Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / King Cake Traditional New Orleans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    King Cake Traditional New Orleans Recipe

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2007

      I made this King Cake for a Mardi Gras party - it was definitely a hit! Everyone was so excited about the hidden baby. While I was cutting it, there was a crowd around me to see if they could figure out where baby Jesus was hidden...I made the dough for this recipe to the T, and it came out excellent, though I confess that I have never had a traditional king cake for comparison. The only difference was that, after the first rise, I rolled the dough out to a thin sheet about 10"x30". I then spread a mixture of 8 oz cream cheese, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tsp vanilla over the dough and rolled it up like a jelly roll along the longer side. Then I formed it into an oval, and let it rise for the 2nd time, following the rest of the recipe. It was so delicious! I will make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      I made two of these one for my wife's office and one for the bar where I work. Both groups thought it was great and so did we. I'll be using this for Mardi Gras from here on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      Very good traditional recipe. The taste is citrus-y and similar to Stollen (the German Christmas bread). Texture is dense and will grow denser the longer it sits, so eat it within a couple days. The bread is sweet enough that you don't need to coat it in frosting and sugar unless you really like that. If I did it over again, I might switch to a different frosting or skip the frosting entirely and just sprinkle it lightly with the colored sugars. The frosting tasted like liquid powdered sugar, not really my thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Giving it 3 stars as it was good tasting - tasted more like cinnamon bread than King Cake. Was very dense. Would recommend a different icing - I like royal icing with a tsp of lemon extract. As I said, recipe tasted good, but being from Louisiana I will not make again as a king cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Great recipe! I added some almond extract to it and left out the lemon (only because I was out of it), and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      This one came out good. Next time I will try to add the flour mixture in smaller incriments rather than all at once. The cake was a little heavier than I expected once cooked even though the dough rose nice and fluffy. Next time I will fill with cream cheese as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      I tried other King Cake recipes and this one is by far the best, the cake was even better than Gambino's!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

    • on March 12, 2004

      This was my first ever success in baking with yeast! Much cheaper and more special than buying the $40 cakes to be shipped here from NOLA. The lemony icing was especially popular among my friends. Lessez le bone temps roulez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for King Cake Traditional New Orleans Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 548.4
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    24%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 134.0 mg
    44%
    Sodium 587.1 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 97.1 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 61.1 g
    244%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes