Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / King Ranch Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    King Ranch Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2012

      loved it. I didn't have rotel, so used salsa. Was low on shredded cheese, so melted a small block of velveeta in with the soups and saved what grated cheese I had to sprinkle on top. Great family dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This was really good and the best part is the ingredients are items you generally have on hand. We like spice food, so next time I will probably kick it up a notch. I did use flour tortillas rather than corn because I always have them in the fridge. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      I read the reviews with much anticipation. But now that I've made it, I don't know what all the fuss is about. I followed the recipe....even added a pulverized jalapeno pepper....but found this bland.<br/><br/>Sorry to say, i won't make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      My husband loved this. He always eats whatever I cook, and thanks me for cooking it. He doesn't always tell me it was wonderful. He told me that at least 3 times tonight when I served this!

      The only thing I did differently was to divide the chicken mixture and the cheese mixture into two layers, rather than three. I lined the pan with torn tortilla pieces, layered half the chicken mixture, then half the cheese. I then added another layer of torn tortilla pieces, followed by the other half the chicken mixture, then another layer of torn tortillas, topped with the remaining cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      Delicious. I subbed sour cream for the Cream of Mushroom soup and had no chicken broth so just sloshed in some wine. I will be making this again, thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      I love this casserole. It's perfect comfort food. I cooked 2 chicken breasts on the the stove top and seasoned it with chicken seasoning, cumin and garlic powder. I used Cheese Soup instead of Mushroom soup. Other than that, I made it as is!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2014

      This recipe has been in our family for about 25 years and we have always called it Chicken Viva. We've changed it up over the years from the original recipe. Original called for velvetta, we now use cheddar. Original called for a 7 oz can green chili salsa, but they stopped making that so now I use a cup of Pace Picante hot sauce. I also add in chopped up jalapenos and minced garlic, along with chili powder, cumin and ground pepper. It's still one of my family's favorite casseroles after all these years. We love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2014

      This was a incredibly good recipe my family loved it. The ingredients are items I always have on hand a big plus for me. For the chicken I cut my chicken to bite size pieces and used a Cajun spice mix for a bit more spice. When making my Cajun spice mix I usually double the cayenne pepper. Thanks this is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2014

      I made this recipe for our church potluck.used veggie chicken stripes cut in small pieces.A lady told me it taste like the real thing.she ask me the recipe.it was really good.Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      Very good! Didn't change a thing with the recipe. Leftovers were great! We wil make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      My husband said he'd give this one four stars only because of the length of time it took to fix - he was really hungry today! LOL For taste, it gets five stars. I used a mix of onion, bell pepper and celery for the vegetables, and I added a can of ranch style beans, undrained. I used canned chicken because that's what I had on hand ready to use. Easy to put together, and super tasty. We'll be making this again - thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      This was really yummy. I used only chicken soup and added 1 tsp of cumin. I also doubled the cheese. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      This recipe was awesome! I followed the receipe exactly and my husband and I loved it. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Made it today for our house church, It was definitely a hit! WIll use the spicier Rotel next time instead of the mild. I like a few more chili's in mine. Followed directions to a T.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      My entire family (including the picky little ones!) absolutely LOVED this! The only thing I changed was substituting cream of celery soup for mushroom (not a fan of mushrooms myself...)Thank you so, so much for reintroducing one of my childhood favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

    • on November 11, 2009

      WOW this is wonderful!!!! I made it the first time about a month ago and followed the recipe exactly. But I just made it again today only this time I added Red & Yellow peppers because I love peppers! it was sooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      I think this is the closest to the original King Ranch recipe... Of which me and my husband adore. I use a little water instead of broth and cover my casserole for about 3/4 if the cooking time. Sometimes, I broil the top a bit. Thank you for posting an old favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Great casserole! Will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      This was very yummy better then the family recipe I have. I made a few changes, I added 1/2 cup of sour cream to the chicken mixture and used milk instead of chicken broth and I didn't saute the veggies, I like a bit of a crunch so I put them into the mixture raw and it came out great! Next time I will only use about 9 tortillas, i thought 12 was a bit strong, I prefer more chicken mixture then tortillas I also used 3 (baked) shredded chicken breasts, I think it equaled more then 2 cups and I added a bit of salt and pepper to the chicken mixture I also didn't use rotel, instead I topped the dish with freshly chopped tomatoes, it tasted very fresh and yummy! Great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for King Ranch Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 356.3
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    50%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 66.5 mg
    22%
    Sodium 962.2 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes