11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Not a huge hit with my family. I'm the only one willing to eat the leftovers and I'm not sure why. I think it is good. Maybe a bit bland but good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus February 13, 2008

i made this a few nights ago and it was good, it tasted like it was missing something, but it was good. Not bland, but no one spice or flavor stood out to me to make it an outstanding dish. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misti_Country_Girl February 05, 2008

My church cookbook has the same recipe, but with 1 green pepper in it. I saute the onion and green pepper. My recipe has the soup, tomatoes, green pepper, onion, chili powder and garlic salt together as well and makes it much easier. I don't use the chili powder so that it is not quite as spicy. If you get freshly made tortillas, you don't have to soak them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefpam October 23, 2007

I made this today and my husband and I really enjoyed it. My husband especially! The only thing I did different is cheated a lil and got a rotisserie chicken and used that. I also added some cumin. The reason I gave it 4 stars is because my toddler wouldn't eat it because it was too spicy. Other than that, it has been added to my recipes! Thanks for the good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fressy July 12, 2007

it was delicious! i live in the middle east, and we don't always get ro tel tomatoes, so i just used a can of green chiles and a can of cut up whole tomatoes. i used a tablespoon of chili powder and combined all the ingredients together except the tortillas--excellent!!! and it was sooooo easy! thanks a bunch for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gail_bedell February 07, 2007

Yum-O! The only change we would make is to layer the soup, so that it would be "saucy" all the way through. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassykat1213 January 13, 2007

We love this dish! I used corn tortillas, increased chili powder to one tablespoon and added sliced black olives. This is also a very easy make-ahead/freezer recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas December 10, 2006

This is the way that I make King Ranch Chicken also----good stuff!Thanks for posting--:)-PeggyLynn

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggy Lynn February 18, 2006

This was fantastic!! I used to eat this when I went to college in Texas, and this tastes just like I remember. I too combined everything and thought it tasted great. Instead of using a whole chicken, I use 4-5 very large chicken breasts cooked and cut up. I also enjoy adding crushed chips on top of the entire dish for a little crunch. I used low carb tortillas as well and it turned out fine. This is a staple for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy Trigg August 21, 2005

I have found that if you mix the chicken, onion, seasonings, soups and rotel together, it tastes the same but makes prep a little easier! This one has been a favorite of mine since I was a child growing up in the Rio Grande Valley, where the recipe originates.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvs2eat July 12, 2005
King Ranch Chicken