kitchenaid and the dough hook and followed the instructions exactly. I ended up using about 7.5-8 cups of flours and about 20 mins of kneading on 3 to get the dough into (what-i-thought-was) the perfect consistency. i used an 8" pie tin for loaf 1, 10" square cake pan for loaf 2 and divided loaf 3 into 12 muffins. All 3 came out with good color and crust. Had to have some, or lots, right then. Sliced and toasted them this morning with grape jam and the peeps LOVED them!
      For my next try, i will put more butter and less flour, by 1/2 cup, maybe. And egg wash on top for the 'peelable' top crust.
      THANK YOU, Redneck Epicurean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2014

      This recipe is accessible and yields soft, slightly sweet rolls and loaves. For those who had difficulty with dense dough that did not proof, I had to adapt the recipe to hand mixed conditions because I do not have a stand mixer with a dough hook. Every recipe that advises adding yeast directly to the dry ingredients without pitching it in either water or juice has never worked for me. So conserve 1 cup of the pineapple juice (at room temperature) add 1 tsp of sugar and 1 tsp honey, sprinkle the yeast over the fluid (Approximately 1.5 tbsp for this recipe) and allow it 10-15 minutes to bloom in a warm environment. Meanwhile flour with the wet mixture that has used only 1 cup of pineapple juice and then mix in the yeast once it blooms (a frothy brown foam should be visible on the top). Extra flour might be necessary, though I never had any issues with the dough being sticky or difficult to work with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2014

      this is the same recipe as Challah (the traditional Jewish braided bread) only with pineapple juice and ginger! The other difference is Challah uses all honey and no sugar. So I want to pass along to all that you can make this dough, let it rise for two hours at room temp, then put the dough in a big tub (don't seal tight) and put it in the fridge for up to a week.<br/>It's Much easier to handle when cold and you can simply pull of the amount of dough you'll need and leave the rest in the fridge. I've been doing this method for years and it works for this delicious recipe too. FYI a pound of dough (the size of a grape fruit) will make a standard loaf.<br/>You let the dough rest and rise for 90 minutes, but it depends on how cold your fridge is.<br/>Oh, I also make this with NO KNEADING and in a KA. Mix all the wets and the yeast, dump the flour on top and with the paddle mix just until all the flour is incorporated, about 30 to 60 seconds. Then do the two hour rise and so forth. Honestly, I've been making this kind of dough for many years and this works perfectly and is Much easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      This may be a very good recipe, but it's not a copycat of King's Hawaiian's Bread. King's doesn't contain pineapple juice or ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      I thought this was WONDERFUL!! I suggest to those that had problems with dry and crumbley to not add so much flour AT one time, AFTER it starts to come together. Keep in mind the sugar will also make it a bit tacky. I used enough flour (still within the recipe) to be able to knead and handle the dough quickly. I used bread flour and was concerned that it might be to heavy, but it worked out great! It was light, moist and airy. I will make this again. It does need a little more sugar. I did brush milk on top after it came out of the oven to make a soft crust (butter may be used also). THANKS RED! P.S. I don't give out 5 stars that easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2014

      I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving. I used my stand mixer, and as others have mentioned I added at least one more cup of flour. It took about 25 minutes on 2 to get the dough through the first proof, then cut into rolls and mini loaves. If I had left the rolls to proof another 45 minutes or so, they would have been much more fluffy. The mini loaves turned out FABULOUSLY DELICIOUS!!!! This recipe made 30 rolls and 5 mini loaves. This is our new favorite roll recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      These were absolutely wonderful. Mine did turn out dense (we don't mind all), but I used bread flour...that may be why! I also added 2 Tbspns of honey and a pinch of salt as suggested by some reviewers. The taste was spot on to King's Hawaiin rolls, and much less expensive to make! Thanks so much for posting this recipe. My family is extremely grateful!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      This is a real winner!! My husband and I both loved it. I did cut the recipe in half, though, and made a loaf instead of rolls. I also read in some of the reviews that some people said it took a really long time to rise. So I heated the pineapple juice (1 cup for 1/2 a recipe) in the microwave for 45 seconds to no more than 100 degrees F. Then I SLOWLY whisked it into the egg so as not to scramble the egg. Then continued with the recipe as usual. It took 1 1/2 hours to rise for the first step, and 1 1/2 hours to rise when formed into a loaf. This is about normal when I make any type of bread. I turn my oven on to 200 degrees F. and set the bowl on top of the stove, since my house is usually cooler. Anyhow, the flavor and texture were delicious! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      I've never had the original, so I can't comment as to the accuracy of the copycat, but I CAN say that this is one of the tastiest bread recipes I've ever made! The pineapple flavor comes through and counteracts the yeasty flavor most of my homemade breads have, and it's nice and dense. I didn't have the dry crumbly problem that other reviewers mentioned, but I made sure my dough was still fairly sticky when I was done adding flour to it.I timed it for the minimum, 25 minutes, just to be certain I wouldn't burn it, but I had to bake for longer than called for, I think almost a full 10 minutes longer. I think that's because I used a 9" x 13" baking dish instead of 3 separate loaf pans. <br/><br/>This bread tastes amazing straight out of the oven with a little pat of butter on it. Bottom line? Delicious- even my boyfriend liked it, and he usually doesn't like my breads. I'll definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      In tribute to Amy. This is a very elegant bread, enjoyed it and will make it again and again. Miss you Redneck Epicurean.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      This bread is WONDERFUL! I have made it several times now. I have found that I need to add more four than is called for in the recipe. The amount extra seems to depend on which flour I am using. Other than that I make no adjustments.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Outstanding, sweet bread. Makes the best dinner rolls. Unfortunately they are addicting and I can eat too many! I have to try pecan sticky buns using this dough! Soooooooooo good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      this is delicious! i don't think it's quite as sweet as king's brand & it has a little more ginger but it was all in all pretty great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Unbelievably DELICIOUS!!! This is probably my new favorite bread recipe. I love King's Hawaiian bread - can't get it where I'm at, so I gave this a try. I'm not an expert breadmaker by any means, so I try to do everything in the ABM. I halved this recipe (the measurements do come out kind of weird - I just did my best - used 1 XL egg and 2 tsp of yeast) and it yielded absolutely wonderful sweet bread. The 1st time I made 12 rolls from the dough and served them with burgers on the grill - yum!!! The 2nd time I let the ABM bake the bread and what a treat. Made a tuna melt spectacular and leftovers were the best toast in the morning with my coffee. If you like sweet breads, give this a try. This is a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      This was a really good copycat although I think the other is a touch sweeter. I used ground ginger. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! We will miss you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2014

      These are really good!!! The dough is sticky, sticky, sticky but worth the effort! They rose nicely and taste delicious. Personal preference, I will add 1/2 tsp of salt next time, but I will be making these again. Great recipe, Redneck Epicurean. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      Beware and good luck to you! I must agree with azspecialk's evaluation of this recipe. It was a gluey mess, took forever to rise, and tasted terrible. My family and I actually threw it away this morning, and we never waste food. In the future, I'll make another sweet bread recipe (Mollie Katzen's of Mooosewood) or just buy it at the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for King's Hawaiian Bread (Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (1745 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1630.8
     
    Calories from Fat 348
    21%
    Total Fat 38.6 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 21.4 g
    107%
    Cholesterol 267.3 mg
    89%
    Sodium 353.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 280.8 g
    93%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 67.6 g
    270%
    Protein 37.1 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes