19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i made these this morning and they are FANTASTIC! they are just the perfect density. thick, fudgey,chewy, moist, the ideal combination of fudgey and cakey. great great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakergirl #4 January 14, 2008

Boom! Been using this recipe for almost 10 years. I've baked them with both wheat and gluten free flours. Because I have celiac disease, I only make these with gf flour and bring them to events. No one knows these are gf. I also use Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder (difficult to find, I buy mine by the case on Amazon). Use the special dark cocoa...these brownies are *gorgeous*.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cariecpink September 20, 2014

You can't go wrong with KAF recipes! Between the large amount of Dutch process cocoa, semi sweet chocolate chips, and 1 t espresso powder (in the original recipe), these brownies packed a heavy chocolate punch. The texture was perfect, not cakey. Next time I might adjust the chocolate factor, using milk chocolate chips or regular cocoa to dial them back a notch for my tastes. If you like deep dark chocolate flavor, this is the recipe for you! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 15, 2013

I only changed one thing, replace half the flour with Bread Flour. Trust me...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crywolf511 May 15, 2012

Yes, this is a wonderful brownie recipe. Since my husband likes frosted brownies, I omit the chocolate chips and ice with hershey's perfect icing.(usually on the back of their cocoa container).

If you like fudgy brownies, this is the recipe for you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
countryboy July 24, 2011

Hands down 10 stars!!! This is SUCH a great receipe, I threw away my old receipe that was excellent!! These are a chocolate lovers dream come true!!! We made home made ice-cream & put some of the brownie chunks & Oreo cookies in it...my family finished off both the brownies & ice-cream in record time! Insanely good! Plan on some extra exercise time if you make these, cuz once you taste them, it's hard to stop!!! Thanks for a new favorite!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andy&Lacey February 24, 2011

Hands down the best brownie ever. Almost tastes like the dark chocolate box mix but definitely homemade. I dust a little sweetened cocoa on the bottom of the parchment paper and then pour in the batter. You can also mix in thin mint girl scout cookies and they are wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendyflap December 22, 2010

Wow, just the kind of brownie I'm looking for. Rich, thick with a shiny top crust! I don't like brownies that have a crumbly cake texture and if a brownie needs frosting, it's not a brownie, it's a cake! Used bittersweet chips this time and can't wait to experiment with milk choc., peanut butter and others. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baer April 30, 2010

After discovering this recipe this past summer, I ended up making it 5 times in about 3 weeks for different special occasions -- without a doubt the best brownie you'll ever taste! Great with bittersweet chocolate chips and walnuts as add-ins! Mahalo for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aloha808 November 08, 2009

fantastic brownies - very rich - never go back to the box mixes - very easy to make Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF BUZZSAW November 07, 2009
King Arthur Flour: the Best Fudge Brownie Ever