Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / King Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    King Cake

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2009

      Yummy recipe! I did make a few changes. I made the dough in my bread machine on the dough setting. I added ingredients in this order: melted butter, sour cream, water, sugar, salt, flour, eggs, and dry yeast on top. I also added lemon extract and cinnamon. To the flour, I added 1 Tablespoon of cornstarch to each cup of flour in order to make "cake" flour. The texture is extremely soft and flakey-like a Entemman's Cheese Danish!! I forgot the egg in the cream cheese filling. But it still turned out really good. I added more lemon extract to the frosting in addition to the vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      I'm from New Orleans and have had pretty much every bakery's king cake. This recipe could easily compete with the top ones! My husband said this one was the best he's ever had, and I'd have to agree. A couple of changes I made - added a few drops of almond extract to the icing and used about half the amount the recipe called for. I prefer a lightly drizzled icing (just enough so the sugar sticks). Also, right before adding the filling, I lightly sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on the rolled out dough. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      I made 1/2 recipe (1 cake) of this today to bring to a friend's house for the Epiphany tomorrow.
      I thought that everything went quite smoothly as I made it, and I got to the part where the cake rested in it's oval form for 20 minutes, waiting for the oven to preheat. I was making dinner for my 3 kids under 5 years old at the same time that I was making the filling and rolling out the dough, which was indeed a dream to work with. When my husband got home, he tried the filling remnants that were left in the mixing bowl. Hmm. He said. What? I said. It's not very sweet was his reply.
      In my multi-tasking I had forgotten to add the sugar to the filling.
      What to do? I decided, after much cursing of myself, to unroll the cake, scrape off as much filling as I could as I went, sprinkle on the sugar and swirl it in, and roll the cake back up. It was a bit messy but the finished product didn't look too much worse for the wear.
      I'm not sure if it was because of the re-rolling or the extra time sitting, but it needed 25 minutes at 375 to turn a nice golden color and seem cooked through.
      Since it was a bit of a debacle, we decided that before taking it to someone's house, we should try it and make sure that it was cooked and that it tasted right. So I sliced one thin slice from each side of the oval and slid the sides back together (this was pre-icing the cake). I'll hide the seems later with icing and sugar...
      Lo and behold, it was cooked through! AND it's absolutely delicious!
      I'll be making this for a brunch this coming weekend. Hopefully this time I'll remember the sugar in the filling ;o)
      UPDATE - made this for Mardi Gras 2012 and didn't forget the sugar. After 15 minutes I thought it might need a bit more time, so I cooked it an additional 3 minutes. It was quite golden so I took it out. Unfortunately the middle was pretty doughy when we cut into it. Seems like it needs the 25 minutes of cook time when I make it. (My oven is true to temp).
      UPDATE #2 - made 1/2 of this again for Epiphany 2013. I used my bread machine this time, on the dough cycle, and then rolled out the dough and filled it. This time I cooked it for 23 minutes. Delicious as usual. The bread machine definitely cut down on the prep for this, which is good for me since we now have 5 kids, including a 2 month old!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as written and it turned out perfect. It deserves 5 stars. People who change a recipe and give less than 5 stars without making it as written make me NUTS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      I hadn't baked anything for work in awhile - everyone on diets, but apparently it was noticed and I was asked to maybe bring a King Cake for Fat Tuesday this year. Based on the ingredients and reviews I chose this recipe and it was the right one! I used half cake flour and half all-purpose. My mishap was I decided to use my bread-maker for the dough which rose so beautifully it overflowed! I saw some had trouble with the filling being soft, so I made that first and let it chill in the fridge. About a half hour before I was ready for it I brought it back out to soften up a little. I rolled the dough out on floured plastic wrap and then spread the now slightly softened cream cheese filling on the soft dough. Someone suggest adding cinnamon and sugar too so I made a cinnamon filling to split between the two cakes. sprinkling a row of it across the cream cheese filling. Then with the help of the plastic wrap, rolled it up and transferred the first one to a cookie sheet, placed a small oven-proof sauce pan in the middle to hold the shape and circled it with the dough. The second one I placed in a bundt pan (my apologies to the purists!) But it went around perfectly and make a great presentation. I snuck a sliver from both to be certain they were baked through and they both came out fantastic! Since I'm off on Tuesday, they are going to work with me on Monday - but by Tuesday I'm sure we'll all be feeling fat - and happy! Just thought I'd add that cooking one free-form and one in a pan brought about very different textures and my fire dept coworkers were split on which style they preferred. The free-form was more "bready" and denser, like my grandmother's kuchens and the one in the pan rose much higher and was softer and a much lighter texture. And having the cream cheese AND cinnamon/sugar together was a hit - cheese danish and cinnamon roll combined!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      really good! (but a little messy) I also only made 1/2 the icing the second time I made this recipe, and used it more sparingly like a glaze.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      LOVED this recipe! My kids & I made the first batch as a trial for Fat Tuesday, then decided they were soooo delicious we made another batch! We gave one to each of their teachers & got rave reviews from everyone. I kept the frosting white and used colored sugar crystals from the cake decor shop to decorate the topit was beautiful! Thx for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      My bf's office was having a "Mardi Gras" day and he asked me to make a dessert for it. I like to always go for the "wow" factor with things, so I chose this cake as my challenge. It was FANTASTIC! Although I didn't have a chance to taste my masterpiece (there weren't any leftovers), everyone in his office gave it rave reviews. Although time consuming, this recipe is simple to follow and actually not that difficult at all. Thank you for a great recipe. I'll be marking it down as a "keeper" for the next Mardi Gras party. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      I would have given this recipe 5 stars except for 2 ingredient error that dont match up to the recipe in Southern Living. 1) For the active dry yeast it should be 2 (1/4 oz.) envelopes active dry yeast for 1/2 oz. total and 2) The cream cheese should be listed as 2 (8 oz.) packages of cream cheese for 16 oz. total. I submitted corrections to the recipe so it may already be corrected. These 2 errors may have caused some of the problems that previous reviews mentioned.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      The cake itself baked up beautifully. Wish I'd rotated it mid bake because it rose unevenly. I'd suggest sifting the powdered sugar before mixing and aiming for "spreading" consistency rather than "drizzling." So the decoration on mine wasn't too pretty. Also, couldn't get a baby. However, the taste got rave reviews, and one party-goer at our Saints/Bears party said the cake made from this recipe was better than some cakes he'd had from the famous Paul's Pastry. Kudos!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      Very easy and very good. Some of the cream cheese filling comes out in the baking process, but, it is still oh so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      This was, bar none, the best king cake I have ever had, and I live in St. Louis where there are some great bakeries that make these floating around. I can't believe I made this myself. I followed Joodie's advice and added cornstarch to the flour to make a lighter dough, and just ran half a recipe in the bread machine on dough setting to save some work. This rose beautifully after being rolled out and filled. Let the kids go to town with the colored frostings and sugars after it cooled, and it was beautiful. Never buying one at the bakery for $20 again. I'll try to remember to sprinkle some cinnamon over the filling before rolling the dough next time, but either way, this was phenomenal. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      Terrific "cake"! Beginners: don't let the long ingredient list or the fact that there is yeast and kneading of dough dissuade you from trying this recipe! It was easy to follow and came out quite nice, and I had no experience using yeast before tonight.

      McCormick food coloring is muddy when you mix red and blue, so you might consider buying Wilton for the purple.

      The plastic babies that I've seen for these cakes are kind of freaky, so I used a toy "Squinkies" baby and my kids thought it was hysterical!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      This recipe is EXCELLENT! It is really easy to make. If you have a Kitchen Aid with a dough hook this cuts your kneading time. I also add a brown sugar and cinnamon mix on top of the creme cheese mix. I just find a lot of people prefer it. I Loved the fact this recipe called for way less eggs than other King Cake recipes, and not many ingredients making in easier and relatively cheap to make. I got 2 nice sized cakes. The icing was better than any I have tried as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      This was wonderful. Those who had king cake before said this was the best they've ever eaten. Was loved all around. I didn't bother heating the first four ingredients in a saucepan, just had them all at room temp and mixed them. This did increase rise time a little, but not much. Also sifted the powdered sugar before making the icing. Will definitely try with cinnamon next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      I have never had King Cake but I brought this to a Mardis GRAS party and it was devoured! It was absolutely delicious! It is a time consuming cake so make sure you budget your time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      Great recipe, but king cake HAS to have cinnamon! I didn't realize this recipe didn't call for cinnamon til after I made the dough, so I sprinkled some after spreading the cream cheese filling, before rolling it up. Next time I'll add some in the dough. I also used half the icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      I'm a displaced New Orleans girl who had a craving for king cake. As I was unwilling to pay $50 to have one shipped to me, I went looking for a recipe and found this one. It's wonderful! Not too dry, not too sweet. I didn't put the filling in this time since I was wanting something simple this time. It could use some cinnamon though. All in all, this is a great recipe to tweak and make it your own or leave it as is. You will not be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      This recipe yielded 2 Spectacular cakes!!!!
      Thanks for sharing...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      AMAZING!!! This was THE BEST King Cake I've ever had - and I used to live in Nola. Wow! I was so worried it wouldn't turn out because I'm not a skilled baker, but it came out phenomenally well! I let it rise in my oven (heated to lowest setting and then turned off). The second time I let it rise for 45minutes and baked it for 15 minutes and it was perfect. I also added 1-2 tbs of lemon juice to the drizzle. TO DIE FOR :) Thanks Connie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for King Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 28

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 354.0
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    32%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 54.5 mg
    18%
    Sodium 194.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 32.7 g
    130%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites